Vanilla Spice Cookies and a Giveaway!

27

November 22, 2010 by Dana

We’re close, right?  I think we are.  So I’m going to admit something personal.  I know you won’t be shocked.  I’ve alluded to it before.   You’ve seen the signs here, here, here, here, and here.  But I need to be direct now.

I am a chocoholic.

There.  I said it.  Admission is the first step to recovery.  So there’s my admission.  I’ve realized that I have a problem, and that problem is chocolate.  (I may be a cheese-aholic, and a carb-aholic, too…. But let’s tackle one issue at a time.)

When I first realized I had a problem, I did some research.  I searched the internet looking for some sort of cure.  I asked around.  I called my doctor.  But it was a dead end.  I mean, it’s not like there are 12-step programs for chocoholics.  I started to get discouraged.

But then, through what I can only describe as divine intervention, the cure fell into my lap.  I received an email from Nielsen-Massey Vanillas with an offer to review a bottle of Madagascar Bourbon Pure Vanilla Extract.  And with that, my recovery was set into motion.

I searched for the perfect recipe to try out the vanilla extract.  But I couldn’t find anything that seemed right.  Luckily, through some more divine intervention, I came up with a brilliant idea.  I would make vanilla cookies spiced with the spices used in gingerbread.  This is what I came up with:

Ingredients

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
¼  teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
¾  cup unsalted butter, softened
1 ¼ cups sugar
2  teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 large eggs
½ teaspoon cinnamon
½ teaspoon ground ginger
½ teaspoon nutmeg
¼ teaspoon allspice

Definitely opt for pure vanilla extract here, as vanilla is really the star of the show in this recipe.  Imitation vanilla extract is a good substitute in most recipes, but it won’t give you the same high quality flavor as the real thing in this one.

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 375°F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

2. Sift together flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and allspice in a medium sized bowl.  Set aside.

3. In another medium bowl, cream together the softened butter and the sugar.  Add the vanilla extract and mix well.  Add the eggs, one at a time, and mix well.

4. A little at a time, incorporate the dry mixture into the butter mixture until well combined.

5. Using a tablespoon, drop the dough onto the cookie sheets, leaving about 3 inches between each cookie.  Bake for 11-13 minutes, just until the edges are golden brown.  Let cool and enjoy.

Let me tell you, I should have a medical degree.  This recipe is absolutely the perfect cure for a chocoholic like me.  One bite of these chewy, spicy, vanilla-y cookies, and I was hooked!  Who needs chocolate when you have these delicious vanilla cookies??

If you are in need of delicious vanilla intervention as well, you are in luck!  Nielsen-Massey Vanillas is offering one of my lucky readers their very own bottle of Madagascar Bourbon Pure Vanilla Extract!

To participate in this giveaway, simply leave a comment telling me what is your favorite vanilla dessert.

Optional: For those that want more chances to win, leave a separate comment for each of the following things that you do for one additional entry per comment:

  • Subscribe to Food for Thought by email
  • Subscribe to my RSS feed
  • Follow me on Twitter
  • Tweet the following:   @danacooks is hosting a giveaway! Win a prize from Nielsen-Massey Vanillas!  Check out http://wp.me/pW0Ec-C7 for more info

You may enter any time until Friday, November 26 at midnight.  Winners will be announced on Saturday.  Good luck!

27 thoughts on “Vanilla Spice Cookies and a Giveaway!

  1. Veronica says:

    Oh, those cookies look absolutely scrumptious! I would love that vanilla. It goes fast in my kitchen!

  2. susan says:

    Favorite vanilla dessert may be these cookies, as I have recently tried them:)

  3. susan says:

    I suscribe to your RSS feed

  4. susan says:

    I subscribe to your email

  5. Jordan P says:

    I love love LOVE vanilla cheesecake! Mmmm.

  6. Victoria says:

    My favorite vanilla dessert would probably have to be creme brulee. It’s a classic :)

  7. Victoria says:

    I subscribe to your feed in my Google Friend Connect :)

  8. Victoria says:

    I follow you on Twitter!

  9. Funny, as I’m reading this, I’m thinking, “I need to get some pure vanilla for this!”. Well, then here you are offering it to me! Hopefully at least. Either way, these will be made. They look fantastic!

    So glad you are onto a cure!

  10. I subscribe by email too, thanks!

  11. Tes says:

    What a beautiful cookies! I love the pure aroma of vanilla. My favourite vanilla dessert has to be a really rich vanilla ice-cream :)

  12. Lisa says:

    I love vanilla cupcakes.

  13. Evan @swEETs says:

    Hello, my name is Evan and I’m also a chocoholic.. pheew I said it. :) These cookies look fabulous.. it’s going to sound funny but I love vanilla pudding.. its the perfect vanilla dessert! And I follow you on twitter!

  14. These look sooo good! I already subscribe to you via email

  15. I follow you on twitter at bakingw_oabox

  16. I make a mean vanilla ice cream. Think I’d make that to go with gingerbread for a holiday shake. Can you tell your recipe inspired me?

  17. Monet says:

    A good jar of vanilla does wonders! I have to say that my favorite vanilla dessert is vanilla cupcakes. So yummy! Thank you for sharing. I hope you have a beautiful and blessed Thanksgiving!

  18. I’m a chocoholic too but I’m willing to give these a try.

  19. Jessie says:

    I like vanilla ice cream – but preferably drenched in hot fudge sauce. :)

  20. Jessie says:

    I am a subscriber by reader. Thanks!

  21. susitravl says:

    I made homemade vanilla pudding a couple of weeks ago (my fave vanilla dessert) and it was good, but I bet it would be FANTASTIC with this vanilla.

    susitravl(at)gmail(dot)com

  22. biz319 says:

    Love those type of cookies! I think my favorite dessert with vanilla has to be true vanilla bean ice cream – yum!

    Hope you had a great Thanksgiving! :D

  23. […] the meantime, it’s time to announce the Nielsen-Massey Vanilla Bourbon Pure Vanilla Extract […]

  24. Flour Child says:

    I have, unfortunately, a friend who doesn’t like chocolate, and complains every time she sees me and realizes I’ve made, yet another, delicious chocolate dessert. These, however, might placate her for once.
    Also, their vanilla is SO good. But I really can’t have a favorite vanilla dessert. I would be lying if I said I did.

  25. Wendy says:

    WOW! That looks great. I love, love, love a good cookie. Thanks for linking up to BSI: Vanilla

    Wendy
    Around My Family Table

  26. well…I am like you, a true professed chocoholic…but man, I would love to try that vanilla. It’s too expensive for my wallet when I see it, but if Ina uses and recommends it, then I want to try it! lol I guess my fav vanilla concoction would be ice cream with vanilla bean in it!

  27. I made these cookies with vanilla bean and they turned out SO WELL. Definitely my favorite cookie right now — the spices and vanilla are so cozy, and the texture was perfect. I’m making them again for a party tonight!

Leave a Reply

