Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

5

June 14, 2010 by Dana

Yesterday was Jake’s birthday (happy birthday babe!), so I decided to make him a batch of cookies that I knew he would love.  I did a quick search for Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie recipes, and settled on one listed on Rachel Ray’s website.  The process is pretty straightforward, and I already had most of the ingredients on hand.

Ingredients

1 cup softened butter
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
3 cups old fashioned oats
1 cup chocolate chips

As far as utensils/cooking gadgets go, you will only need an electric hand mixer.  Unfortunately, the motor in my little mixer starting smoking half way though making this recipe, so I will have to wait to make any more baked goods until I replace it :(

Directions:

1.   Preheat oven to 350°F.

2.  In a large bowl, beat butter and sugars until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla and beat well.

3.  In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon and mix well. Add this flour mixture to the sugar mixture and beat well.

4.  Stir in chocolate chips and oats and mix well (use a spoon for this step, as an electric mixer will crush the oats).

5.  Drop by rounded tablespoons on ungreased cookie sheet and bake 10 – 12 minutes or until golden brown.

6.  Cool one minute on cookie sheet – remove to wire rack.  Cool completely and store tightly covered.

Since the ingredients above yield 4 dozen cookies and I thought 48 cookies would be excessive for two people, I halved the recipe to make 2 dozen.  I thought I had made a mistake when I dropped the cookies onto the cookie sheet and they looked kind of skimpy, but they really plumped up as they baked.  I ended up with 24 fluffy, chewy and delicious oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.  And I’m definitely glad I only made 24…. These cookies were so good that not eating the entire batch took a lot of willpower!

5 thoughts on “Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Tes says:

    The cookies looks amazing. It sounds so delicious. I love the recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  2. [...] Pumpkin Chicken Soup with Brown Basmati Rice, etc.), and not-so-healthy baked goods/party food (Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies, Smores Cookies) that I can try a piece of and then pawn off on others.  (“Pawn off” [...]

  3. Joy says:

    I love oatmeal cookies. Especially when chocolate is involved.

  4. [...] shocked.  I’ve alluded to it before.   You’ve seen the signs here, here, here, here, and here.  But I need to be direct [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,134 other followers

