Cranberry Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

4

December 12, 2012 by Dana

foodblog, cooking, baking, recipe

Let’s face it.  There’s not much that’s better than getting a package filled with cookies in the mail.

Especially when you’re knee deep studying for finals.  And editing 30 page research papers.  And stress eating everything in sight.

That is, nothing except, of course, getting three packages of cookies in the mail.  In one week.  Can we say jackpot??

Ok, so I’m getting a little overexcited.  But seriously.  Three dozen delicious cookies!  how lucky am I?

And all I had to do to be so lucky was to bake three dozen of my own, and send them to three other lucky bloggers.  No. Brainer.

If it’s not clear from my cookie-crazed ranting, The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap took place this week.  And in exchange for sending three bloggers a batch of these Cranberry Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies, I received three batches from three other wonderful bakers:

Browned Butter Pecan Bars with Chocolate Ganache from Rivertree Kitchen
Chocolate Shortbread Cookies from Pink Little Cake
Cranberry Hazelnut Cookies Drizzled with Chocolate from Life Tastes Like Food

The cookies that I shared are my go-to cookies, which are (very slightly) adapted from the Toffe Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies over at My Kitchen Addiction.  I’ve actually made them a ton of times, but never shared them here, so I thought this was the perfect opportunity.  I know you’ll enjoy them as much as I do!

Cranberry Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Cranberry Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 1/2 cups old fashioned oats
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk chocolate chips
1 cup dried cranberries

Directions

1.  Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper or silicon liners and set aside.

2.  Beat together the butter, sugar, and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla, beating for an additional minute until well incorporated.

3.  Meanwhile, whisk together the flour, oats, baking soda, and salt.  Gradually add the flour mixture to the creamed mixture, beating until just incorporated. Add the chocolate chips and toffee bits and stir in by hand.

4.  Use a small cookie scoop (about 2 tablespoons) to scoop out cookies onto the prepared baking sheets. Be sure to space the cookies out a bit since they will spread as they bake.

5.  Bake for about 12 minutes, until the cookies are golden on top, but still a bit soft. Cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes to let the cookies firm up, then cool completely on a wire rack.

foodblog, recipe, baking, cooking food

4 thoughts on “Cranberry Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Alex says:

    I loved these cookies! Such a great base, I bet it would be fun coming up with all sorts of different flavor combos! Thanks again!

  2. These look delicious! Some of my favorite cookies are chocolate chip oatmeal so I’ll have to try this recipe out. We both had the cranberry idea going on for cookies…love it! :)

  3. Cranberries scream “holiday” cookies to me!

  4. Thank you! These were absolutely delicious!

Leave a comment