Fig-topped Honey Yogurt Cake

9

October 15, 2012 by Dana

food, foodblog, recipe, recipes, baking

Last summer, I had a brilliant idea.  I decided that it was about time to start a garden.  And despite the fact that I live in a small apartment in the middle of Queens on the 9th floor of my building, and have no access to any sort of land at all, let alone space to create a garden, I forged ahead.  Because I’m stubborn motivated.

So, I went to Home Depot. I picked out a big turquoise flower pot.  I grabbed an enormous bag of planting soil and a little hand shovel.  I chose some organic fertilizer, and scoped out the perfect cherry tomato plant.  And $57 later, I left the store.

I went home and made a huge mess planted the cherry tomato plant in the turquoise planter.  I stored the remainder of the big bag in the limited space in my closet.  And I waited.  And waited.

And after about a week of waiting, something finally happened!

I found fruit flies.

So I went back to Home Depot.  And picked out some organic insect soap.  And another $9 later, I left the store once yet again.

For the next few days, I diligently sprayed my little plant every day.  And about a week later, I saw them.  Three little cherry tomatoes!  And another week later, they were big enough to be picked.  So I plucked them off the vine.  And I popped them in my mouth.  And, to be honest, it was pretty anticlimactic.

And so, I got less motivated.  And forgot to water my plant for a month few days.

And now, all that remains, is Jake’s occasional party story about the time that I spent $66 for a total of 3 cherry tomatoes.  Thanks, honey.

So, maybe I don’t exactly have a green thumb.  But I do know some pretty talented people that do…  In fact one of my coworkers has a huge garden in her backyard, complete with two giant fig trees that have more figs than any one family could possibly eat.

Lucky for me, she’s happy to share her bounty.  And lucky for her, I’m happy to turn those figs into a moist, delicious, lightly sweet Fig-topped Honey Yogurt Cake to share with the office.  Win-win!

food, foodblog, recipe, recipes, cooking

Fig-topped Honey Yogurt Cake
(slightly adapted from Mi Piace Kate)

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups yogurt
2/3 cup olive oil
1/4 cup raw honey
3 Tbsp sugar
3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
Handful of large fresh figs, sliced lengthwise in thin slices

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease a 9-inch springform pan lightly with baking spray or oil, and line the bottom with parchment paper.

2.  In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the yogurt, olive oil, honey, sugar, eggs, and vanilla extract. Add the flour, baking powder, soda, salt, and nutmeg into the liquid mixture and stir just until no lumps remain.

3.  Pour the batter into the cake pan. Carefully arrange sliced figs on the top of the cake batter.  Bake for about 60 minutes, covering with foil toward the end if the top is browning. When a tester comes out clean, transfer the cake to a cooling rack and let it cool for 10 minutes before removing it from the pan.

4.  Slice and enjoy!

recipe, recipes, food, foodblog, baking

9 thoughts on “Fig-topped Honey Yogurt Cake

  1. My in laws have a fig tree in their yard, wish I had thought to make dessert with them! this looks delish!

  2. What a beautiful cake! I have never tried figs, can you believe it?

  3. For a minute there when I started reading this post, I thought you might’ve grown yourself a fig tree! We used to have one in my backyard when I was little, and to this day, figs are one of my favorite foods. Your cake looks lovely!

  4. I would love to have a green thumb, but I so don’t, lol. So jealous of your co-worker’s figs, they are gorgeous…and so is this cake! Hope you and your family are staying safe and dry in Sandy’s wake. xo

  5. I adore figs too and I would kill to have 2 trees! But I have a balcony and actually have had the exact same experience than you with the cherry tomatoes. Love the cake.

  6. Joanne says:

    I tried to grow an herb garden in my bedroom once…and it grew for a while. But then I just ended up with dead leaves. EVERYWHERE. No lie. Ugh. Gross.

    My mom has fig trees but they’re pretty hit or miss everywhere. If we have a good year next year…I’m SO making this!

  7. Anastasjia says:

    This is a lovely fig cake! It looks like a Persian design♥ very pretty. I love your blog!!

Leave a comment