Greek Style Potato Chicken Stew

49

May 16, 2011 by Dana

When I found out that my assignment for the May Secret Recipe Club was to choose any recipe from Kristen’s blog, Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker, I was so thrilled.  I’ve been following her posts ever since I  started reading food blogs… she has a ton of delicious looking recipes, and is always introducing me to new things.   In fact, her Thai Chicken Noodle Soup post is how I found out about the Secret Recipe Club in the first place!

I knew it wouldn’t be hard to find a recipe to try from her vast repertoire.  She has something for everyone, from healthy family meals and snacks to decadent  desserts…. you really can’t go wrong.  I decided to let my brother choose something from her list, since I wanted to make something fun to bring to his graduation party last weekend.

He looked over the list and settled on the Homemade Entemann’s Cheese Filled Crumb Cake. And I fully intended to make it for him.  So the night before I left for his graduation in DC, after getting home from a Mets game,  and in the middle of packing and doing school work,  I looked over the instructions.

Hmm.

The dough alone had to rise for 1 1/2 hours, then rise again for 20 minutes, and then bake for 30 more minutes.  I realized that if I wanted to sleep at all, this was not going to happen.   So I turned to Plan B.  Thirty Minute Crushed Oreo Sugar Cookies.

This week, I went back to Kristen’s recipe list to choose something else to make.  I really didn’t have a need for any desserts or baked goods, so I scrolled down to her selection of main dishes.  It took me about 1.5 seconds to decide on the Greek Style Potato Chicken Stew.  I mean, really.  A soup recipe with a Greek twist?  It was practically calling out my name!

I planned to make it exactly how Kristen had written it.  It was perfect! Except for the green onions.  I just can’t get on board with them.  So instead, I added a Vidallia onion to make up for it.

Then I thought about how delicious lemony Greek potatoes are.  So I decided to add some lemon juice to the mix.

I was all set to make it with just those two small changes, when Jake walked in.

“What are you making?”

“Greek Style Potato Chicken Stew.”

“Oh. Potatoes?”

“Yes, potatoes.  Is there a problem?”

“No. But I was just thinking I could really go for some beans this week.”

Jake never asks for beans.  And I happened to have some dried white beans in the pantry.  I take these kinds of opportunities when I can get them.  Into the mix the beans went.

Then, of course, I had to change the other ingredient measurements around to accommodate my changes.

So here, ladies and gents, is my completely bastardized version of Kristen’s Greek Style Potato Chicken Stew.

Ingredients

3/4 cup of dried small white beans
2 tablespoons olive oil
1.5 lbs potatoes
3 cloves minced garlic
1 sweet Vidalia onion
28 oz can diced tomatoes
32 oz chicken broth
2 lbs chicken breast, cooked and diced or shredded|
4 oz whole black olives
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano
salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1.  In a small saucepan, combine dried beans and about 6 cups of water.  Bring to a boil and then lower heat, cover and simmer for 30 minutes.  Drain water and set beans aside.  

2.  In a Dutch oven or large soup pot, heat the olive oil over medium high heat.  Add the potatoes, garlic and sweet onion.  When the garlic and onion are soft and fragrant, add the reserved beans, tomatoes, chicken broth, chicken, olives, lemon juice, oregano, and salt and pepper.  

3.  Bring to a boil.  Cover the pot, lower the heat, and simmer until potatoes are tender, about 30 minutes.  Stir occasionally to prevent sticking and burning.

Even with all of my changes, the stew came out great!  It is just the right amount of hearty and filling, while still being a lighter and healthy option.

A Big Thank you to Amanda of Amanda’s Cookin’  for conceptualizing and organizing The Secret Recipe Club!  Don’t forget to check out all of the other great Secret Recipe Club posts linked below:



49 thoughts on “Greek Style Potato Chicken Stew

  1. This looks hearty and delicious!

  2. Kristen says:

    Sometimes that is what happens to recipes. I had to laugh at the series of changes that happened to the stew. Regardless, thank you for the kind things you said.

  3. I hadn’t heard about the Secret Recipe Club, I just entered for next month. How fun! The stew looks awesome.

  4. Faith says:

    Looks like a hearty flavorful soup…I’ll definitely have to check out Kristen’s blog! Love your addition of white beans in this!

  5. Jeanette says:

    What a nice healthy chicken dish to try as part of the Secret Recipe Club – I love Greek flavors!

  6. Roxan says:

    How funny, I just read Kristen’s post about the secret recipe club! You did a great job with this stew. I’m not sure where you live but here in Los Angeles, winter has come back again and I could really go for some stew.

  7. Veronica says:

    Hopefully I’ll remember to check out the secret recipe club when I get home–I’ve got to get going! Just wanted to tell you that I love this version–I love my beans! It’s been so chilly here in KS lately that some warming soup sounds really nice right now.

  8. Amanda says:

    This looks amazing, I love chicken soup and the potatoes sound great! Thanks for playing along!

  9. Jason says:

    That soup is just full of flavors! Love it.

  10. RavieNomNoms says:

    Oh wow, how yummy does that look!? I love all the different ingredients, I bet that just tastes so amazing…

  11. Dana, this stew looks ridiculously delicious! I love all the wonderful flavors you used, and the potatoes in the stew. Hearty, healthy and I bet so tasty! Thanks for sharing. :)

  12. Erica says:

    I love this whole secret recipe club! The stew looks SO amazing!!!!! I can heat soup/stew/chili in all weather- so this is definitely going into our next weekly menu! Have a great day

  13. Barb S says:

    That looks so pretty and delicious! Better still, it’s one of those pantry-friendly dishes that all cooks should have in their bag of tricks. I want to try this one!

  14. Love your bastard stew lol. And the olives…adds a great flavor I love them.

  15. I like your bastardized version :) Beans and lemon juice are a great touch! I’m sorry you weren’t able to make the dessert your brother wanted, but I’m glad you found some other fun recipes to try out!

  16. sara says:

    This sounds fantastic! Love the idea of adding white beans, yum! :)

  17. Kocinera says:

    Greek style potato chicken stew sounds super, super yummy! Soups are my favorite go-to lunch item, and Greek food is just plain awesome, so this soup sounds delish!

  18. Shumaila says:

    Love greek food- this dish sounds delicious!

  19. Tessa says:

    I’m with you Greek + stew. Yum!

  20. Deeba @ PAB says:

    I absolutely love your pick for the SRC Dana. It’s such a wonderful feeling when food bloggers come together as a community. The connect is altogether powerful. What a wonderful read your post is; and the stew – Amazing!

  21. One look at your pictures and I am hooked on your stew. I’m dying to try it.

  22. Tami says:

    I think that I’m officially now Greek Irish instead of just Irish…because I LOVE Greek food. Your rendition of this soup looks delicious. I would give anything for another member of my family to ask for beans. I’m the only one who loves them.

  23. this looks so pretty Dana! i cant wait to try this out:) thank you for sharing this.

  24. Looks like the ideal comfort meal!

  25. Love your story of how this all came together. The soup looks really good and much more wholesome then the homemade entemann’s crumb cake (but wow I might have to try that!!).

  26. The white beans sound like a great addition, and lemony Greek potatoes are so good. Sounds like a terrific stew!

  27. Reeni says:

    I love the changes you made! It’s a great looking bowl of stew – so hearty and delicious! !

  28. Delishhh says:

    Nice work on this post. This looks really delicious. Love seeing what everyone did.

  29. Tes says:

    This looks so hearty and comforting :)I love the recipe… definitely gonna try it :)

  30. Joanne says:

    Oh boys. They really are so fickle aren’t they? Especially when it comes to beans and potatoes. I think your “bastardized” version looks excellent!

  31. Nutmeg Nanny says:

    This soup sounds amazing! I would have to leave out the olives but everything else sounds delicious :) I’m so glad you joined SRC….hooray!

  32. I have to look into this whole secret recipe club thing…sounds really fun! and that soup…yummmmmo. Its been so cold and rainy I made soup this week too!

  33. Katrina says:

    With all the cold rain we’re getting here all week, this looks really good and comforting.

  34. Monet says:

    This looks perfect. How did you know I’ve been craving soup? I have missed visiting you and your blog. Thank you for always sharing these delicious eats and your sweet heart. I hope you have a beautiful day tomorrow. Hugs from Austin.

  35. Liz says:

    What a yummy stew! I think I like both versions :) And I’m another jumping on the Secret Recipe bandwagon~

  36. Christy says:

    What a welcoming photo!:) This must do well for a rainy day too…or a good night complement for dinner when one gets home late ya?

  37. biz319 says:

    I laughed out loud at the “basterdized” version of her recipe!

    Looks delicious!!

    Happy Friday Dana – have a great weekend!

  38. claire says:

    yum! it is rainy here today and i could definitely go for a bowl of this…

  39. Your versions sounds great! Adding beans is definitely a good call.

  40. Love the added beans. I’d definitely prefer those over potatoes. :)

  41. Danelle says:

    This soup makes me feel slightly better about the fact that we are actually still having soup weather.

  42. All the best recipes are created this way, aren’t they? I love your changes and thanks for sharing your thinking. :)

  43. Your post had me laughing out loud!!! I SO get it!! I also love her blog, and I’ve had the recipe for the homemade Entemans printed and have looked at it over and over and gone to something else as I usually plan at the last minute and now I need something for after dinner and that’s only 45 minutes away.
    For the soup, I love it! Love the use of the beans in place of potatoes, my husband isn’t a big potato fan, so the beans would work well. Nicely done!

  44. This soup looks great! Just found your blog today :) Can’t wait to read more!!

Leave a comment