Huevos Rancheros and Saucy Mama Blogiversary Giveaway!

53

May 22, 2011 by Dana

With all of my list making and such, it probably won’t surprise you to know that I am a planner.  Not having a plan makes me anxious.  Nervous.  Unsettled.

I guess technically that makes me a planner and a worrier.

Anyway.

I’m not saying that my plans always work out.  In fact, most of them end up getting changed once they’re in progress.  Usually because I pack too much in too short of a time span.  Or because I’m running late.  Or both.  Let’s just say timing is an issue for me.

You would think, with all of this planning, that I would have something magnificent up my sleeve for today, my one year blogiversary.  And I do! Only, it wasn’t planned.

No, the serendipitous timing of my fun Saucy Mama Fab with Five contest entry, along with a Saucy Mama giveaway for one lucky reader, was pure chance.

(Actually, that’s a lie.  It was actually quite predictable.  It’s because I waited until the very last day to submit my contest entry. Again, the timing thing.)

I thought a lot about what I wanted to make for the contest.  And for a while I really was stumped.  I mean, it’s no easy task to utilize only five ingredients (plus the freebies – olive oil, salt and pepper) and put together a winning dish!

But once my Saucy Mama sample products arrived in the mail, my inspiration became clear.  The delicious new Sante Fe Creamy Chipotle Dressing would be my muse.

I knew I wanted to use the dressing in an unusual way, not just as a salad dressing or dipping sauce for veggies.  But I also wanted to showcase it.  Let it shine through.  Steal the show.

I just wasn’t sure how.

And then, when thinking about my upcoming trip to Mexico (just four more days and two finals stand between me and Cabo!), it hit me.  I would make Huevos Rancheros!

Ingredients

1/8 cup Saucy Mama Sante Fe Creamy Chipotle Dressing
1.5 cups chopped  tomatoes
2 small flour tortillas
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 egg, room temperature
1/4 avocado, sliced
salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. To make the sauce:  In a blender, combine the Saucy Mama Sante Fe Creamy Chipotle Dressing with one cup of the tomatoes.  Blend on low speed until just combined.  Set aside. 

2.  Warm tortillas under the broiler, about 2 minutes.  Once warmed, set them on plate, overlapping one another. 

3.  In a nonstick skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Once the oil is hot (sizzles when sprinkled with water), add the egg to the skillet.  Cook egg until desired doneness (pictured is sunnnyside up).

4.  While egg is cooking, spoon as much sauce as desired on top of the tortillas.  Arrange the avocado slices on top of the sauce.  Once egg is ready, layer it on top of the avocado.  Top with remaining tomatoes and season with salt and pepper, to taste. Enjoy! 

I am so glad I was able to participate in the Saucy Mama Fab with Five contest.  Not only did I get to sample six different tasty sauces, come up with a delicious new breakfast recipe, and get one step closer to crossing off an item on my 27×27 list, but I get to offer you the chance to win some great Saucy Mama products as well!

The lucky winner of this giveaway will receive a Saucy Mama prize pack, including three delicious products – the Saucy Mama Sweet Heat Marinade, Saucy Mama Tarragon Lemon Mustard, and Saucy Mama Pacific Rim Ginger Dressing!

Entering is easy!

To enter this Saucy Mama giveaway, simply leave a comment letting me know what Saucy Mama product you would most like to try!

Optional: For those that want more chances to win, leave a separate comment for each of the following things that you do for one additional entry per comment:

-  Subscribe to Food for Thought by email or subscribe to my RSS feed
-  Follow me on Twitter
-  Follow me on Facebook
-  Tweet the following:   @danacooks is hosting a #giveaway! #Win a @SaucyMamaCafe prize! http://wp.me/pW0Ec-11C #FabWithFive

You may enter any time until Monday, May 31 at midnight (U.S. addresses only… sorry international friends!).  Winners will be announced on Tuesday.  Good luck!

53 thoughts on “Huevos Rancheros and Saucy Mama Blogiversary Giveaway!

  1. This looks great! Everyone came up with delicious looking recipes! Don’t enter me in your giveaway–I already have a fridge full of Saucy Mama products :)

  2. coffee lover says:

    Looks delish!!!!

  3. YUMMY!!! I’d love to try the sweet heat marinade. Sounds divine! :)

    lisagoneaussie(at)gmail.com

  4. Judy says:

    Sweet heat looks good. And loving your egg dish.

  5. biz319 says:

    Yum! I am a mustard whore, so I would try their Dijon mustard.

    Hope you are having a great weekend!!

  6. Victoria says:

    I just made Huevos Rancheros too!! They were posted on Friday, rock on, haha. I would love to try that ginger dressing. Sounds delicious :)

  7. Victoria says:

    I subscribe to your RSS feed.

  8. Victoria says:

    I follow you on Facebook.

  9. Victoria says:

    I also follow you on Twitter… (STALKER!!! haha)

  10. myblogject says:

    Oh I am a little gutted the contest sounds fun… Really only US addresses allowed… I’m now a little sad.

  11. That looks gorgeous! I love eggs prepared this way.

  12. Nice huevos ;-)…but BOO for being an international friend.

  13. What a fantastic breakfast!!

  14. Veronica says:

    Too funny! I’m bad with timing too. So glad it worked to your advantage this time! The recipe sounds great! So exciting that you’re going to Cabo soon–yay! I most want to try the creamy horseradish.

  15. I’d love to try their champagne and honey mustard!

  16. I follow you on Twitter:-)

  17. Oh the Dijon mustard! have a wonderful time in Mexico and be safe!

  18. Michelle says:

    Yum! This dish looks AWESOME! Since I love mustard, I’d definitely want to try the mustard asap! And HAPPY BLOGAVERSARY!

  19. Christy says:

    Lovely presentation, and I am sure it tasted delicious!!:D

  20. actorsdiet says:

    i’m a ginger freak – would love to try that dressing!

  21. Champagne and Honey sounds delicious!

  22. Beth says:

    Being from Canada, I can’t enter – but good luck to everyone else! Have a wonderful time in Mexico and don’t forget to blog about it!

  23. doggybloggy says:

    I love eggs and I would love them even more if some one would make me these….

  24. Lynda Clark says:

    I think that the Apricot Ginger sounds really interesting.
    Lyndaclark81@yahoo.com

  25. Lynda Clark says:

    I Liked you on Facebook as Lynda Clark
    Lyndaclark81@yahoo.com

  26. Lynda Clark says:

    I subscribe to your RSS Feed via Google Reader as Lynda Clark
    Lyndaclark81@yahoo.com

  27. Lynda Clark says:

    I am following you on Twitter @lyndacooks (Lynda Clark)
    Lyndaclark81@yahoo.com

  28. Lynda Clark says:

    I am an email subscriber
    Lyndaclark81@yahoo.com

  29. Lynda Clark says:

    I have Tweeted about this Giveaway:
    @lyndacooks Lynda Clark
    @danacooks @danacooks is hosting a #giveaway! #Win a @SaucyMamaCafe prize! http://wp.me/pW0Ec-11C #FabWithFive

  30. sara says:

    I’d love to try the tarragon lemon mustard – I’m an absolute sucker for fancy mustards – they’re so much fun! I love to use them on cheese sandwiches. :)

  31. RavieNomNoms says:

    yuuuuuum!! I love this recipe girlie! Definitely one of my favorites and you make it look good!

  32. Dana,
    Happy Blogiversary!!!!!
    Your breakfast looks really good and I would LOVE to try all of the delicious things that you’re giving away, but that ginger dressing is calling my name QUITE loudly!
    Have a WONDERFUL vacation in Mexico! You’ve worked hard and you’ve earned it. Come back well rested and with inspiration for some new recipes. ;-)

  33. Janice says:

    I’d like to try the Saucy Mama Sweet Heat Marinade!

  34. Janice says:

    tweeted:

  35. Janice says:

    following @danacooks as @cappytweet

  36. Joanne says:

    I hate not having a plan also…especially when it comes to food and the blog. Drives me SUPER insane. But these huevos rancheros look fabulous! Such an inventive use for that sauce!

  37. Faith says:

    Happy Blogiversary!!! This dish looks hearty and delicious — the perfect thing to get you in the mood for a Mexican vacation! Great giveaway, I’d love to try the ginger mustard!

  38. The tarragon lemon mustard would be my fave. Your egg is absolutely perfect. I would love to be eating that breakfast by a pool, just about anywhere.

  39. Lethea B says:

    I would just love to try the Pacific Rim Ginger Dressing sounds just mouth watering!

  40. Monet says:

    I’m a planner too…and I need to make these a plan for my weekend. Thank you for sharing with me tonight. You injected my day with creativity and beauty. I hope you have a wonderful day tomorrow, my dear friend! Hugs and love from Austin.

  41. Huevos rancheros is one of my favorite breakfasts! The chipotle sauce sounds great with it. Have a fantastic time on your trip!

  42. Reeni says:

    Using the dressing for huevos was a great idea! One I would of never thought of. Happy Blogiversary! And have a fun vacation!

  43. This looks wonderful!!

  44. Aubrey Fick says:

    Tarragon Lemon Mustard sounds great.
    littlegray88 at yahoo dot com

  45. Aubrey Fick says:

    I like you on FB
    littlegray88 at yahoo dot com

  46. Nutmeg Nanny says:

    This looks great! I love the use of the Santa Fe Sauce…yum! No need to enter me in the giveaway. I have a pantry full of Saucy Mama :)

  47. I was craving for eggs last night, I wish I thought of making huevos rancheros! The chipotle dressing sounds awesome.

  48. victoria lester says:

    I’d love to try the Sante fe Creamy Chipotle Dressing – looks so good.
    flophasit at yahoo dot com

  49. victoria lester says:

    -I like you on facebook – I’m victoria

    liester
    flophasit at yahoo dot com
    entry 1

  50. victoria lester says:

    I follow you on twitter – I’m @victoria99999
    flophasit at yahoo dot com
    entry 1

  51. victoria lester says:

    I subscribed via email and confirmed
    flophasit at yahoo dot com
    entry 1

  52. victoria lester says:

    tweeted: http://twitter.com/#!/victoria99999/status/76256686964342785
    flophasit at yahoo dot com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,134 other followers

