Crockpot Chicken Mole

26

September 15, 2010 by Dana

Me and my crockpot, we have a love-hate relationship. We’re friends with reservations. Not quite on-again-off-again.  More like frenemies, if you will.

It’s mostly love, really.  Usually we’re BFFs.  It’s very helpful around the house.  It will make a warm meal from scratch and everyone’s happy.  I don’t have to do too much, and voilà, a tasty dinner is ready.  So what’s the problem, you ask?

There’s another side to this story.  A dark side.  We have trust issues.  I worry that one day, when I’m not expecting it, it’s going to betray me.  Clearly, this is not a healthy relationship.

I have visions that I’m going to turn on my crockpot, go to work, and come back to a charred shell of an apartment.  I just can’t leave it unattended.  Even though I know that’s what it’s made for. Even though that’s the whole point of a crockpot.  Still.  What if it doesn’t hold up its end of the bargain??

Instead, I keep my crockpot company while it’s working.  I check on it periodically. I don’t want it to become lonely and spiteful.  To do something it will regret.

So I run it when I’ll be in and out running errands.  Or I put it on before I go to sleep and set my alarm for the middle of the night so I can check it.  That’s not too much. Right??

I actually don’t mind.  After all, isn’t that what relationships are all about?  Give and take?  Each party doing their part?  Its part is to cook a delicious meal, and mine is to make sure it doesn’t burn my building down. Fair is fair.

And I must give credit where credit is due – this time, my crockpot did an outstanding job.  It made this delicious chicken in mole sauce.  Mole sauce! Who knew my little guy was so cultural?

Ingredients

1 – 1 ½ lbs boneless, skinless chicken breast (frozen is fine)
1 large onion, chopped
¼ cup almonds, crushed
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 teaspoon cumin
½ teaspoon cinnamon
14.5 oz (one can) diced tomatoes
1 ½ oz bittersweet chocolate
1 teaspoon oregano
Salt and pepper to taste
1 chicken bouillon cube
½ cup water
cooking spray

I found this recipe on Debbi Does Dinner Healthy , who had adapted it and omitted a few steps to make it easier.  Following suit, (who am I to differ??) I omitted some of her steps, and made it even easier than that!  Instead of sautéing and pureeing, I just threw everything into the crockpot as is.  So that you don’t get big pieces of almonds in the sauce, just crush them with a meat tenderizer before you put them in the crockpot.

Directions

1.  Spray the crockpot with cooking spray.  Add all ingredients to the pot, and cook on low for 5-7 hours (5 was more than enough time in mine.  If your chicken is frozen, you may need closer to 7).

2.  When chicken is fully cooked, shred chicken by using two forks and pulling in opposite directions.  Mix the chicken back into sauce, and serve. (Or refrigerate if you’re like me and you woke up at 3:00am to do this step).

This chicken was SO GOOD.  I served it over a baked potato, as Debbi suggested, and it was both filling and delicious.  The only minor issue that I had was it was a little salty, so next time I would omit the bouillon cube and just add salt at the end, if necessary.  Other than that, I would not change a thing.  So easy and delicious!!

26 thoughts on “Crockpot Chicken Mole

  1. So glad you liked this! I am a huge fan of salt which is why everything I make is probably salty!!

  2. I don’t a crackpot for exactly the same reasons you think it will betray you. But now I’m thinking I should give it a shot!

  3. Dana I have the same fear, adding to the mix, my 2 cats. What if they go on the counter and shut it off or knock the cover off or worse! Get in the food and eat it! I used to use mine only for warming up wine for mulled wine! Now I try to use it more and since I worked from home I could watch it! This recipe does sound great though! I will have to try it! I’ve never had Mole sauce, always wanted to try but haven’t. Yet!

  4. I love my crockpot, but I’m with popcorngirl. Kitties and crockpots just make bad thoughts come to mind. My mom used hers for years and so did I. But with the hubs two curious cats, I worry now.

    Awesome recipe. Love the simplicity.

  5. biz319 says:

    I love most of Debbi’s recipes (athough she loves onions as much as I hate them!).

    This one is a keeper. My problem is that no matter what crock pot I get, it seems to get to a boil! So I’ll start something in the morning, my husband who works from home will turn it off around noon, then turn it back on around five – seems to work that way for us!

  6. Monet says:

    Smile. This post reminds me of my relationship with my crock pot. I also have serious trust issues. I’m very worried that one of my appliances is going to catch on fire, so I’m obsessive about unplugging toasters, blenders, ect…needless to say, I don’t leave my crock pot on its own very often! But your chicken mole looks splendid, and I wouldn’t mind hanging out while it cooked!

  7. Faith says:

    I really need to get my crockpot out for the season! This looks great, I have yet to make mole but I would love to try it!

  8. Reeni says:

    I’m afraid to leave my crockpot on and go out too! I’m glad I’m not the only one. I love how tender it makes chicken – this looks excellent!

  9. Susan says:

    Funny post!

  10. sophia says:

    Haha, crockpots are the safest thing ever. I hope you work out your…uh, trust issues with your crockpot. Meanwhile, continue cooking such delish meals…I’m loving this recipe! I adore my crockpot, and will work it like a slave.

  11. RavieNomNoms says:

    Wow what a great crockpot recipe! I love them! When I was in school I used to put things in my crockpot so that when I got back from my all day long classes I didn’t have to cook, it was allllready ready :-)

  12. What a great crockpot recipe, I find I always do stuff that is like from the 50s lol. I have no fear that mine would betray me but have you cooked with a pressure cooker…that is scary!

  13. I don’t usually use my crockpot, but I’m willing to dust it off for this!

  14. katie o. says:

    I feel the exact same way! But then again I have good reason…I came home from work after having turned the crockpot on before work to find the food charred on the bottom. I will never leave that bad boy unattended again. I’m perfectly fine just cooking meals in it on Sundays. :)
    ps. that dish looks so good.

  15. Joanne says:

    It took me a long time to trust my crockpot as well, but it actually makes life a lot easier once you let go and realize that sometimes you have to jump in head first. The mole looks fantastic! I love that you don’t have to slave over a stove to make it!

  16. When I have a bigger kitchen I WILL be buying a crockpot. I want to make meals like this!

  17. Karen says:

    Ha! I know exactly how you feel about leaving the crockpot. I can’t do it either…I’m too nervous!
    Great dish…looks really delicious.

  18. Kocinera says:

    hahaha This post made me laugh so much! I’m sorry that you have trust issues with your crock pot, although I totally understand.

    That being said, that Chicken Mole sounds amazing! I’m getting verrry hungry. :D

  19. newlywed says:

    This looks fabulous! I have finally come to trust my crockpot when I’m out…but my husband gets home earlier than me and I call on him to check it!

  20. Mrs. B says:

    Oh…I am soooo going to try this! I love Chicken Mole and this seems so easy!

  21. Denise says:

    I forgot completely the onions, used red pepper powder instead of chili, only had Hersheys chocolate syrup, didn’t have any almonds, used frozen chicken thighs & doubled the batch. A girlfriend was coming to visit for the afternoon, so I kinda peeked at it all day, kinda scared of leaving mine unattended too!

    I did have an incident as a young cook of the pressure cooker popping it’s cork, luckily I was just about to enter the kitchen when it went off, a second later & it could have been a huge tragedy, the ceiling was not too happy with the outcome either.

    Will be serving the Crockpot Chicken Mole with rice and string beans. Will let you know the verdict tomorrow…..

  22. Sara says:

    Ha ha…your little guy IS cultural. I use my crock pot often, especially for stews and sauces. I’ve yet to try a mole sauce, though. Thanks for the idea!

    • Denise says:

      Well hubby says this recipe is definitely a keeper! We had it with rice the first night and elbows the 2nd, & then he took what was left & shared it at work & it was well received there as well. The boneless chicken thighs worked out well to, and I was quite happy to begin cooking chicken during the frozen stage. The crock pot behaved nicely, but I am still a doubting Denise to leave it unattended!

  23. […] you’re thinking.  You think I’m being dramatic.  That I’m overreacting.  I guess I’ve earned that.  But seriously…. Just look at this list of […]

Leave a Reply

