Grilled Sweet Potato Chicken Soup

30

June 22, 2011 by Dana

Ok, kids.  Today we’re going to talk about seasonal eating.  (You like how I put that?  We?  It makes it seem more inclusive… not like I’m going to be rambling on by myself while you sit there wondering what in the world I’m talking about.)

Right.  So, seasonal eating.  I’m not talking about it in the traditional sense.  Like eating tomatoes in the summer and apples in the fall, or anything like that. What I’m talking about is soup.  That’s right, good old s-o-u-p.

You see, I’ve heard some people say that soup is just for the cold winter months. Something you eat to warm up. For comfort.  When you don’t mind eating something that sticks to your bones.  When you don’t plan on wearing a bikini that weekend.

Well, I’m here to tell you that it’s just not so.

In my book, soup is for every season.  I love it.  In fact, I have such deep feelings about soup, that when I was younger, I declared that I was going to open a restaurant called “Just Soup.”  And all I would sell was… soup.  (Yes, even in my younger years I was oh-so-clever.)

Despite the fact that these dreams (shockingly) never came to fruition, I still feel it’s my duty to enlighten the masses.  To teach you that soup is an all-weather, all-season option.

So today, get those visions of heavy corn chowder and tomato bisque out of your head.  And instead, picture this light, yet still creamy and filling, Grilled Sweet Potato Chicken Soup (adapted from Sweet Bytes Blog).  Because really, there’s nothing more summery than lighting up that grill.  Even if it’s just to make a big pot of soup.

 Ingredients

2 lbs sweet potatoes
1 red onion
2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breast
1 tablespoon Olive oil
1/2 teaspoon fresh minced ginger, or ¼ teaspoon ground
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1 pinch cayenne pepper
6 cups chicken or vegetable broth
1/4 cup fat free half and half
juice of 1 lime
zest from 1 lime
1 tablespoon fresh parsley, plus additional for garnish
salt and black pepper to taste
chopped sun-dried tomatoes, for garnish

If you are deprived like me and don’t have regular access to a real grill, then using your indoor grill (like a George Forman) or panini maker works just as well.  And if you don’t have one of those, you can just sauté the sweet potato and onion, and bake or poach the chicken breast.

Directions

1.  Slice the sweet potatoes and onion into ½ inch rounds.

2. Over medium-high heat, grill the sweet potatoes and onion, about 6 minutes per side. 

3.  At the same time, grill the chicken breast until it’s no longer pink in the middle, about 8 to 10 minutes.  Set aside to cool.  

4. In a large soup pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Add the ginger, allspice and cayenne pepper and sauté until spices are fragrant.  Add the broth, grilled sweet potatoes, and grilled onion.  Bring to a boil then simmer for 30 minutes.

5.  Meanwhile, shred the chicken into bite sized pieces. 

6.  Using an immersion blender, or by transferring to a traditional blender in batches (be very careful and let cool if necessary), blend the broth until it is smooth.

7. Return soup to the pot.  Add the chicken, half and half, lime juice, lime zest, and parsley.  Simmer for 10 more minutes, until flavors have melded.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

8. Serve garnished with parsley and sun-dried tomatoes.

Please.  Go make this and stop pegging soup into a one-season hole.  I promise you will love it.  I know I did.

30 thoughts on “Grilled Sweet Potato Chicken Soup

  1. Alan Cooke says:

    Wow. Great variation. I make a baked potato soup that the family fights over. Will love trying this new Sweet Pot. idea. Thanks for sharing =) @alanecooke

  2. spiceblogger says:

    This looks wonderful! I wonder if I can get my husband to eat it………
    Def worth a try!
    :)

  3. Debbi Smith says:

    I could eat this anytime of the year! It looks awesome! I just posted a soup today too!

  4. Judy says:

    It’s not really soup weather here, but I will save this one for the fall.

  5. I do like soup year-round, and grilling is definitely a summery activity, so yes, to this soup! Grilling the ingredients must add great flavor.

  6. Sasha says:

    I agree with you on that soup is a year-round food. This is a great recipe. I love how the main ingredients are grilled before being turned into a soup.

  7. Veronica says:

    I have to admit, I usually reserve soup-cooking for cooler weather, and almost feel guilty if I make it “out of season.” Thanks for setting me straight. :) This soup sounds fantastic!

  8. Just A Smidgen says:

    This looks sooo yummy, I’ll have to try it out!! Thanks for sharing!!

  9. Recipe Chefs says:

    What a delicious post thanks for sharing this. I enjoyed reading it very much.I love food and this post just made me hungry.

    Check out this great recipe also everyone:

    French Bread Pizza

  10. Oh you soup crazy gal! How about some cold soup versions too? This one is splendid though by the looks of it. I love your soup restaurant idea…you were cooler then Seinfeld was with the soup Nazi.

  11. I love your recipe for my favorite soup. Definitely making this soon

  12. Oh Miss Dana, you’ve done it again. This looks so good!!! And I LOVE sweet potatoes!! I have to admit here in AZ it’s supposed to be around 112 the rest of the week so it’s a little hard to think about eating soup, but this just looks SO good that I’m thinking I’ll have to make it.
    Thanks for the post!!
    Hope the wedding plans are going well!

  13. Monet says:

    Smile. I eat soup year round. Yes, even in hot hot Austin. Thank you for sharing this soup with me tonight. I always leave with my heart full and my stomach growling. I hope you have a wonderful end to your week. Love from Austin!

  14. Faith says:

    What a great looking soup, Dana! Love the gorgeous color…and I’m a year round soup eater too! ;)

  15. The rainy weather today is perfect for soup, but I’m with you – I eat soup (and ice cream) all year round too!

  16. Victoria says:

    I soooo eat whatever I crave year round, even if the seasons tell me not too. Sometimes during a cool summer thunderstorm (like today’s for example) a bowl of soup is absolute perfection :)

  17. Yum! This soup looks great. I just posted a soup recipe too, who cares if it is 90 degrees out :)

  18. Liz says:

    What a stunning soup! Delicious, too~~

  19. Your soup is so pretty! I’m trying to find more ways to incorporate sweet potatoes into my diet since they’re so healthy, and this looks like something I’d love! :)

  20. myblogject says:

    I’m a soup fan too. There’s a chain in the uk called Eat that does amazing soup. I love it…

  21. Looks like a great soup. I’ve never through about grilling the vegetables and meat before starting the soup. I bet the grill really carmelizes the sugars in the potato and brings out extra flavour. I must try this – even if it’s oven roasting (my grill is on its last legs.. or wheels.. or whatever grills stand on).

  22. Lovely soup! With our rainy weather this summer there will be plenty of opportunities to enjoy it.

  23. I don’t want to wait for a cool day to eat a soup that looks tis good! I’m sure if I ate this on a hot day, it will taste just as delicious :-). I bookmarked this…yumm!

  24. Reeni says:

    You must be my long lost soup sister! I too love soup anytime of the year. Some people think I’m nuts. I’m glad I found someone who agrees. The soup looks incredible! Packed with flavor and comforting too, just the way soup should be.

  25. Soup knows no season. :) Comfort food like this is welcome any time of year! :)

  26. biz319 says:

    You and I should go into business then, because I’ve always dreamed of owning a soup restaurant too! With homemade bread and rolls – I never get soup, no matter the temperature!

    I just made a grilled butternut squash soup that I think you would like!

    http://mybizzykitchen.com/2011/06/22/it-was-like-ordering-lasagna-at-an-irish-restaurant/

  27. Aarthi says:

    Hai Dear

    This looks yummy….you have a lovely blog…Please check out my blog..It is for food lovers and person who love to cook..You could find so many recipes that you can easily try at home..I update this blog on a regular basis…So please follow me and motivate me..Thank you
    http://yummytummy-aarthi.blogspot.com

    Aarthi

  28. Tes says:

    I made this for dinner last night… and it was so amazing and comforting :) Thanks for this incredible recipe :) :)

  29. I need to make more soups in the summer too. Love the gorgeous color of this one.

  30. Adora's Box says:

    A goody hearty soup packed with flavour. Yes, that’s what we non-bikini wearing crowd want.

Leave a Reply

