Edamame-Tomato Salad with Lime-Balsamic Dressing

28

October 10, 2011 by Dana

Before I give you the recipe for this (very tasty) Edamame-Tomato Salad with Lime-Balsamic Dressing, I want to tug on your heartstrings a little ask for your help.

First, a little background:  When I made my 27×27 list, almost 6 months ago, I included a goal to participate in an event for a cause.  at the time, I figured that I would pick a random event, raise a few dollars for the cause, and call it a day.

Little did I know, my 5 1/2 year old cousin, Steven, would be diagnosed with Leukemia just a few months later.  And that instead of choosing a random event and cause to participate in, I would be walking on Team Steven in The Light The Night Walk  to support the The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s efforts to find cures for blood cancers.

So I’m asking for your help.  Please help me support Steven and his family by donating to my fundraising page.  Because by donating even just a few dollars to what may just be a random cause to you, has the power to give a little 5 1/2 year old boy and his family hope.

And now, on to lighter things.  Like this Edamame-Tomato Salad with Lime-Balsamic Dressing.  Which is not only light, healthy, and protein packed, but also very tasty and satisfying.

This recipe, my pick for this month’s Secret Recipe Club, comes from Cooking with Chopin, Living with Elmo.  Ginny created this dish in honor of summer, which is something I can totally get on board with.  Summer is most definitely my favorite season, and I’m sad to see it go.  And if making this tasty salad prolongs the summer just a little more, then how would I not love it?

Edamame-Tomato Salad with Lime-Balsamic Dressing

Ingredients

1 (10 oz.) frozen bag of shelled edamame, cooked according to package directions (about 2 cups)
1/2 cup (approx.) yellow cherry tomatoes, halved
1/2 cup grape tomatoes, halved
1/2 cup finely diced red onion
2 leaves fresh basil, cut away from center stem and chopped
Juice of 1/2 lime (about 2 teaspoons)
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions

In a medium bowl, combine first five ingredients.  Whisk together the lime juice, salt, and balsamic vinegar.  Pour lime-balsamic dressing over edamame mixture.  Season with additional salt and black pepper, if desired.  
 

Enjoy!

And don’t forget to check out the other Secret Recipe Club entries!



28 thoughts on “Edamame-Tomato Salad with Lime-Balsamic Dressing

  1. May@Sahabat Diet reblogged this on Sahabat Diet and commented: Edamame….healthy and delicious

  2. Lisa~~ says:

    Beautiful colors and your salad sounds delicious.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my SRC recipe this month: Levain Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  3. Dana, this looks delicious! Thanks for sharing with the SRC.

  4. Amanda says:

    oh the lime and balsamic is intriguing, bet this was great!

  5. Ruchi says:

    Love edamame… looks great!

  6. sara says:

    This sounds like a great veggie dish…love it! :)

  7. Steven is just adorable. What a little trooper. And this salad looks delicious and healthy, I love edamame :-)

  8. I hope you raise a nice amount for your Steven and all those affected. On a lighter note never really saw an edemame salad, very cool, I like it,

  9. Rituparna says:

    What a delicious looking salad.
    I am so sorry to here about Steven. My heart goes out to the family & little one. But always have hope, God is Great !

  10. Sasha says:

    This is a great recipe. I love edamame. It reminds me of this recipe of mine: http://chezsasha.wordpress.com/2011/04/01/balsamic-onion-and-chick-pea-salad/

    I’m sorry to hear about your little cousin. I hope everything turns out for the best for him and his family.

  11. biz319 says:

    Dana, so sorry to hear about your little cousin – he’s adorable! Wish I could donate, but hubs is still out of work and money is tight. :( Good luck though!

  12. Faith says:

    Awww, Steven is adorable…I’m so sorry to hear about his illness. Wishing the best for him and his family.

    The salad looks fantastic — such pretty pictures too!

  13. I’m so sorry to hear about Steven, Dana. I hope you’ll raise enough money to give some of the support his parents need.
    The salad looks great, so healthy and so delicious!

  14. Monet says:

    Wow…my heart and thoughts go out to your family and sweet Steven. I know many people who were able to battle leukemia as children…and I will pray for the same. Thank you for sharing. The salad looks perfect.

  15. He is a cutie! I hope the walk went well. I wish your little cousin and your family the best.

  16. Chef Chuck says:

    Love that healthy salad! Thank you for sharing…

  17. Wow, amazing blog format! How lengthy have you been running a blog
    for? you make blogging look easy. The full look of your web site is magnificent, let alone the content!

  18. lyproxy.com says:

    Great beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your
    website, how could i subscribe for a blog web site? Thee account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea

  19. creatine says:

    Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Many thanks

  20. Great web site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find good quality writing like yours these days.
    I honestly appreciate individuals ljke you! Take care!!

  21. If some one desires to be updated with newest technologies then he must be pay a visit
    this website and be up to date daily.

  22. code amazon says:

    What’s up, after reading this remarkable piece of writing i am also cheerful to share my knowledge here with colleagues.

  23. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided
    to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge
    you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get
    home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my phone ..

    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, wonderful
    blog!

  24. alli says:

    I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both educative
    and amusing, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is an issue that too few folks are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy that I stumbled across this during my search
    for something concerning this.

  25. What the shoe is made of is the difference between spending a lot on a shoe that tears
    up in a few months and getting one that last a few years.
    If you’re going to be hiking, even for short distances, you need to
    buy the best quality hiking boots that you can afford, rather
    than opting to look good in something that will not treat you
    well on the trail. The ultimate outdoor boots, Chippewa men’s boots are made with state of the art technology.

  26. It’s an remarkable article designed for alll the web people; they will take advantage froom it I am
    sure.

  27. There might be a requirement for additional expenses to
    incorporate complementary business programs into your turnkey
    website, for the purpose of extra revenue streams. There are several plans to host the small
    business houses that don’t spend too much on their project.
    This is considered to be a breakthrough that opens all the doors and windows of opportunity
    for growth.

Leave a comment