Lebanese Meat Pies [video]

7

March 21, 2012 by Dana

foodblog, cooking, recipe, recipes

A few weeks ago I entered a contest.

No, I’m not talking about the Marx Foods East Meets Delicious challenge.  Or Saucy Mama’s Skinny Mama contest.  Or the New England Country Soup challenge.

I’m talking about the Cook & Eat Lebanese Recipe Video competition.

I didn’t let you know I had entered right away because the other contestants already had over 500 votes and I knew there was no way I could win I had already been asking you for so many votes for the other contests, and I didn’t want to make you crazy.

Luckily, there will actually be 2 winners for this contest, one chosen by votes, and one chosen by the judges…  I’m hoping to be chosen as a winner by the judges.

For this contest, I made my grandmother’s Lebanese Meat Pies.  These are extremely easy to make, and are a total crowd pleaser.  I’ve never met anyone that didn’t love them!

Even though I’m not asking you to vote for me, I still wanted to share my recipe with you…. and to show you my very first cooking video!  Check it out below for step by step instructions on how to make these tasty appetizers.

Please excuse the fact that half of my head is cut off.  And that the volume levels are a little funky.  And that I pronounce the word “salt” as “sawlt.”  Still pretty good for my first video ever, if I do say so myself!

Lebanese Meat Pies

Ingredients

2 Tbsp olive oil
1 onion, chopped finely
1 lb ground lamb or beef
juice of one lemon
1/8 cup pine nuts, toasted
salt and pepper, to taste
2 cans refrigerated biscuits
2 egg yolks

Directions

1.  Preheat oven according to the directions on your biscuit dough (about 450 degrees Fahrenheit).

2.  In a large sauté pan, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Once hot, add onion and sauté until translucent, about 5 minutes.

3.  Add ground beef or lamb and cook until no longer pink. Drain off excess fat.

4.  Return pan to heat and add pine nuts, lemon juice, and season with salt and pepper. Let cook 1-2 more minutes. Remove from heat and set meat mixture aside to cool slightly.

5.  On a clean surface, flatten the dough of one biscuit using your fingers. Place a small amount of the meat mixture in the center of the dough. Carefully fold the biscuit edges up to form a triangle, like so, pinchin the seams together. Repeat with remaining biscuits.

6.  Arrange the meat pies on a greased baking sheet, seam side down, about 1-2 inches apart from each other.

7.  In a small bowl, beat the egg yolks. Using a pastry brush, brush the top of each meat pie with the egg.

8.  Bake the pies according to directions on biscuit dough (about 8-10 minutes).

9.  Remove from oven. Let cool slightly and enjoy.

7 thoughts on “Lebanese Meat Pies [video]

  1. Victoria says:

    Great job!! Good luck, sweetie! I hope the judges pick you!

  2. Veronica says:

    Great job and high five to your fiancee for volunteering to record you (if that was indeed him)! I hope you win, but you should give us the link to vote if we would like to (I would)–I clicked the link you gave but couldn’t find the voting page.

  3. Danielle says:

    I love that you’ve been bitten by the recipe contest bug :) i love this recipe and can’t wait to try it!

  4. krissie says:

    Awesome job Dana! Def will be voting :)

  5. These look delicious, Dana, and so simple actually. Best of luck with the contest! Rooting for you all the way, girl! :) Also, I’m having a great giveaway today with four potential prize winners, so you should enter!

  6. Faith says:

    You did a great job — your video is fantastic, Dana! And the meat pies sound pretty delicious!

  7. We love Lebanese food–these look so good!

Leave a Reply

