Endive and Bulgur Salad With Poached Eggs

13

February 16, 2012 by Dana

food, foodblog, cooking, recipe, recipes, salad

Now, I’m not one to brag.

Ahem.  Please, no comments from the peanut gallery.

As I was saying.  I’m not one to brag.  But this year I had not one.  But two. Yes, two Valentines.

The first, of course, was my wonderful fiancé, Jake.  He treated me to a delicious pre-Vday brunch at Norma’s at Le Parker Meridien on Sunday, and surprised me with beautiful pale pink roses on Valentine’s Day itself!  I certainly am a lucky girl ;)

(Side note: anyone looking for brunch in the NYC area, I highly recommend Norma’s.)

And my second Valentine was California Vegetable Specialties!

Ok.  I know that’s not a person, per se, but I still count it.  After all, they did send me a Valentine!  A beautiful bouquet, in fact.  Of endives!

Now anyone that knows me knows that I love presents.  Especially surprise ones.  And especially ones related to food.

So when the box unexpectedly arrived at my office, full of beautiful, fresh endives arranged in a charming bouquet?  Well, let’s just say it was love at first sight.

I knew the only way to truly honor my new Valentine was to make something delicious out of the colorful veggies.

So I searched high and low, and finally found the perfect recipe to showcase the beauties in all their glory.

food, foodblog, cooking, recipe, recipes, salad

Endive and Bulgur Salad With Poached Eggs
(adapted from Martha Rose Shulman’s NYT Recipe, found here)

Ingredients

For the dressing:
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 garlic clove, minced
salt and pepper, to taste

For the salad:
2/3 c bulgur wheat, cooked according to package directions
6 endives (any combination of red and green), cut crosswise into 3/4-inch slices
8 oz white mushrooms, thinly sliced
1 yellow bell pepper, cut into strips
2 tablespoons chopped fresh scallions
4 tablespoons shredded parmesan
4 eggs

Directions

1. Make the dressing first so that the garlic can marinate. In a bowl or a glass measuring cup, whisk together the vinegar, salt, pepper olive oil, and garlic. Let sit for at least 15 minutes.

2. Combine the bulgur, endives, mushrooms, yellow pepper, scallions and Parmesan in a large salad bowl. Add the dressing and toss together.

3. Poach the eggs.  (These directions from Smitten Kitchen are easy to follow and result in perfectly poached eggs every time.)  Divide the salad into individual bowls, top each salad with a poached egg and enjoy.

And enjoy I did.  I actually liked this salad even more than I was anticipating I would.  It was extremely flavorful, filling, and just look at those beautiful colors!  This one is definitely a keeper!



13 thoughts on “Endive and Bulgur Salad With Poached Eggs

  1. I love salads topped with eggs. This looks beautiful and delicious!

  2. Happy to valentines – this looks yummy.

  3. You lucky gal with two Valentines. That is a beautiful and colorful salad.

  4. What a gorgeous salad!! I LOVE poached eggs on salads – yours looks perfect, mine never come out looking that good!

  5. Assia says:

    This looks so healthy and delicious – great idea, thank you for sharing!

  6. Tes says:

    Wow two Valentines :)

  7. Kristen says:

    I tried Belgian endive for the first time this week. It has such a nice subtle flavor and is a nice vehicle for anyone not eating bread. That salad looks delicious and SO pretty, too.

  8. Joanne says:

    The only thing better than one valentine and brunch at le parker meridien…is TWO valentine’s and an endive bouquet! And this salad. Umm gorgeous.

  9. Victoria says:

    Awww, what sweet Valentines! I’d love to see the bouquet of endives, haha. Such a fun idea. The poached egg is a great topper to this salad :)

  10. Love endive, they are crunchy with a mix of sweetness and bitterness and full of health benefits like Vitamin A (good for the sight) also have Vitaamin C.
    Also the high folates content (115 mcg x 100g) makes the chicory important ingredients in a pregnant diet. The potassium content act like a diuretic. thanks for such a healthy recipe

  11. Monet says:

    I know this is an old recipe but I just had to browse to find some good ones that I missed. This looks delicious. I will add this to my “Must-Make List” now!

Leave a Reply

