Tortilla Soup

19

January 30, 2012 by Dana

foodblog, recipe, cooking

I, for one, was thrilled that the temperature was well above freezing this weekend.

And not just because I hate the winter.  But because it precluded any chance of snow.  And for that I was thankful.

You see, last weekend we had snow. The first snowfall of the season, in fact.  Unless, of course, you include Halloween weekend as part of the “season.”  I don’t.  So in my book, it was the first.

And unlike most people, who are excited about the first snowfall and celebrate by building snowmen, making hot chocolate, and cuddling by the fireplace, I did none of those things.

Instead, I took the opportunity to carry my friend on my back, slip on the slush, fall, rip my tights, skin my knees, and bruise both knees and a shin.

I blame the snow.

So when I learned that this weekend would be snow free, I celebrated in a more responsible manner:  I made soup.

Yes, delicious Tortilla Soup.  Much less dangerous.  Much more tasty.  I’d say it was a good decision all around.

foodblog, cooking, recipes

I adapted this recipe from the one posted here by burleydee.

Ingredients 

2 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast
2.5 cups chicken broth
2 cups water
14 1/2 oz canned diced tomato
1 cup salsa
12 oz canned sweet corn
2 tsp ground cumin
2 tsp paprika
1 tbsp lime juice
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded, chopped fine
1 1/2 cup cooked brown rice (about 1/2 cup uncooked)
1/4 cup chopped cilantro (optional)
1 zucchini, sliced thin and quartered
8 oz Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
1 avocado, peeled and sliced
crushed tortilla chips

As I mentioned above, the cilantro is optional.  I didn’t use it, but I would imagine if you are one of those people  that actually likes cilantro, then by all means, go crazy.

Directions

1.  In a sautee pan, poach chicken breast until cooked through.  Remove chicken from pan and shred using two forks to shred.  Be very careful as chicken will be extremely hot.  
2.  In a large stock pot, combine shredded chicken, broth, water, tomatoes, salsa, corn,  cumin, paprika, lime juice, jalapeno pepper, rice, and cilantro (if using). Bring soup to a boil then immediately cover and reduce to a simmer.  Simmer for one hour.
3.  Ladle soup into bowls, and top with diced avocado, shredded Jack cheese and crumbled tortilla chips.  Makes 8 servings.

I have to say, this soup was delicious!  It was perfect for a cold-but-not-quite-freezing day, and I bet it would be just as good on a freezing day, too.  ;)

recipe, cooking, foodblog

19 thoughts on “Tortilla Soup

  1. I don’t know where you live but we’ve had a goofy winter. I’m here in MN and we can still see the grass. Totally bizarre.

    I LOVE tortilla soup! This sounds awesome, I’m coming over for dinner!

  2. Yay for snowless winters! I’d love a bowl of this right now…

  3. Tes says:

    Wow it looks so vibrant :) Hearty and comforting :)

  4. Faith says:

    This looks incredible! I love the addition of brown rice for a little bit of nutty flavor — delish!

  5. Of course you would make soup for those poor knees. Yep this winter is weird. Looks like an amazing and filling soup filled with summer notes.

  6. Victoria says:

    You are the soup queen, no question about that :) Tortilla soup is seriously one of my favorites, so comforting! I’m also glad the weather has taken a turn for the better… let’s keep it up!

  7. Katerina says:

    Here on the contrary we have snow the last couple of days, which is very unusual for Greece! It is freezing outside and this soup would be right out my alley! Great pictures! Thank you for stopping by my blog! I’ll be following!

  8. Asmita says:

    Hi,
    This is such a hearty and delicious soup. Have a great week.

  9. Reeni says:

    I am missing the snow! Crazy I know but winter is almost over and I want to see the pretty white stuff fall. Your tortilla soup is packed full of so much goodness! It’s one of my faves and you’ve done it great justice!

  10. Danelle says:

    Tortilla soup is one of my favorites! Maybe I’ll make it tomorrow, since we’re expecting snow here.

  11. You sound like me falling in the snow! This soup would definitely make me feel better too!

  12. Kristen says:

    Now that is a soup I could sink my teeth into! What a great combination of flavors.

  13. biz319 says:

    I’ve never thought of adding zucchini to my chicken tortilla soup – love it! :D

  14. Danielle says:

    I love the idea of adding the zucchini to the soup…what a great way to add some much needed veggies. Tortilla soup is one of John’s favorites and when he comes to visit me in a few weeks…I now know what I’m making :)

  15. so sorry to hear you skinned your knees :( hope you feeling better. hugs

  16. Liz says:

    Your soup looks fabulous, Dana! I’m the same way about winter…I like snow on Christmas Eve and that’s about it! Bring on Spring!!!

  17. Liz says:

    That soup looks great! Love the colors of the veggies!

  18. Kocinera says:

    Can I just tell you how much I love tortilla soup? That stuff is just amazing and I could totally eat it just about every day. Your version looks delicious!

  19. What a great soup. I have made a similar one with little turkey meatballs in it, and it was pretty much the most exciting soup ever. But I got a bit emotional once all the meatballs were gone. :(

Leave a Reply

