Overnight Oatmeal

75

August 15, 2011 by Dana

I am not going to talk about the fact that my last post was four weeks ago.

Or the fact that that was also for the Secret Recipe Club.

Or the fact that I have been so obsessed focused on wedding planning stuff lately that I’ve barely even made anything good for dinner, let alone blog worthy.

No, I’m not going to talk about any of that.  Instead, I’m going to focus on oatmeal.

You see, I eat oatmeal for breakfast every workday morning.  That’s five times per week.  Of oats.

And while I do enjoy my oatmeal, there are some days that I just want something…. else.  Not to say anything bad about oatmeal.  But let’s be honest, it’s not the most exciting thing in the world.

So when scoping out recipes on Eat Little, Eat Big, the last thing I expected was to find an oatmeal recipe that I would want to try.  And I definitely didn’t expect to find an oatmeal recipe that I would want to try and share.

But that’s exactly what I found.  There was something about this version of Overnight Oatmeal that caught my eye.  It’s different.  It’s interesting.  Intreguing, even.

Ok, maybe not intreguing exactly.  But it is definitely different!  Look:

1.  You don’t cook it.  Just the opposite, actually.  You make it in the refrigerator.

2.  It’s more protein packed, as it contains both Greek yogurt and your choice of milk.

3.  The taste…  It’s great!  I like my traditional weekday morning oatmeal, but the addition of the yogurt, cinnamon and honey make this version a real treat!

You don’t have to take my word for it.  Check it out for yourself!  This recipe is so easy to make, there’s no reason not to.

Ingredients:

1 cup old fashioned rolled oats (not instant)
½ cup plain, non-fat Greek yogurt
½ cup light vanilla almond milk
¾  tsp vanilla
1 ½  tsp cinnamon
1 TBSP honey
toppings of your choice (optional)

I made a few changes to the ingredient list, based on what I had on hand, including using vanilla almond milk instead of soy milk, and accidentally using instant oats instead of old fashioned.  It still came out tasty.

Suggestions for optional toppings include: chopped nuts, dried fruit, fresh fruit, pureed pumpkin, more cinnamon, maple syrup, brown sugar, peanut butter, apple sauce, or anything else your heart desires.

Directions:

1.  In an airtight container, combine all ingredients and stir well. 

2.  Cover and refrigerate overnight.  

That’s it!  Just two (ridiculously easy) steps and by the next morning, you’re ready for breakfast!  This versatile breakfast idea is perfect if you don’t have a lot of time in the morning (like me) and want to change up your breakfast routine.  Try it out!

And while you’re reveling in all the extra time you have in the morning, don’t forget to check out all the other Secret Recipe Club entries:

75 thoughts on “Overnight Oatmeal

  1. All I have to say is WOW! Dana you have no idea how much I actually hate oatmeal. But this recipe I am actually thinking of trying! My family and friends will be astounded! The fact that it’s not cooked is what hooked me! I am going to try it for sure. Thank you! And good luck with the wedding plans!

  2. This is interesting, I might just stick this in the frig tonight. Did you eat it cold or heat it??

  3. I started my blog after my wedding but never could imagine having done it during the wedding planning! Great SRC pick.

  4. This is the best. I love oatmeal, but hate to wash out the sticky pot. Can’t wait to try this version.
    Thanks for sharing it. Great SCR selection.

  5. This sounds just like the muesli I enjoy every morning (just polished off a bowl while reading your post, actually).

    Rolled oats with nuts, mixed dried fruit and flax seed, cinnamon, some frozen berries, add a little soy milk over night and voila — breakfast waiting for me in the morning! Heaven.

  6. I go through phases when I eat only oatmeal for breakfast for like 2 or 3 weeks and then I switch to toast or homemade muffins or something else. I could not eat the same thing every day. I like the make-ahead aspect of this recipe. When I’m on my oatmeal kick I pour some boiling water over my measured amount and then microwave it for a minute. Super quick but I think the yogurt would be a nice change.

    This must make more than one serving?

  7. Nichole says:

    Yum! This looks really good. I’m not a big Greek yogurt fan but this looks so tasty I think I’m going to have to try it out.

  8. Kelly says:

    Wow this looks fantastic and your pictures are gorgeous! What a great recipe for SRC! :)

  9. Shelby says:

    This is definitely different and I really like the whole idea! I’m a big oatmeal fan too and have even posted about it myself!

  10. This sounds great. I keep meaning to try overnight oats, but then I forget about them until a post like this one. Yours are tempting me now. You actually managed to make oatmeal cute! I love it.

  11. Tami says:

    Love your pics! This is such a cheery breakfast item. What a great way to start your day off with a smile.

  12. Faith says:

    This is the 3rd oatmeal dish I’ve seen this morning — I think it’s a sign I need to make some oats! Looks delicious, Dana!

  13. I never knew you could make oatmeal this way. Thanks for the post, Dana! Will definitely be trying it out.

  14. Lisa~~ says:

    Looks wonderful and delicious.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  15. I’ve been wanting to make this all summer but all I have is oat groats and I’m not sure they will work…might just have to try and find out!

  16. Dana-so glad to introduce you to Overnight Oatmeal! Lovely picture!
    Aloha,
    Susie Bee on Maui

  17. I love overnight oats and the different variations!

  18. Rivki Locker says:

    This is intriguing. I am definitely trying it soon. Thanks for sharing!!

  19. How easy is that? I do yogurt with granola most days but when I’m without any homemade granola I’m almost bereft…this would sure help!

  20. Peggy says:

    No heat overnight oats? Sign me up! I bet this would be a great breakfast =)

  21. sara says:

    Yum, this looks super easy and delicious…just what I want for breakfast! Thanks for sharing. :)

  22. This looks fantastic! And I’m not even a big fan of oatmeal :O

  23. Jeanie says:

    It just looks so creamy. I’ve got to try it. How do you think it’d turn out with plain milk?

  24. Trisha says:

    I’ve been looking for ways to switch up oatmeal as well. We have it most days of the week too. Just wondering if it is possible to warm this up in the morning, instead of having it cold. I prefer a slightly warm breakfast.

  25. Tessa says:

    I LOVE overnight oats. I eat oatmeal every day too, but sometimes it is just nice to have oats that aren’t warm on those hot mornings!

  26. Tes says:

    It sounds really healthy and comforting :)

  27. We love overnight oatmeal too. Yours look so pretty!

  28. This sounds like a delicious alternative to my usual steel-cut oats! Just pinned it to Pinterest so I remember to make it.

  29. Kate says:

    These looks wonderful. I like oatmeal but this takes it up a notch and makes it exciting..besides, it is do ahead!

  30. melissa826 says:

    I’ve heard of similar recipes but I’ve never actually seen one posted. I’ve always been hesitant to try this, because I’m afraid it will have a mushy texture. I think I’ll be trying this one though, thanks!

  31. Veronica says:

    I love it! I’m going to mix it together tonight for tomorrow’s breakfast. I remember wedding planning and how fun and stressful it was. Enjoy it! :)

  32. Looks delicious and is so healthy to boot!

  33. simply.food says:

    Beautiful click , simple and easy recipe . Nice choice.

  34. Rhonda says:

    Very intriguing, seems like a good recipe to take camping since there is no cooking required. I’m picturing pineapple yogurt, soy milk with toasted coconut and macadamia nuts as toppings. Great selection.

  35. I do believe I’m going to try this tonight for breakfast tomorrow morning! Thanks for the idea.

  36. Veronica says:

    Just put it in the fridge–can’t wait till morning!

  37. Monet says:

    Hi sweet girl…I’m so glad to see you…and I can completely understand the need to step back from blogging when life gets crazy! Thank you for sharing this recipe. I’m eager to try it out on my own. I love visiting your blog before my work day. I need to begin with a smile :-) Have a wonderful rest of your week!

  38. coffee lover says:

    I am going out to buy the ingredients for this today…it is my kind of recipe!!!!!!!

  39. patsyk says:

    I’m not a big oatmeal for breakfast kind of person, but this one looks like it could change my mind! Great recipe to share for SRC!

  40. wow! this is a must try for me:) its easy and yummy:) thank you for sharing this!

  41. Oh yeah! A fix ahead. I gotta try that. Best of luck on wedding planning!

  42. coffee lover says:

    Made it!!! It is in the fridge….now I have to wait til tomorrow for breakfast!!!!

  43. Tandy says:

    this is great to know for when I don’t have time to make granola :)

  44. […] The post that received the most clicks for the August 18th SRC reveal was from one of our veteran members, Dana from Food For Thought. She was assigned the blog Eat Little, Eat Big where she found this recipe for Overnight Oatmeal. Dana reveals that while she eats oatmeal 5 days a week, it was last thing she expected to blog about for SRC. However, this recipe caught her eye because it’s made in the refrigerator! Obviously, since this was the most clicked post, others found it curious as well. So go ahead and stop by Dana’s to get the recipe for this Overnight Oatmeal. […]

  45. Amanda says:

    I had no idea that oatmeal could A) be made in the fridge and B) be photogenic! This is a great post and it was the most clicked for our August 15th reveal! It’s featured as such on SRC today :) http://secretrecipeclub.com/most-popular-august-15-2011/

  46. Your picture is fabulous. I’ll have to give it a try.

  47. coffee lover says:

    I made it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I ate it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    It was delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  48. i’ve thought about trying overnight oats for ages…but i’m not going to lie…the idea of cold oatmeal skeeves me out a little bit. i’m sticking to my warm oats for now!

  49. Andrea says:

    This looks great! I eat oatmeal everyday and waking up with it already done would be great!

  50. Jo says:

    Yum! I alternate between greek yogurt with fruit and oatmeal for breakfast…now I can combine the two. This will be perfect for my early morning days at work.

  51. ButterYum says:

    Okay, you’ve convinced me to give this one a try. I love oatmeal, but add greek yogurt and vanilla soy and I’ll really love it!

    :)
    ButterYum

  52. Taylor says:

    I absolutely love overnight oatmeal, but have never made it with almond milk…I am definitely trying out this recipe!

  53. teaandscones says:

    What an interesting way to make oatmeal. I love oatmeal. Have to try this one.

  54. I have always wanted to try overnight oats.

    Thanks for sharing about what you made :)

    Jennifer
    For Such a Time as This
    http://www.jennifersikora.com

  55. Christy says:

    You know, I’ve wanted a way to eat more oatmeal (that isn’t in cookie form), because the tropical climate of Florida makes the hot variety unappealing! I tried this along with my iced coffee this morning. Thank you sooo much for this recipe and inspiration

  56. Sarah says:

    Yummmmm. I have something similar to this every morning – mine is rolled oats, chia seeds and frozen berries soaked in water or milk overnight and then stirred with yoghurt. Can’t live without it!

  57. Yummm. I have a similar breakfast every morning – mine is rolled oats, chia seeds and frozen berries soaked overnight and then stirred with yoghurt in the morning.

    Can’t live without it!

  58. Kristen says:

    Someone was just telling me about yogurt and an overnight oatmeal recipe. I had a hard time picturing it, so I am rather glad to see this recipe and pictures. I think it sounds delicious.

  59. Kimberly says:

    Stopping by from SRC Group C!

    So excited to try this oatmeal! I am in desperate need of easy breakfast ideas as I woefully don’t eat breakfast enough … I think this will be perfect!

  60. Magda says:

    Wow really cool easy breakfast and it looks like a delicious dessert.

  61. The Katsup says:

    I read this post while studying abroad in Australia. I’ve made this breakfast pretty much everyday every since. I love mixing it up and adding different fruit and flavors. One of my favorite tricks is to add chai seeds. Adds a nice texture and the seeds make the bowl of oats get HUGE. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

  62. Linwood says:

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied
    on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away
    your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something enlightening
    to read?

  63. I love what you guys are usually up too. This kind of clever work
    and exposure! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve you guys to my
    personal blogroll.

  64. […] 4.Overnight Oatmeal comes from Dana’s Food for Thought.  It’s made with vanilla almond milk and oatmeal. The best thing about this is it will be ready when you get up in the morning. […]

  65. great points altogether, you just won a new reader.
    What may you suggest in regards to your put up that you simply made a
    few days ago? Any certain?

  66. What i do not realize is in reality how you’re no longer actually a lot more smartly-appreciated than you might
    be now. You’re very intelligent. You realize therefore considerably when it comes to this subject,
    produced me for my part believe it from a lot of numerous angles.
    Its like men and women aren’t fascinated unless it’s something to accomplish with Woman gaga!

    Your individual stuffs great. All the time handle it up!

  67. What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads.
    I am hoping to give a contribution & assist different users like its
    helped me. Great job.

  68. Pretty part of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to claim that I acquire actually loved account your blog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing on your feeds or even I achievement you access persistently quickly.

  69. hello there and thank you for your information – I have
    definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this web
    site, as I experienced to reload the site many times previous to
    I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK?
    Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high
    quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding
    this RSS to my email and could look out for much more of your respective interesting content.

    Make sure you update this again very soon.

Leave a Reply

