Turkey Potpie with Baby Vegetables

31

April 7, 2011 by Dana

For my 100th blog post, I knew that I wanted to feature something great.  The topic for this post had to be something really special, because Food for Thought is so special.

It’s certainly special to me, because I love cooking/photographing/writing and sharing with all of you.  And it must be something special to you, too, because there’s no reason that I can think of why you’d keep coming back to read my ridiculous musings otherwise.

So, when Jake called me on my way home from a work dinner on Monday night, and said “That potpie stuff that you left for me was literally the best thing you have ever made, hands down, and that includes the Smores CookiesIt. is. so. good.” I knew I had found “the one”.  I mean, we all know how Jake feels about those cookies.

I couldn’t help but smile at how easy it had been to choose my honorary 100th post recipe.

But when I got home I realized there was a problem.  Not with the recipe. Not with the pictures.  And certainly not with the food.

No, the problem was with the fact that I had already posted my 100th post…. that morning.

Oops.

So, ladies and gentlemen, this Turkey Potpie with Baby Vegetables recipe marks my 101st post.  But don’t let the fact that it is posted on such an unceremoniously ordinary day fool you… it is something truly special.

Ingredients

10  baby carrots
1 cup pearl onions
8 oz fresh mushrooms
1 1/4 cup canned or frozen artichoke hearts
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon dry mustard
3/4 cup all purpose flour
2 1/2 cups chicken stock or broth
1 clove garlic
2 lb boneless skinless turkey breast
1 cup shelled edamame or green peas
1  tomato
1 tablespoon fresh or 1 teaspoon dried dill
1 tablespoon fresh or 1 teaspoon dried basil
1/4 cup low fat sour cream
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
1/2 cup cornmeal
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 cup plain soy milk
1 tablespoon dark (or regular) honey

Please don’t let the long list of ingredients scare you away from making this recipe!  You probably have a bunch of them at home already, and the others are pretty standard.  PLUS, this recipe comes from the New Mayo Clinic Cookbook that I picked up on my trip to Boston, so it’s worth using all of the ingredients to get all of the healthy benefits!

Directions

1.  Peel and halve the carrots, then thinly slice crosswise.  Immerse the onions in a saucepan of boiling water for about 2 minutes, drain, and plunge in cold water.  Cut off the root ends, slip off the skins, and then cut a shallow X in the root end of each onion.  Brush the mushrooms clean then thinly slice.  Quarter the artichokes lengthwise.  Set the prepared vegetables aside.

2.  In a large, heavy, ovenproof pan or Dutch oven, heat the 1/4 cup olive oil over low heat.  Add the mustard and 1/4 cup of the flour and cook, whisking constantly, for 2 minutes.

3.  Add the stock, still whisking constantly to avoid lumps, raise the heat to medium-high, and bring to a boil.  Add the garlic, carrots, and onions.  Reduce the heat to a gentile simmer and cook until the vegetables are softened, about 5 minutes.  Add the turkey, mushrooms, artichoke hearts, edamame (or peas), tomato, dill, and basil.  Cover and simmer until the turkey is opaque throughout, about 10 minutes.  Whisk in the sour cream and season with 1 teaspoon of the salt and pepper.  Spoon the mixture into a 9×13 inch baking dish and set aside.

4.  Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F (220 C).

5.  In a bowl, combile the cornmeal, the remaining 1/2 cup of flour, baking powder, and the remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt.  In another bowl, whisk together the soy milk, the 2 tablespoons olive oil, and the honey.  Add the dry ingredients, stirring until just moistened.

6.  Pour the batter over the turkey mixture.  bake, uncovered, until lightly browned, about 40 minutes.  Let stand for 10 minutes, then serve.

Seriously, go make this.  It’s so good, and so good for you.  There may be a few more ingredients than you’re used to, or a few more steps, but I promise you that it’s easy and the results are so worth it.

And again, thank you for sticking with me for 100 posts.  I hope you stick around for the next 100… or 101… who’s counting?

31 thoughts on “Turkey Potpie with Baby Vegetables

  1. coffee lover says:

    I want to eat it, but I want someone else to make it for me!!

  2. RavieNomNoms says:

    That looks awesome Dana! I am drooling at my desk right now…yum

  3. Looks like an amazing potpie, full of good stuff. And Happy 100th post but maybe good you kept this for 101…a new series of beginnings.

  4. Victoria says:

    Happy 101 :) I love potpies, and I’m not at all surprised that this is Jake’s favorite thing you’ve made! Very unique crust, definitely not traditional, but I like the cornbread style topping.

  5. kathdedon says:

    This looks great, and what an easy way to make the crust!

    Happy 101st post! ;)

  6. nutmegnanny says:

    It’s still really cold here and this would be perfect for dinner. Total comfort food.

  7. Congratulations!! What a great and yummy way to celebrate!

  8. cindy harris says:

    I want this for dinner tonight. Do you deliver?

  9. manfoodblog says:

    This sounds delicious. The part that really gets me is the crust – that really sets it apart. I am imagine such amazing flavors!

  10. Tes says:

    Yummm! What a comforting meal! Congratulation of 100th beautiful post :)

  11. Debbie says:

    Thanks so much for linking up to What’s On the Menu Wednesday at Dining With Debbie. I hope you will visit often and link up whenever your can.

    Your turkey pot pie sounds so good. Congrats on 101!

  12. Miz Helen says:

    This is a wonderful Pot Pie. Your baby vegetables and all the seasons put this pie over the top. We will really enjoy this recipe. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope to see you next week!

  13. Katie says:

    That pot pie sounds like a perfect comfort food. It must be to be better than cookies. Congratulations on your 100th post!

  14. biz319 says:

    Congrats on your 100th post! :D My husband loves pot pie – bookmarking this for when his appetite returns!

    Have a great weekend!

  15. Chaya says:

    You did a beautiful job with this. This is real comfort food.

  16. Reeni says:

    The potpie does indeed look like something special! Feel free to leave me some anytime! Congratulations on reaching your 100th post! It’s a milestone.

  17. I love that you include edamame in this recipe. I haven’t made potpie in years…I think I need to!

  18. Joanne says:

    I really think that pot pie is one of life’s greatest pleasures. Good pot pie, at least. And now that I’m thinking about it, the flavor of turkey sounds way more perfect in it than chicken does. Absolutely for sure. Happy 100th post love! And 101st! They’re all special if you ask me! (And I promise to reply to your email this weekend…I’d LOVE to meet up!)

  19. I love anything with baby vegetables – they are so cute! Congrats on the 101th post :)

  20. I love pot pies! Love these ingredients, thanks!

  21. What a great way to celebrate your 101st post! This pot pie looks delicious! I love that crust. :)

  22. Kristen says:

    Pot pie = pure comfort. I am really intrigued by the topping. I haven’t seen a pot pie with a pour on crust before. I have bookmarked this to try. With a recommendation like yours, I’d be foolish not to…and it’s healthy!

  23. Nothing beats pot pie for comfort food, and the cornmeal crust looks great on top! I love that you added artichoke hearts too.

  24. Congrats on exceeding 100 posts! It’s no easy task.

    Pot pie makes for great comfort food and great Sunday food. Yum.

  25. Kankana says:

    I enjoy potpie a lot. I am going to try this recipe with chicken someday. I am not a turkey fan :)

  26. Beth says:

    Happy 101st post! Now I’m off to check out those s’mores cookies!

  27. Congrats on 100 – or 101! :)
    I love the cornmeal topping on this pot pie! Yum

  28. Jenna says:

    Oh man does this look good!
    Congrats on your 101st post, and keep it up. This seriously looks delectable.

  29. Eva says:

    What a tasty-looking hundredth post! Congrats on the achievement!

  30. Kim Cooper says:

    Yummy! I love potpie and yours looks too good to be true. I’m glad it was easy to select that special recipe! It looks fab!!

  31. Congratulations on your 101st post! Love a really great turkey pot pie. It’s such a comfort food. :)

    Kristi

Leave a Reply

