Stuffed Baked Potato

21

April 4, 2011 by Dana

This morning I woke up early.  6:00 AM, to be precise…

Ok, ok.  Maybe I hit the snooze once or twice. But still!

For those of you that have been keeping up with my posts (or for those of you that know me in real life and have ever tried to talk to me before 9:00), you already know that I am NOT a morning person.  At all.  I refuse to get out of bed before the very last second that I need to.  Ever.

But this morning Hell did not freeze over.  Nor did pigs fly.   The reason for this early rise was to work out.

Unbelievable, I know.

I’ve decided that I am going to start doing the Insanity program by Beachbody again.  And since I have school several days per week after work, or tend to make excuses about being tired, bored, or just not feeling like it after work, I have designated the morning as my new workout time.

Last summer, I did the program, and I was literally in the best shape of my life.  I did the workouts every single day, without fail.  I had been determined to get in shape for one of my girlfriends’ bachelorette party in Las Vegas, and it worked.  I felt great, and I looked great (if I do say so myself.)

But when I got back from Vegas, I started getting lazy.  I started skipping workouts, adding extra snacks, and eventually, was no longer as toned.

Now, with the summer approaching and two more friends’ bacheloette parties coming up in Cabo and Vegas, I am determined to get back into great shape.  And now that you know about it, you can help hold me accountable!

Today’s recipe is a tasty and filling lunch designed to give me the energy I need to keep up with the workouts and stick to my healthy eating plan.  It’s actually adapted from a recipe in the P90X nutrition guide, not the Insanity one, but since they are both from the same company, I figure it works.

Ingredients

4 medium potatoes
20 oz frozen chopped spinach
20 oz frozen chopped broccoli
4 oz lowfat shredded cheddar cheese
dash salt
dash pepper
dash garlic powder

The original recipe was for one potato, but I modified it slightly to make four potatoes for my lunches for the week.  Making them all before the week begins leaves no excises for getting off track!

Directions

1.  Bake the potatoes at 425 degrees Fahrenheit for 45 to 60 minutes.  Remove from oven and let stand for 3 to 5 minutes.

2.  Defrost spinach and broccoli in the microwave, and squeeze to remove any excess water.

3.  Cut potatoes in half and scoop the insides into a mixing bowl, removing the skin.

4.  Add the spinach, broccoli, 2 oz of the cheese, and seasonings to the potato insides.  Mash the ingredients together and mix well.

5.  Divide the mixture into the four potato skins.  Top each potato with the remaining cheese and bake in the oven for 10 additional minutes.  Top with low fat sour cream, if desired.

These potatoes are very tasty and super filling.  This is the perfect healthy lunch to keep me on track without feeling like I’m eating “diet” food.

21 thoughts on “Stuffed Baked Potato

  1. Tes says:

    This looks really simple and yummy :) Baked potato always give me a really homey and comforting feeling :)

  2. RavieNomNoms says:

    Yum that baked potato looks so great and just comforting! I love baked potatoes. Reminds me of when I was younger when my mom used to make them.

    By the way, I am not a morning person either. It is amazing I make it to work on time everyday haha ;-)

  3. Love potatoes and these look incredible! I will have to make them for sure now! Good luck!

  4. Hang in their with you workout regime! And this looks like very satisfying lunch to earn too.

  5. I’m very impressed. I started P90X last summer but once my vacation came along I gave it up altogether.

  6. Mmm, what a healthy baked potato that still has the look of something totally indulgent.

  7. What a great idea using real food! Looks really good.

  8. Kankana says:

    This looks great. Just like you I HATE to wake up early :) Thanks for sharing it with Hearth and Soul Hop :)

  9. Shu Han Lee says:

    I like doing this with sweet potato for an added sweetness plus fibre and vitamin a! (: this looks soo yummy btw!

    http://mummyicancook.blogspot.com/2011/03/baked-egg-in-jacket-sweet-potato-with.html

  10. Great idea to make these up ahead of time! I’ve been trying to get in a workout every day at the gym but I have to resort to going after work. These look great!

  11. janiscooking says:

    spinach and cheese on baked potatoes! i gotta do one of those for hubby. btw, i just want to tell you that i recently got blog awards from a fellow food blogger and i thought of passing them to you because you’re one of the bloggers that i really admire. i hope you have the time to come and pick them up hehe http://janiscooking.wordpress.com/2011/04/06/creamy-cream-dory-and-fabulous-awards/

  12. Chaya says:

    I love stuffed baked potatoes but I have never used spinach as a filler. It is a wonderful idea. Thanks for expanding out repetoire of dishes.

    I am glad you linked it up to Let’s Do Brunch. I could eat this, morning, noon or night.

  13. I’ve heard great things about Insanity and P90X – looking forward to hearing more about your progress! This baked potato sounds delicious!

  14. campendeavor says:

    We just had a baked potato bar last night and it was great! Super filling, easy, comforting! I want to try this though, love adding the veggies and then putting insides back in!

  15. Oops, that was from me :)

  16. I’m about 60 days through the P90X Classic workout and down about 20+lbs so far. It’s amazing how mostly body-weight excercises can kick your …..!!

    I’m also on a big broccoli kick right now so I can’t wait to try this recipe.

    Thanks for sharing at the Hearth and Soul hop.

  17. I often stuff a potato with broccoli but I have never done it with spainach. Sounds really good. Thanks for sharing with Tuesday’s Tasty Tidbits.

  18. Kocinera says:

    Whoa, those stuffed potatoes look awesome! I love all those veggies! Good luck with your Insanity program!!

  19. MaryBeth says:

    YUMM-O…I love a big stuffed baked tater, we are having them for dinner tonight stuffed with cheddar chili.

  20. I am terrible at waking up early to work-out. It’s seriously one of them most difficult things ever. I’m so impressed by your morning…and this potato! I love baked potatoes and this one looks so comforting :)

  21. Jen says:

    I love spinach so am def going to try this recipe – it looks delicious in the photo.

Leave a Reply

