Giveaway Winner and a Question

7

March 11, 2011 by Dana

It’s that time again.  You know the one.  When Friday afternoon hits and you just want the weekend to be here so you eat massive amounts of pretzel crisps to pass the time?

Ahem. Not that that’s what I’m doing or anything…

Anyway, in order to make my your day move a little faster, I’m here to announce the winner of the Pillsbury Bake-Off Giveaway!

The winner of this giveaway is Amanda from Baking without a Box!

Congratulations, Amanda! I’ll email you shortly with details :)

As for everyone else, I have a question for you.  As you saw in my last post, the Pillsbury Bake-Off is underway.  I have a lot of ideas swimming around in my head for recipes I’d like to enter… but I’ve heard a lot of talk about Foodbuzz Featured Publishers not being able to participate.

Being the curious cat that I am, I emailed the folks at Pillsbury to find out if that was true, and this was the response I received:

Dear Ms. Cavooris:

Thank you for contacting General Mills regarding our 45th Pillsbury Bake-Off.

Each situation has to be reviewed based on the details specific to that person.  Generally, however, a blogger who participates in a program such as Google AdSense, where you enrolls to display advertising on their website and the program exercises no discretion or judgment in deciding who gets to participate, standing alone, would not be considered a paid blogger.

On the other hand, someone who is specifically sought out and paid by advertisers because of their blog content or is explicitly paid to create food-related content would generally be considered to be a paid blogger.

Similarly, someone who is specifically sought out and paid to create food-related content on other platforms would generally be considered to be a food writer.  Publication size is not relevant.

If there is anything else we can do concerning this matter, please let us know.

Thank you.

Based on this, it seems to me that we would be allowed to participate, but I’ve still heard people saying that we are not eligible.  I don’t want to waste my time and theirs if we really are not.

So here’s my question:

Does anyone know for a fact whether Foodbuzz Featured Publishers can take part in the Pillsbury Bake-Off?

I’d love to hear from anyone that knows for sure!

 

7 thoughts on “Giveaway Winner and a Question

  1. Well I am not in the US so I can,t even enter.

    That response is from the mouth of a politician (or a lawyer). But I looked quickly at the rules and it says ‘You are a paid food blogger. The second scenario described does include the pay you get for being a featured publisher…word for word by the law.

  2. Yay for winning your prize!!! Boo for being disqualified just for being at FB featured publisher. Think FB would look into it for everyone seeing we’re more of a community of sharing and not really what one thinks of when you say featured publisher like in a online mag or paper?

  3. I must be out of the loop, I haven’t heard anything…it sounds like you could though, as long as you aren’t getting paid by other companies to post/create recipes/etc. ? That is how I would take it. :)

  4. Interesting. I hadn’t heard about this, but it seems like a bit of a grey area. I wonder what will be decided.

  5. Joanne says:

    Huh. I’m totally stumped by this. Being a foodbuzz featured publisher, I don’t really consider myself a “paid blogger” since I’m not being paid to write specific posts or per word or anything like that. If a company specifically paid me to write a post about a specific recipe or ingredient, etc….as in, as if they commissioned me, then yes I would consider myself a paid blogger. But with FB you get money based on hits and not posts…so. Hmm.

  6. Kristen says:

    As one of the people that has participated in Family Bites on Food Buzz (for both Newman’s Own and Hidden Valley Ranch), I would definitely think I am not allowed, but if you aren’t one of those who developed recipes for pay, you probably would be allowed. I didn’t even know about that rule. The more I hear about the limitations of being a featured publisher, the more I think I won’t renew my contract in 2012.

  7. i would contact corporate or the head of the committee.

Leave a Reply

