S’mores Bars

26

February 20, 2011 by Dana

Growing up, I lived on Long Island.  I was your typical LI girl, hanging out at Starbucks every day after school, going on a Caribbean vacation every year, having my parents buy me whatever I needed.  In short, I was spoiled lucky.

It wasn’t until I went away to college that I realized that this was not the norm for everyone.  My first week away, I earned myself the nickname “Grey Poupon” when I mentioned that on Long Island, hamburgers from McDonalds didn’t come with mustard.

“What do they come with, grey poupon?”

And that was that.

It was then that I realized that how my friends and I lived on LI is not the norm.  I realized that the other kids at school viewed me as different.  I realized that I am a snob.

I have to admit that I was surprised by that last one.  I had never really considered myself snobby before.  And compared to a lot of my LI cohorts, I probably wasn’t, but in the grand scheme of things, I learned that I really was.

Since then, I’ve tried to tone down a lot of my snobbiness.  I’m not saying that the occasional snooty thought doesn’t occur to me, or comment doesn’t come out of my mouth, but I do try to suppress most of it.

Unfortunately, some of it is ingrained in my DNA.  (No time for a nature vs. nurture discussion… just humor me.)

One of those insuppressible instances occurred when I first saw this recipe from Paula Dean on Let’s Dish.

Truth be told, Paula Dean alone sets off my snob-o-meter, but coupled with a recipe that contains marshmallow fluff?? Forget it.  That’s off the charts.

The pictures looked scrumptious, but I just couldn’t see myself going into the supermarket and picking up a jar of fluff.  In my mind, that would be in the same category as driving my rusty old pickup truck to a NASCAR race….

Not. In. This. Lifetime.

But I couldn’t stop thinking about those S’mores Bars.  Every time I needed to make a dessert to bring somewhere, those delicious gooey melty looking bars popped into my head.

Finally, this weekend, I caved.  I was craving the graham cracker, chocolate, and marshmallow trio all week.  My brother’s visit home from college was all the excuse I needed to whip up a batch of these bars.

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/3 cups flour
3/4 cup graham cracker crumbs (about 6 sheets of graham crackers)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
4 (1.5-ounce) Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bars
1 (7 oz.) jar marshmallow fluff

I am happy to report that me buying a jar of fluff from the grocery store did not result in the end of the world.  I even tasted a spoonful of the fluff before using the remainder of the jar in the bars.  It wasn’t bad.  It’s super sweet and very sticky.  Not something that I’ll be utilizing in a sandwich anytime soon, but perfect for this recipe.

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease an 8-inch baking pan.

2.  In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar with an electric mixer until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla; beat until combined.

3.  In a small bowl, combine flour, graham cracker crumbs, baking powder, and salt. Add to butter mixture, and beat until combined.

4.  Press half of the dough evenly in the pan.  Spread marshmallow cream over the dough. Lay the chocolate bars on top of the marshmallow creme, breaking apart as needed to create an even layer of chocolate. Spread remaining dough over the chocolate bars.

5.  Bake for 25-30 minutes. Cool completely before cutting into squares.

I’m glad I got over my aversion to marshmallow fluff, because these bars were awesome!  They are so gooey and delicious.  Everyone was raving about how good they were, and they perfectly satisfied my craving for s’mores!

**I'm entering this recipe in the Get Grillin contest: “Get Grillin’ with Family Fresh Cooking 
and Cookin’ Canuck, sponsored by Ile de France CheeseRösle,Emile HenryRouxbe and ManPans.”

26 thoughts on “S’mores Bars

  1. These look AMAZING!!! I will have to try them!

  2. Reeni says:

    I have been craving smores everything lately! These look insanely good! Smores are about as down to earth as desserts come.

  3. Monet says:

    Smile. I’m a snob too…and I laughed out loud reading your post! I can relate..all too well! My husband, however, is not a snob and he just adores marshmallow fluff. In fact, I think both of us would adore these bars. How could we not? Thank you for sharing tonight! I hope you have a great Monday, my friend.

  4. KeepItSweet says:

    I am a fan of s’mores in any form! I don’t think everyone from Long Island is a snob:-)

  5. Mike says:

    Yup, I’m pretty sure those pickup driving NASCAR fans would call you a snob too.

  6. Danelle says:

    That’s funny! I know what you mean. Sometimes I make a recipe (like anything with Velveeta) and think, “I cannot post this, because it is too low class.” I’m glad you got over your aversion to marshmallow fluff to make these though.

  7. Faith says:

    These look fantastic! All the deliciousness of s’mores around a campfire without actually having to go camping, lol!

  8. Evan @swEEts says:

    I couldn’t help but giggle when you got called “Grey Poupon”.. my friends in grad school started calling me an elitist after I mentioned a few things, but like you called yourself lucky I just said I wasn’t spoiled, but privileged ha I could eat these little smores bars up in a heart beat though!

  9. sara says:

    YUM! These look incredible!!! :)

  10. Haha, I love this story!
    I don’t even like marshmallows but this looks SO good to me!
    Do you know that people eat pb & marshmallow fluff sandwiches?!

  11. Mary says:

    I suspect there are very few people who having had a smore can now say no to them. I loved your recipe. This is my first visit to your blog, so I’ve been browsing through some of your earlier entries. I really like the food and recipes you feature here. I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

  12. liz says:

    Woe, do these sound good!!!

  13. Ha ha ha, I am that kind of a snob too, so can relate as well. But lowering yourself to the simple people for this recipe was a success ;-)

  14. this sounds so lovely! i cant wait to try this out:) thanks for sharing this.

  15. Joanne says:

    I’m a Queens girl, born and bred, so I know ALL about the LI mentality. Although to be honest, Queens girls aren’t really much better. Neither are upper east siders. Just saying.

    I too scoff at Paula Dean but I do have a soft spot for marshmallow fluff. That stuff is the kind of thing you indulge in when no one else is looking. Or in these bars, which look fabulous!

  16. I admit, I’m definitely a snob when it comes to food, but I think that’s ok.;) It’s great to give in to temptation once in a while though, and the smores mix of flavors can’t be beat!

  17. This made me laugh out loud because I also grew up on Long Island… hah. It’s so true! Where did you grow up??

    These look so yummy!

  18. huntfortheverybest says:

    they look yummy!

  19. […] too controversial on here, like politics or religion, (although I did stir up some people with my S’mores Bars post), but, as I’m sure you can imagine, I have some strong beliefs on those matters as […]

  20. Lynne says:

    Dana, these look so delicious and I’d love to add them to my blog with a link back to your site if it’s ok with you.
    Love your site – I’ll keep reading!

  21. Kaye says:

    Can this be done with just marshmallows instead of the fluff?

  22. […] 2. Most Popular Post: S’mores Bars […]

  23. […] has lots of marvelous recipes and I was actually having a tough time deciding which one to make when I came across these beauties. However, and not by any fault of Dana’s but rather my own, I ended up having to make these […]

  24. Art says:

    Oh, yes. Absolute snob…in fact, a bigot. Sad that you lump an entire region as less than you…save for the s’mores bar recipe. The recipe is great, the attitude just plain sad.

Leave a Reply

