Turkey Black Bean Chili

5

February 18, 2011 by Dana

I’m sure you can tell by the circles under my eyes my lack of posts this week that school is back in full swing.  Between work, school, and life in general I am exhausted.  I think I could just curl up in a ball and fall asleep on my desk right now.

Since my brain is fried, I don’t have a funny story or whitty observation for you today.  Just a good recipe.  Which I was supposed to post over a week ago.  Better late than never!

Ingredients

1 lb ground turkey
1 onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 1/2 tablespoons chili powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 (4 ounce) can diced green chilies
2 (28 ounce) cans tomatoes, crushed
2 (16 ounce) cans black beans, drained & rinse
1 tablespoon lime juice

I actually tripled this recipe, because I made it for my Superbowl Fiesta, but I’m just posting the original amounts from food.com, because I’m sure most of you are not cooking for an army.

Directions

1.  Heat oil in a dutch oven over medium high heat; add turkey, onion & garlic and cook, stirring to break up the lumps, for about 5- 7 minutes or until turkey is no longer pink.

2. Add seasonings, stir& cook for another 2 minutes

3.  Drain off any excess fat.

4.  Add chilies, tomatoes & beans and combine thoroughly.

5. Heat to boiling, stirring often.

6. Reduce heat to low & simmer, stirring occasionally, for 30 minutes.

7. Stir in lime juice & remove from heat.

8.  Top with sour cream, cheese, green onions, or whatever else your heart desires!

I personally loved this chili.  Which is a good thing, considering I still have a ton in my freezer.  It was not too spicy, but could certainly be kicked up a notch whit the addition of some more chili powder or cayenne.

5 thoughts on “Turkey Black Bean Chili

  1. Looks delicious! I so love chili!

  2. Victoria says:

    I love turkey chili! I usually use kidney beans, but these black beans are a great touch. Definitely an easy and hearty meal :)

  3. Sounds and looks delicious Dana! I always like to make a lot more myself so I can freeze it for those lazy days or crazed days when I do not have the energy to cook. Good luck with school!

  4. This chili looks delicious! (I love black beans in chili.) Meals like this help to make my hectic life a little bit easier. :)

  5. I’m convinced that having leftover chili is the best! So satisfying and freezes so well!

Leave a Reply

