Pomegranate Margarita Cupcakes

19

February 13, 2011 by Dana

You may have noticed that this is the first cupcake recipe I’m sharing on Food for Thought.

It may seem weird to you, considering that I am clearly no stranger to making yummy sweets and baked goods.  But there is a method to my madness.

You see, to make a cookie look good, you basically just have to make it and bake it properly.  I mean, who ever saw a batch of perfectly golden brown delicious chocolate chip cookie that didn’t look scrumptious?  No one.

But cupcakes?  Well, they are an entirely different story. You have to decorate cupcakes for them to look appetizing.  And I’m sorry to say that I have absolutely zero artistic ability.

At all.

In fact, I have so little artistic ability, that I am quite possibly the only person in the history of the world that has actually hurt themselves in elementary school art class.  And by “hurt themselves” I mean my parents were called, I was rushed to the doctor, and I needed 3 stitches.

I wasn’t running with scissors.  I wasn’t putting anything into the hot kiln.  I was just sitting there, doing my project, when I cut myself and started bleeding all over the place.  In art class.

So, considering the last time I attempted to be artistic in any fashion resulted in me being held down in the doctor’s office with a needle piercing through my skin, I was, admittedly, a little nervous when Pom Wonderful gave me a free sample of their new Pomegranate Concentrate, and asked me to use it in a Valentine’s Day cupcake.

I knew that I couldn’t just “make” a cupcake.  I’d have to decorate it, too.   So I called my friend Jill, aka the Cupcake Queen, and asked her to bring over her pastry bag and decorating tools.

I had all the best intentions to have the cupcakes ready to decorate when Jill arrived so that she could help me, but, in true Dana fashion, I hadn’t even started them yet.   Jill left me with the pastry bag and tools, and I was left to my own devices to decorate my cupcakes.

Coming up with the idea for the recipe, creating the recipe, and making the cupcakes were, well, a piece of cake.  But icing the cupcakes? Not so much.

It took me a good hour to figure out how to use the pastry bag, and by the time I “mastered” that, I was spackled with frosting up to my elbows, had it all over the kitchen table, and had globs of it stuck in my hair.  I had the patience to frost about four cupcakes using the pastry set, and after that I just used a butter knife to spread the frosting, and then dunked them top side down into a big bowl of sprinkles.

Ingredients

For the Cake:
2 oz margarita mix (thawed if frozen)
2 oz warm water
1/2 oz pomegranate concentrate (about 3.5 teaspoons)
2 oz egg whites (about 2 large eggs)
1.5 cups all purpose flour, sifted
1 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
2 oz tequila

For the Icing:
4 tablespoons butter, softened
4 oz cream cheese
1 tablespoon pomegranate concentrate
3 tablespoons water, plus more as needed
2 cups confectioner’s sugar

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line 12 cupcake trays with wrappers. (Makes about 12 cupcakes)

2.  In a small bowl, combine margarita mix, water and pomegranate concentrate.

3.  In a medium sized bowl, combine egg whites, and 1/8 cup pomegranate/margarita mixture.  Set aside.

4.  In a large mixing bowl, sift together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Combine well.

5.  To the dry ingredients, add butter, tequila, and remaining pomegranate/margarita mixture.  Mix on low speed until dry ingredients are moistened.  Increase to medium speed and mix for 1.5 minutes.

6.  Add half of the egg white mixture to the cupcake batter.  Beat for 30 seconds.  Add the remaining egg white mixture, and beat for 30 additional seconds.

7.  Evenly divide the batter among the 12 cupcake wrappers (about 1/4 cup batter per cupcake).

8.  Bake the cupcakes for 14-17 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center of a cupcake comes out clean.  Let cupcakes cool completely before frosting.

9. To make frosting, mix butter, cream cheese, pomegranate concentrate, water, and confectioner’s sugar with a wooden spoon.  Once the ingredients are combined, mix with a hand mixture until icing is smooth.  Add additional water to reach desired consistency, if necessary.

While it may have looked like the same fourth grader that cut herself in art class had decorated the mis-matched cupcakes, they luckily tasted much better than they looked!

Update 4/11/2011 I am submitting this to BSI Cream Cheese, which is going on at Recipe Rhapsody.
19 thoughts on “Pomegranate Margarita Cupcakes

  1. Wow these look and sound incredible Dana! I don’t usually make cupcakes but I may just have to make these soon!

  2. Monet says:

    You are adorable. I didn’t like to decorate when I started out either…but it grows on you. Your cupcakes look beautiful, in my opinion. Practice makes it a lot easier! I hope you have a wonderful day tomorrow. Take time to love yourself and those that are dearest to your heart!

  3. Those look great!!!!
    I’m going to have to pick up some of that POM concentrate. Love the flavor combination of the margarita mix too.

  4. They look great! And the recipe sounds delicious!!!

  5. Faith says:

    I really don’t have much patience for frosting cupcakes either, lol! Looks like yours turned out beautifully though…love the flavors in there!

  6. Liz says:

    Your cupcakes are adorable! I have the same phobia…I have two sisters who are artists as well as an artistic mother. But I didn’t inherit that gene. I’m going to try some cupcakes soon…and hope I finally figure out how to pipe the perfect frosting!

  7. Victoria says:

    For someone afraid of “art” your cupcakes really came out beautiful!! I’m serious!! I love the light purple color and all the bright sprinkles on top! Don’t be afraid next time, you will only get more and more confident the more you experiment. I am not a very good decorator either, but it’s still fun :)

  8. Evan @swEEts says:

    For a cupcake decorating novice I think you did pretty darn good! It’s all about practice :) The flavor combo on the other hand sounds absolutely fantastic.

  9. Loved reading your post but sorry art class took you to the hospital. I aslo am not big on decorating but for a different reason…laziness. I have to say your efforts paid off though, congrats

  10. Chiara says:

    I’ve found your blog through Faith’s blog and I have to say, when I saw that you make margarita cupcakes I said out loud “bingo!” Great recipe, I’ll try these soon!

  11. Delishhh says:

    They look great! And the recipe sounds delicious, need to save on my to do list!

  12. Joy says:

    Hmmm that looks wonderful.

  13. RavieNomNoms says:

    Those cupcakes are seriously so much fun!!

    You have an award waiting for you here:

    http://ravienomnoms.wordpress.com/2011/02/18/day-5-of-detox-and-awards/

  14. kitchenarian says:

    I would like to have one of your cupcakes while I sip on a pomegranate martini, my new favorite drink. Thanks for the recipe!

  15. bcnesteva says:

    Hi… Dana? :)
    I just found your blog through “you are what you eat… or reheat.”
    This particular cupcakes look so much fun and yummy! Must be the margarita element (never thought of baking something like this for some reason).
    Ugh, I really wish I had all my old baking utensils…
    Keep it going girl!
    Take care :)

  16. Veronica says:

    Toooo funny! Well, the cupcakes in the pictures look fabulous so your hard work paid off, even if you didn’t have the patience to do more than a few with the pastry set. And I bet they tasted even more fabulous than they looked! I just got some pomegranate concentrate from a Lebanese market and was wondering what else I could make with it besides a dip I bought it for…I’ll add this to my recipes to try!

  17. [...] Chile Pepper & Cream Cheese Burger from Debbi Does Dinner Healthy. Pomegranate Margarita Cupcakes from Food 4 [...]

  18. claire says:

    how cute are these!

  19. Dana, these cupcakes look amazing!
    Please join me to bake & remember lives lost in 9/11. I am hosting a link up called *Remembrance Cakes* Would love to have you. We are baking cakes, muffins, cupcakes. Anything is great! You can also share posts you have all ready published like this one. Just add the badge to show your support.
    http://su.pr/2j5eSB

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,134 other followers

