Buffalo Chicken Baked Potato

21

February 4, 2011 by Dana

Ready for your mind to be blown?

The following is a real, grammatically correct sentence in the English language:

Buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo Buffalo buffalo.

It’s true!  I know because I read it on the internets.  And everything on the internet is true.

Basically, this sentence is saying that bison from Buffalo, NY, that are bothered by other bison from Buffalo, NY, bother other bison from Buffalo, NY.

Now, if you’re anything like me, your brain is melting out of your ears from trying to figure out which ‘buffalo’ is which.    And you’re also thinking about buffalo wings.

Well, fret not!  I have an easy recipe for you that requires very little brain power and results in a delicious meal to satisfy that craving!

Ingredients

1 ½ lbs boneless skinless chicken breast
1 cup Frank’s Red Hot Buffalo wing sauce
1 cup water
1 tablespoon butter
6 russet potatoes, washed well

When I say this recipe is easy, I mean super easy.  It’s a slow cooker recipe that requires almost no prep.  You don’t even have to defrost the chicken!

Directions

1.  Add chicken (frozen is fine), buffalo sauce, water and butter to crockpot.  Cook on low for 6 hours.

2.  About an hour before you are ready to eat, preheat oven to 400 degres Ferenheit.  Once preheated, place potatoes directly into the oven (not in foil), and bake for about 45 minutes.  Using pot holders, gently squeeze the potatoes to test for doneness. They should be soft but not mushy when ready.

3.  When chicken is done cooking, break it up using a wooden spoon.  The chicken will just fall apart at this point.

4.  Spoon chicken mixture onto baked potatoes and top with sauce and other desired toppings (ex. shredded cheese, sour cream, blue cheese dressing).

5. Serve and enjoy! (Serves 6)

Didn’t I tell you this was easy??  It also happens to be very delicious, filling, and relatively low cal!  Even though the whole thing is less than 400 calories, it is sure to please even the burliest of meat and potatoes lovers!

21 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Baked Potato

  1. Victoria says:

    I love Buffalo chicken everything, but this is the first time I’ve seen it in a potato! I’m a huge fan of potatoes, and buffalo chicken, so yeah, this is awesome. Also, that sentence just made my brain explode. Thanks. haha

  2. You are so entering this for BSI, right? Gosh this looks awesome! I need to make this, thanks!

  3. Roxan says:

    Haha, that is a crazy sentence. I got to about the third buffalo before giving up.
    I would not give up on this delicious baked potato though! it looks delicious. Perfect for superbowl weekend.

  4. My head hurts now, will need the dish to recuperate. Cool serving it in a potato!

  5. medmom says:

    Even I can cook this!! Sounds delish!!!!!!!!

  6. RavieNomNoms says:

    What a fabulous idea!! Top notch potato right there!

  7. Awesome idea! Got those firecracker wings with the stealthy heat-stealing tater. Lovely. My hubs would plow through this before I finished putting it together.

  8. Even the term Buffalo chicken is nice, let alone the actual dish. It’s brilliant you see, combing buffalo (red meat) and chicken in the name .. even though there’s no red meat in the actual dish.

  9. I think I`d have to top this with some blue cheese — which would take it from low to high cal — but that`s OK by me! Theresa

  10. Joanne says:

    You know, I’ve never actually heard buffalo used as a verb. Learn something new every day! These loaded baked potatoes sound fantastic!

  11. What a great combination! A stuffed potato with buffalo chicken. Sounds like a real crowd pleaser too.

  12. Mary says:

    This really is a terrific idea. I’m new to your blog and have just finished browsing through your earlier entries. I really like the food and recipes you feature here and will definitely be back. I hope you have a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

  13. What a fantastic idea! I love buffalo chicken and bet the potato does a good job at evening out the spice a bit, which would make me super pleased :) Good thinking on this one for sure!

  14. Kristen says:

    That sounds so delicious. I really should not read food blogs before breakfast. I end up eating the weirdest things at that meal!

  15. Reeni says:

    What a delicious idea for spicing up potatoes! I’m not a huge fan of spicy wings but this way I could love!

  16. That looks delicious! I’m always looking for easy crock pot recipes- especially ones that look this good!

  17. Monet says:

    So I also love buffalo chicken, and I love stuffed baked potatoes. Needless to say, this recipe made me very happy. Thank you for sharing, my blogging friend! I’m sending you wishes for a joyful and delicious week!

  18. Anonymous says:

    I tried this and it was amazing.. probably my husband’s favorite dish i have made him so far..so thank you! :)

  19. […] Find the recipe at danasfoodforthought.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

