Double Tomato Bruschetta

19

February 2, 2011 by Dana

I don’t get picky eaters.

I know that may sound strange, especially coming from a self proclaimed picky eater when it comes to meat.   But I’m not talking about picky eaters like me.

I’m talking about the other kind.

You know the ones.  The ones who call you up to make dinner plans and say that you should pick the place.  They’re open to anything.  They’d just like to avoid anything Indian.  Or Thai.  Japanese. Middle Eastern.  Greek.  Mexican. Or French.  Ok?

So you suggest that cute little Moroccan place up the block.… And they say that on any other day they’d love it.  But they’re just not in the mood for that today.

Yes, those are the kind of picky eaters I don’t get.  The real picky eaters.  Not people like me.  I can find something to eat no matter where I go.  I mean, every place has some sort of chicken dish…. right?

So when I was planning my 24×24 dinner party, I was a little nervous about the appetizers.  My fear was that someone would leave the party hungry.  (I sound like my grandma… it must be in the blood.)

Not that there was any lack of food.  I mean, I’m still eating leftovers from Saturday night and have more in my fridge.  But I was afraid that the real picky eaters wouldn’t be interested in trying what I was serving.

Between the Ful (mashed up fava beans), Kiopoolu (greenish looking eggplant dip), and Cheddar Ale dip (which wasn’t exactly the prettiest dish), I was afraid that those who weren’t willing to try strange looking new things, might be turned off before the main course was even served.

I knew that my fourth appetizer choice had to be something “regular.”  And when you live in NY, and 75% of your friends are Italian, and the other 25% are dating/married to someone Italian, “regular” means bruschetta.

Ingredients

6 roma (plum) tomatoes, chopped
1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes, packed in oil
3 cloves minced garlic
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1/4 cup fresh basil, stems removed
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 French baguette
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

Of course, I couldn’t make something too regular.  That would just be boring.  The addition of the sundried tomato and melted cheese makes this version from allrecipes.com a little more interesting than the norm.

Directions

1. Preheat the oven on broiler setting.

2. In a large bowl, combine the roma tomatoes, sun-dried tomatoes, garlic, olive oil, vinegar, basil, salt, and pepper. Allow the mixture to sit for 10 minutes.

.

3.  Cut the baguette into 3/4-inch slices. On a baking sheet, arrange the baguette slices in a single layer. Broil for 1 to 2 minutes, until slightly brown.

4. Divide the tomato mixture evenly over the baguette slices. Top the slices with mozzarella cheese.

5. Broil for 5 minutes, or until the cheese is melted.

I have to say, this is probably some of the best Bruschetta I’ve ever had, and definitely the best that I’ve ever made.  It was so easy and ridiculously delicious.  I can’t even imagine how good it will be in the summer, when tomatoes are actually in season!

19 thoughts on “Double Tomato Bruschetta

  1. Jason Phelps says:

    You can’t go wrong to Bruschetta. I’ll pull this out for parties when I am looking for something to please all kinds of guests.

    Jaosn

  2. Love Bruschetta! Looks incredible Dana! I don’t get those picky eaters either!

  3. I’m sure that even the pickiest eater would approve of the bruschetta- it looks delicious, (as did the rest of your dinner party menu.)Dreaming of summer tomatoes now! :)

  4. Monet says:

    I have made this exact recipe to rave reviews. These look just delicious, my friend. I hope you are warm and happy on this cold winter night. Sweet dreams and many blessings! And I just LOVE the new look of your blog :-)

  5. eizel says:

    I agree with those picky eaters – my bf and I always lament over places to eat because he’s exactly how you described…

    As far as feeding picky eaters at your party – well all of them will gush no matter what – your food looks fantastic!

  6. Boy I hope no guest inspired the picky eater rant lol. But yeah totally agree and know what your mean.

    Great bruschetta recipe

  7. Joanne says:

    Bruschetta is DEFINITELY a crowd pleaser. Always. All the time. And this sounds wonderful!

    I hate picky eaters also. My father being one of them. He hates all spices. ALl herbs. Anything with flavor. It’s rough.

  8. Liz says:

    Great idea using fresh and sundried tomatoes…especially with the look of the winter tomatoes in the grocery store. I’ll definitely make this one…thanks!

  9. This looks like an excellent appetizer! I’m keeping it for my next appetizer party! Thanks!

  10. My peeve lately is people who have been invited to my house and then complain that someone in their family won’t like the menu that I’ve planned. Seriously… as guest I believe that you should eat what is served.

  11. I with you–I’m convinced I can find something I’m willing to eat on any menu (even though I am a bit picky). There are some -really- picky eaters out there. The mix of fresh and sun-dried tomatoes sounds great here!

  12. Yummmm I love bruschetta! Great recipe. I like going for mozzarella slices instead of shredded. The addition of sundried tomato def sounds like a winner in my book!

  13. Faith says:

    I agree about picky eaters…and unfortunately for me, my hubby is one of them, lol! This looks fantastic though, sure to please even the pickiest person!

  14. Danelle says:

    I love good old Bruschetta. Never fails to be a crowd pleaser.

  15. biz319 says:

    I actually never thought to add sun dried tomatoes to bruscetta – yum!!

  16. Brushetta is always good, but I would have tried enjoyed everything else. :)

  17. KeepItSweet says:

    lol i know a few people who will only eat the basics and we can’t go out to any restaurant that doesn’t at least have a plain-ish chicken or pasta dish

  18. love the new look of the blog, dana! :)

  19. I bookmarked this recipe. I cant find a bruscetta recipe when my tomatoes are in season. Not sure why. It reminds me of summer, which I miss terribly right now.

Leave a Reply

