Foodbuzz 24×24: Astoria – Not Just Gyros

18

January 30, 2011 by Dana

Foodbuzz 24×24: Showcasing posts from 24 Foodbuzz Featured Publisher bloggers, the monthly Foodbuzz 24 highlights unique meals occurring around the globe during a 24-hour period. “From San Francisco to Sydney, Feast on it!”

I think by now, you know know me well enough to know that I love a good challenge.  From Project Food Blog to the New England Country Soup Challenge (which, by the way, you can still vote for!), I have shared enough glimpses of my competitive spirit that you would expect nothing less from me than to tackle every challenge presented to me, head on.

Naturally, when I received the email to apply for the January Foodbuzz 24×24, my competetive nature reared its ugly head.  At that moment, I knew that I would apply…  and do what it takes to get chosen.

My first thought was to host an apartment warming party.  Jake and I recently moved to a new place, and we had yet to have our friends over to break it in. But I knew that wasn’t enough.  Only 24 people would get chosen to participate.  In order to be one of them, I would have to do better than your standard housewarming.

I started thinking of unique angles.  A Mexican themed fiesta housewarming?  Been there.  A classy cocktail party?  Done that.  An ugly sweater housewarming?  That’s so cliche.

How about a Greek themed housewarming?  Afterall we do live in Astoria, Queens (aka Little Greece).  Now we were getting somewhere.

So I searched for Greek recipes and ideas. I did research about Astoria.  I had my whole menu and plan designed.  And just as I was researching the finishing touches of my idea, I learned that Astoria is actually very diverse.

That was the angle I needed.

………………………………………………………………………………….

Last night (party night!), guests were greeted at the door with the following menu and background info:

.

(menus designed by the lovely Jill Falcone)

Room Set-Up

Guests

Appetizers

Main Course

Dessert

18 thoughts on “Foodbuzz 24×24: Astoria – Not Just Gyros

  1. […] Me Foodbuzz 24×24: Astoria – Not Just Gyros […]

  2. i love Greek food and everything looks so elegant. I bet your guests were impressed.
    congratulation on being one of the 24 bloggers chosen by foodbuzz and congrats on the new house.

    have a wonderful week Dana

  3. Sandra says:

    Wonderful photos, and whole menu look so tasty! Nicely done!!!

  4. Victoria says:

    What a great idea!! You’re right, I didn’t realize there was so much diversity in Astoria, and I love how you were able to capture it! I’m moving to Astoria tomorrow actually, to stay with some friends until I find a job/apartment (still the nomad, haha), and we should definitely plan on getting together soon, maybe for some Greek food, maybe not :)

  5. What a great idea! I love it!

  6. What an awesome party to do a housewarming that celebrates your new hometown and its diversity! Looks like everyone was having a great time. Congrats on 24 x 24!

  7. January says:

    hi Dana! been so busy with work i didn’t realize you changed your blog design! it’s pretty and very pleasing to the eyes :) but the real reason i’m here is to congratulate you for getting chosen for 24×24! fabulous Greek food you’re making me hungry right now :)

  8. I dont know what to eat first these are by far my fav sandwich and the best I ever seen awesome job here!

  9. Reeni says:

    Everything looks wonderfully delicious! I wish I was one of the lucky guests! Your menu is adorable.

  10. Nice work here! I would have loved to come.

  11. […] As for the rest of you, check back later for a delicious recipe from my 24×24 Dinner Party! […]

  12. Maria says:

    As a born and bred Astorian, I know first hand that Astoria is a great melting pot of cultures/cuisines. It is definitely not just gyros … although the gyros there are good! Nice 24×24 event!

  13. Love the new look to the blog btw! And what a fun a ethnic feast. Love it. Congrats on doing the 24×24 challenge!

  14. Wow! what a great dinner idea/theme!

    Love the menus too!

  15. […] when I was planning my 24×24 dinner party, I was a little nervous about the appetizers.  My worst fear was that someone would leave the […]

  16. emiglia says:

    I’ll admit I had no idea Astoria was so diverse… and also say I wish I were at your party! Your menu sounds amazing, and I bet you had a blast!

  17. Courtney says:

    I love how you made such a wide variety of dishes and represented so many cuisines. This looks like it was one awesome dinner party! Congrats on getting chosen to do a 24×24!

Leave a Reply

