Hummus Deviled Eggs Recipe and MultiGrain Cheerios Giveaway!

45

January 27, 2011 by Dana

First thing’s first.  Let’s get the elephant in the room out of the way.  Not that it’s a bad elephant.  In fact, it’s a great elephant… like Dumbo!  Or Babar!

Anyway.

I changed my blog design.  And I love it!

A very special thanks to Sarah Early of Dodeline Design for putting up with me creating the design.  She was extremely easy to work with (aka she didn’t abandon me despite my annoyingly picky requests) and the whole process, from the time I first emailed her to the time the design was up and running, took less than two days.

And now, I will attempt to smoothly segue from my blog design to today’s giveaway:

New yellow background… yellow bananas… banana in cereal… Cheerios… MultiGrain Cheerios… MultiGrain Cheerios Giveaway!

There.  Ok, maybe not so much with the smooth part, but who cares?  It’s giveaway time!

I must say, I was very excited (maybe a little too excited) when My Blog Spark and Cheerios offered to send me and one of my readers a prizepack including a box of MultiGrain Cheerios cereal with an exclusive online code, a gym bag, water bottle and cereal container.

It may not seem like it judging by all of the cookies, bars, breads, and dips that I feature here, but I actually do practice eating well and living a healthy lifestyle.  I was looking forward to hosting a giveaway that reflects these values.

When my prizepack arrived, I didn’t even wait to get home to open it.  I opened the box right in the middle of my office and started pulling out the contents like a little kid.  Sometimes I act feel like a five year old.

I did exhibit some self control, and waited until I got home to go online and explore the MultiGrain Cheerios Biggest Loser website.  There I found a BMI calculator, a 7 Day plan, complete with recipes and daily workouts, and a motivations page, with tips and advice from The Biggest Loser trainers.

Of course, the first thing I did was scope out the recipes section.  I was glad to see there were some really tasty looking healthy options.  I opted to try out the Hummus Deviled eggs, which were extremely delicious and made a very satisfying lunch.

This picture is from the MultiGrain Cheerios website.  Unfortunately, the pictures I took looked disgusting, and definitely would not have not enticed you to try them.  But you should!  They were great!

Ingredients

2 cans chick peas (15 oz each), rinsed and drained
1/2 cup warm water
3 Tbsp fresh lime juice
1 Tbsp tahini
1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
1 Tbsp minced garlic
1 tsp salt
2 Tbsp chopped fresh cilantro (optional)
12 hard-boiled eggs, peeled
Paprika
Flat-leaf parsley

Directions

1.  For hummus, place chick peas, water, lime juice, tahini, cumin, salt, and garlic in food processor. Process until very smooth. Add 1 to 2 extra tablespoons of water, if necessary, to thin mixture. Transfer to bowl. Stir in cilantro.

2.  Cut each egg in half lengthwise and discard yolks.

3.  Fill each egg white shell with 1 heaping tablespoon of Creamy Hummus and sprinkle lightly with paprika. Top with parsley. Cover lightly with plastic wrap and refrigerate up to 1 day before serving.

In addition to trying out theirs, I also set out to create my own recipe utilizing the MultiGrain Cheerios.  And I did a pretty good job, if I do say so myself!

So now it’s your turn.  I definitely encourage you to go out and get yourself a box of MultiGrain Cheerios with the online access code.  There are some really great tips and recipes on the site, and the cheerios are great, too!

BUT, if you want to test your luck to win a box in the MultiGrain Cheerios prizepack, I encourage you to do that as well!

To enter this MultiGrain Cheerios giveaway, just leave a comment letting me know what you do to live a healthy lifestyle.

Optional: For those that want more chances to win, leave a separate comment for each of the following things that you do for one additional entry per comment:

  • Subscribe to Food for Thought by email
  • Subscribe to my RSS feed
  • Follow me on Twitter
  • Tweet the following:   @danacooks is hosting a #giveaway! #Win a MultiGrain Cheerios prize!  Check out http://wp.me/pW0Ec-Ms 4 more info! #myblogspark #mgcheerios

You may enter any time until Tuesday, February 1 at midnight.  Winners will be announced on Wednesday.  Good luck!

45 thoughts on “Hummus Deviled Eggs Recipe and MultiGrain Cheerios Giveaway!

  1. KeepItSweet says:

    I exercise regularly and try to incorporate a lot of fruits and vegetables into my diet

  2. coffee lover says:

    I exercise :)

  3. coffee lover says:

    I already subscribe to email

  4. coffee lover says:

    I already follow to RSS feed

  5. I think the eggs looks just fine!! And love that dessert.
    My one big healthy thing is training for half marathon. I log 20 miles per week between running and elliptical.

  6. Love the new design!
    I follow you by email.

  7. Roxan says:

    To maintain a healthy lifestyle I try to eat as much produce as possible and practice yoga 3 or 4 times a week! I hope I win!!! :)

  8. Heather Cox says:

    i exercise 4-5 times a week :)

  9. Raven In A Blue Room says:

    I try cutting back on junk food to live healthier
    Thank you for hosting this giveaway

    Louis
    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  10. Raven In A Blue Room says:

    I subscribed to your feed via google reader

    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  11. Raven In A Blue Room says:

    following you on twitter @left_the_stars

    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  12. Raven In A Blue Room says:

    I tweeted your giveaway

    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  13. Those devilled eggs look wonderful! I’m trying those for sure! I LOVE hummus! I’m quite sure I’d eat way too many of them though!

    I love using healthy ingredient to make good food, there is so much junk out there and I’m trying to avoid it! Thanks!

    Love the layout, I almost didn’t know who’s blog I was on for a minute!

  14. I subscribe by email, thanks!

  15. I practice yoga and always try to eat as many veggies as I can!
    I love the sounds of the hummus deviled eggs!

  16. Signed up for your RSS!

  17. And I’m following you on Twitter too =).

    I wake up early most days to exercise, and I do my best to eat a diet consisting of mostly minimally-processed, whole foods.

  18. Michelle says:

    Yay! Sarah mentioned that you contacted her and I have to agree that she is SO lovely! I try to keep a healthy lifestyle by cooking healthy, exercising daily and portion control. It has been working so far and I’m down 11 pounds this month!

  19. Michelle says:

    I obviously follow you on Twitter – @FunFearlessBean

  20. Hi again! I already follow you on Twitter and Foodbuzz, but just want to say that I love the idea of deviled eggs with hummus. And that cheerio cup you made looks delightful and something I think even my teenagers will love.

  21. Tes says:

    Dana, I love the new look of your blog :)
    I love being healthy… eat fresh and organic is what I’m doing :)

  22. I have definitely increased our fresh vegetable and fruit intake lately, to try to maintain a healthy lifestyle.
    I love the new design!

  23. I already follow you on twitter (@mels_kitchen) :)

  24. biz319 says:

    Love the hummus deviled eggs idea! I actually added spicy red pepper hummus to my pasta primavera I made for lunch – so good!

    Being diabetic, I check my blood sugar a minimum of 6 times a day to keep it in check!

    Happy Friday!

  25. ok…very cool idea replacing the yolk mixture in deviled eggs with a hummus mixture. I want to try this!!

    I am a WW. So everyday I make sure my diet includes ALL of the good health guidelines…which include fruits, veg, whole grains, dairy, healthy oils and lean proteins.

  26. I like your design and I love these eggs – huge fan of creative devil’s eggs

  27. I also shared on facebook

  28. Stephanie says:

    I try to eat all whole foods with lots of whole grains and veggies in my diet.

  29. Monet says:

    I work out everyday…and I eat a lot of fruits and veggies! I had a chance to sample some of these cheerios at my gym and they are so yummy! What a great giveaway, and what a great recipe. Oh…your blog layout looks great! Thanks for sharing, my friend!

  30. Muriel says:

    Found your blog through foodie blog roll and it is darling! Love the yellow stripes! I need to be healthier, your picture of the cheerio fruit parfait looks delicious! Will definitely be trying that soon.

  31. Karen says:

    I try to concentrate on fresh fruit and veggies and whole grains and keep the snacks down to a minimum. I am working on getting more exercise but it’s a tough one for me.

  32. The deviled eggs look so tasty! I am trying to eat more veggies, fruit, and wholegrain to keep a healthier life style!

  33. Karin says:

    try to walk every outside day

  34. xanthiagoddess says:

    I get CSA share so there are always fresh fruits and vegetables in the house to create meals around!

  35. Joanne says:

    Those deviled eggs sound fantastic! I’m not usually a fan but when they’re stuffed with hummus…heavenly.

    My favorite way to lead a healthy lifestyle is to eat fruit or veggies (or both) at every meal!

  36. Faith says:

    Love the look of your new site! The deviled eggs look fantatsic, brilliant use for chickpeas!

  37. Kristen says:

    I throw vegetables in as many things as I can when I make meals.

  38. Courtney says:

    I never considered using hummus for deviled eggs, and I can’t wait to try it!
    One way I try to stay healthy is to incorporate three vegetarian meals into my weekly meal plan. I’m also trying to add more fish.

  39. RavieNomNoms says:

    Those look really amazing! What a great idea!

  40. […] Mrs. Dana of Food for Thought, has a bunch of recipes and I even made hummus deviled eggs (but will talk about that later).  The quesadillas has a whole story behind them though and I […]

  41. […] Hummus Deviled Eggs Savory Parmesan Crusted French Toast (recipe […]

Leave a Reply

