Banana Nut Yogurt Parfait

13

January 22, 2011 by Dana


If you’ve been diligently following this blog, by now you know that my schedule is always packed.  You also know that I make lists… lots of them.  Of course, these lists include all of the things I have to do each day.

Now, what you don’t know, is that my to do lists are constantly changing.  I’m constantly adding items to the lists that are far more fun important.

For example, this past Thursday I had my list all ready.  After work I was planning to:

  • Pick Up Groceries
  • Go to yoga
  • Cook Dinner
  • Eat
  • Do laundry
  • Go to Bed

Instead, I:

  • Decided to build a makeshift light box to get better pictures at night
  • Went to Home Depot to pick up materials
  • Went to Michael’s craft store to pick up materials
  • Did a quick workout DVD
  • Ate leftovers at 9:00pm
  • Built the light box
  • Tested the light box
  • Went to bed far too late

I’m sure it’s easy to glean from this abandonment of all responsibility quick change of plans that I do not have any children.  Clearly this type of chaos flexibility could not exist if I did.

However, I do like children, and would like to have some.  One day.  Not today.

So I figure now is as good a time as any to add some kid friendly recipes to my repertoire.  Because today, by posting this very post, I will be entered into a pool to win a Frigidiare appliance!

…Just kidding!

Now don’t get me wrong, the chance to win an appliance doesn’t hurt… but the real reason this is important is because as a result of me posting this kid friendly recipe, Foodbuzz and Frigidaire will donate $50 to Save the Children to help provide nutritious snacks and promote healthier lifestyles for underprivileged children.

They will also provide an additional dollar for each person that joins the Frigidaire Kids’ Cooking Academy.  So if you’re a parent, and you want to find more kid friendly recipes, tips, and how-to videos, head on over and sign up.  Even if you’re not a parent and just want to check it out, go for it!

But first, try this easy and fun kid-friendly Banana Nut Yogurt Parfait recipe!

Ingredients

1/8 teaspoon  almond extract
1/8 teaspoon  cinnamon
1 teaspoon sugar
6 oz container nonfat Greek yogurt
1/2 cup  multigrain cheerios, divided
1 banana, sliced
cinnamon, for sprinkling

With all of these tasty and nutritious ingredients, this recipe will please parents and children alike.  I didn’t put any actual nuts (just the almond extract) in the recipe because I didn’t have any on hand, but if you do, feel free to layer them in as well.

Directions

1.  In a small bowl blend almond extract and sugar into yogurt.

2.  In the bottom of a parfait glass, regular glass, or glass bowl, place 1/4 cup of cheerios. Over the cheerios, layer 3 oz of yogurt and then 1/2 of the banana slices.  Repeat this layering pattern, using the remainder of the layering ingredients (cheerios, yogurt, banana).

3.  Lightly sprinkle with cinnamon and enjoy!

This recipe is really perfect for children of all ages.  Little ones may need adult assistance slicing the banana, but other than that, all of the steps are kid friendly.  Kids will definitely enjoy layering their own ingredients.  I’m not even a kid and I had fun with this project!

… Well, maybe I am a big kid at heart.

13 thoughts on “Banana Nut Yogurt Parfait

  1. Love the kid friendly. In fact any recipes with Cheerios is just fun in my opinion. Hope you’re having fun with the light box.

  2. Kocinera says:

    What a cool snack! I’d definitely love to munch on one of these parfaits after school. I love your to-do lists, too! Have fun with the light box!

  3. Lindsay says:

    I just had my husband make me a light for the very same reason, but I’m not using a box… sounds like a project for tomorrow!

  4. Joanne says:

    Your to-do and then actual-do lists look a lot like mine. I always have such good intentions…

    These parfaits look delicious! A kid would like them just as much as an adult!

  5. Faith says:

    Mmm, love yogurt parfaits! And I think I have everything for this one on hand… :)

  6. […] Food for Thought made a Banana Nut Yogurt Parfait – that’s one that Hannah will […]

  7. jodiemomo says:

    For someone who doesn’t have kids, you did really well coming up with a kid-friendly recipe. I like this recipe a lot! Your post also reminded me that I need to do a post for the Save the Children project too. Thanks!

  8. Reeni says:

    Your parfait looks delicious! And your pictures look beautiful with your light box! I have one but don’t use it – I can’t get used to it. I voted for you – good luck!

  9. RavieNomNoms says:

    Um….YUMMY! That looks so great! Some of my most favorite things going on in that parfait…deeeeelllissh!

  10. Tes says:

    What a delightful and healthy parfait, Dana! I just love the beautiful pictures which made me dream of eating it :)

  11. Amanda says:

    This looks SO yummy. I will be trying it soon! :)

  12. […] addition to trying out theirs, I also set out to create my own recipe utilizing the MultiGrain Cheerios.  And I did a pretty good job, if I do say so […]

  13. Looks very pretty and delicious. Nice presentation

Leave a Reply

