Ancho Chile Chicken and Hominy Stew

23

January 20, 2011 by Dana

You know those compatibility quizzes in Cosmo?  The ones that rate if you and your partner have the same preferences?  If you like the same things?  If you have the same tastes?

Sadly, I know that if I took one, Jake and I would get a big fat F.

Why?

Because I like it hot.  Like super hot.  Make you sweat hot.  Make you gasp hot.  I really like to spice things up.

And Jake?  Well, not so much.  He likes it more on the mild side.  He’s more of a traditionalist, if you will.  Content with the same bland things.

Um, excuse me.  Why are you snickering?  I’m talking about FOOD here.  Such dirty minds…

Anyway. As I was saying…  I really like spicy foods.  If it was up to me, I would put all types of peppers, pepper flakes, ground pepper, and hot sauce in my food.  But then Jake would probably break up with me.  Or be dead.  Either one.

So I try to compromise.  I make recipes that have just a little bit of kick to them.  Ones that he can handle without having his eyes tear, but still have enough spice for me.

Which is what I thought I was doing when I made this Ancho Chile Chicken and Hominy Stew adapted from My Bizzy Kitchen.  Granted there are four kinds of peppers in here… plus chili powder… paprika… cumin…

Ok, ok, so maybe I didn’t think it would be quite mild… but I didn’t think it would make my nose run!  Man, was this HOT!  I actually really liked the dish.  I might remove some of the seeds from the dried chilies next time, but for the most part, I could handle the heat.

Jake, on the other hand, came home with the ingredients for chicken parm the next night because he most definitely could not handle eating the leftovers.  I will give him credit, though; he did manage to eat the ¾ of the bowl on the first night as to not insult me :)

Ingredients

2 dried ancho chilie peppers
2 dried guajillo chilie peppers
1 tablespoon chili powder
2 teaspoons oregano
1 ½ teaspoons paprika
1 teaspoon ground cumin
½ teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 green pepper
1 red pepper
4 ounce can of green chilies
1 tablespoon minced garlic
4 cups chicken broth
2 cups diced tomatoes
1 lb chicken breast, cooked and shredded
2 cups hominy

Like I mentioned before, I would highly suggest that you remove some or all of the seeds from the dried peppers.  It’s your choice, but don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Directions

1. Put the dried chilies in 1 cup of hot water and let sit for 15 minutes.

2. Pour chilies and the hot water into a stock pot. Add chili powder, oregano, paprika, cumin, salt, olive oil, green pepper, red pepper, green chilies, garlic, chicken broth and diced tomatoes.

3. Simmer for 30 minutes, or until peppers are soft. Puree with immersion blender or by very carefully transferring to a blender and returning the puree to the pot.

4. Add chicken and hominy and simmer for 10 more minutes.

5. Garnish with radish, cilantro, Mexican cheese, sour cream, or other toppings of your choice.

Like I said, I liked this stew.  I would definitely recommend this recipe to anyone that likes strong spice in their food.  Jake would not recommended it to anyone.  You know your palate… It’s up to you!

23 thoughts on “Ancho Chile Chicken and Hominy Stew

  1. Yes! I love it spicy and this looks a pretty perfect match with me.

  2. biz319 says:

    It’s funny because when I say a dish is “kinda spicy” my husband says that he can’t take it seriously, because my kinda hot is his burning point!

    Glad you liked the extra kick – you may be able to add some sour cream to leftovers to tone it down a bit.

    Have a great day!

  3. nancycg56 says:

    Mr. Meat Eater would LOVE this ~ as long as a dish makes him sweat, he’s good with it, LOL! Me, not so much. I think I am going to try this and tone down the heat for me a bit. How were the leftovers? Great pics!!!

  4. Faith says:

    Looks like a really flavorful stew, but I think it would be a bit too hot for me…my hubby, on the other hand, would go crazy for it!

  5. Victoria says:

    I like spicy foods but I can’t handle them if they are TOO spicy. My sister will order “hot” curries while I opt for “medium” and am quite satisfied :) I’ve never had a hominy stew, but I looks good, minus some of the spice, haha!

  6. Jenna says:

    That’s so funny . . . most of the time, my husband and I have the same culinary likes and dislikes. But he used to make this Thai curry when we were in college that was WAY too spicy (and I like a good kick). It actually made me sick! So once we got married, I took over the curry responsibilities and I make it to my taste. =) He hasn’t complained yet, heh heh. I secretely wonder if it was too spicy for him, too, but he just didn’t want to admit it.

  7. RavieNomNoms says:

    I feel your pain! My boyfriend likes everything on the mild side and if it were up to me everything would be spicy! I love putting hot peppers on my eggs and pizza especially…and to me there is just no other way to eat chili or pasta sauce without a kick!

  8. Oooh steamy!! Love the innuendo for us of the dirty minds there. I like it spicy too so might have to try this one. Without the seeds. Lol

  9. Awww, now that is love quietly suffering for your better half. Always good to have a bottle of hot pepper sauce for you to add to anything, and of course treat yourself with great such dishes as this one once in a while.

  10. pup says:

    1.) I voted for you!! Good luck!!
    2.) the fellow and I are the same, if he goes near spicy food he starts sweating-he doesn’t even have to eat it!
    3.) this soup sounds delicious!!

  11. This looks so good, but I’d definitely have to cool it down some. We can’t handle much spice!

  12. My husband would love this! He is all about the spicy foods…and me? While this looks delicious, I’d definitely go for the chicken parm the next night rather than leftovers too :)

  13. Alisa says:

    My husband would love this, though I may have to remove some of the seeds. I voted for you :) Your recipes are delicious!

  14. Rhonda says:

    BTW, I voted for you! I’d probaby have to remove some of the seeds, like the spice but my iron stomach has gone by the way side :(

  15. Yummm lokks good! I am like you, I like things super spicy :)

  16. I love it hot :)
    PS. I keep voting for you!!

  17. Danelle says:

    This looks so hearty and yummy! And I’m good with “make your eyes water” kind of hot.

  18. Joanne says:

    I’m totallly like you…if I’m not crying from the heat, then it’s probably not hot enough lol. As a result, I know I’d ADORE this stew! It looks so delicious!

  19. I don’t really like spicy, but I’m sure I’d love this without some of the spice! Looks yummy!

  20. Wendy says:

    My mouth is totally watering now! YUM! Thanks for linking up to Tip Day Thursday.

    Wendy
    Around My Family Table

  21. Monet says:

    I adore spicy foods too…especially during the winter. I need the warmth on these cold nights! I am saving this recipe, and hopefully my Ryan will be able to handle it. If not, I know he’ll be a good trooper too. Thank you for sharing yet another delicious recipe. I hope you have a wonderful weekend…enjoy yourself and eat well!

  22. Kristen says:

    I would have to tone the spice down…I can just imagine how Hot that stew is!! I love the addition of the hominy. I really love the texture and taste of it.

  23. manfoodblog says:

    This sounds deliciously spicy.

Leave a Reply

