Rolo Cookies

20

January 14, 2011 by Dana

It’s amazing to me how the English language works.   How two little words, seemingly insignificant when alone, can make your heart flutter when they’re strung together.  How two meaningless strings of letters, combined, can make someone’s day.

Take the word (contraction?) “it’s.”  Say it to someone and they won’t have much of a reaction.  It could be the beginning of any number of thoughts, and is pretty much meaningless on its own.

And then the word “Friday.”  Just the name of a day.  One of seven in the week.  You’d be hard pressed to elicit any sort of reaction from someone by only saying “Friday” to them.

But now, let’s do a little experiment.  Find someone in your office that has a serious expression on their face.  Someone that’s concentrating really hard. Walk up to them, and simply say, “It’s Friday.”

Go on.  I’ll wait…

…Well, what happened?  They smiled, didn’t they?  They went from being a Serious Sally to a Happy Harry.  Or a Chatty Cathy.  They didn’t just keep staring at their computer and typing away, did they?  Nope.  Because IT”S FRIDAY :)

(Can you tell I’m looking forward to the weekend?)

Of course, it’s Friday isn’t the only word pair that can make the inner child in me want to jump for joy.  No, there’s a whole list of word combos that do it for me:

  • Ice cream. (no explanation necessary.)
  • Snow day. (or as in this week’s case, delayed opening…. either way, it means I get to sleep later.)
  • Shoe sale. (ohmygod. shoes.)
  • Island vacation. (margaritas in the sun = paradise.  period.)
  • And, most recently, Rolo Cookies.

That last one might not be on most people’s lists. Yet.  But try out this recipe, and I assure you, it will be.

Ingredients

1 cup sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup butter, softened
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 ½ cups all-purpose flour
¾ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
48 rolos or other chocolate covered caramel candies

This recipe, from The Messie Kitchen, was perfect as is, and for once, I didn’t make any changes to the original.

Directions

1. In a large bowl, cream together the white sugar, brown sugar, and butter until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Sift the flour, cocoa, and baking soda together and gradually stir into the creamed mixture. S-L-O-W-L-Y. Cover dough and chill for at least one hour. Meanwhile unwrap the candies.

2. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

3. With floured hands, wrap about 1 tablespoon of dough around each piece of candy, completely covering the candy. Roll each ball in the remaining tablespoon of white sugar. (see below for step by step)

4. Place 2 inches apart on an unprepared cookie sheet. Bake for 7 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven. Cookies should be set and slightly cracked.

I very slightly pushed down on the cookies with the bottom of a glass as soon as they came out of the oven, in order to flatten them out a little bit and make them look more like cookies and less like round balls.
Either way, they tasted delicious.  The caramel center of the rolos became an ooey gooey surprise inside the cookies.  These are best eaten straight out of the oven (just be careful not to burn yourself on the caramel!)  You can also heat them up for a few seconds in the microwave if they are not still hot.
Enjoy!


20 thoughts on “Rolo Cookies

  1. Yea! Friday! Finally. Cookies look awesome! Thanks!

  2. KeepItSweet says:

    Wow,I don’t remember the last time I had a rolo! I’d imagine they are awesome in cookies.

  3. I have started reading blogs for “dessert”. Zero calories but fun to see and read about amazing recipes. I used to eat a lot of Rolos. Just popped them in like popcorn.

  4. Veronica says:

    Oh, these look dangerous! I’m a cookie fanatic and I bet I could eat the entire batch. I bought some rolos, intending to make pretzel turtles with them, and my hubby and I ended up eating the entire bag in a week. So yeah. These cookies would be crack in my house.

  5. Are you serious?!?! I love a rolo!

  6. Melissa says:

    I LOVE Rolos! They were my all time favorite candy when I was a kid, and I still can’t resist them!

  7. I love Rolos! Perfect recipe! I will have to try them for sure!

  8. Joanne says:

    I love this post. It’s amazing how much of a visceral response two little words can elicit…how much power they can have. It’s Friday – two of my favorites when strung together.

    I love the sound of these cookies and that you bite into a delicious caramel surprise!

  9. Rolo cookies is a new fave word pairing, wow a rolo in each cookie! Love it!

  10. There’s only one way to make rollos better…put them in cookies! These look so delicious, yum!

  11. I love your step-by-step photos.

  12. Evan @swEEts says:

    OH how right you are.. “it’s Friday” is almost as good as Merry Christmas or Happy Birthday! :) These cookies look ridiculously good (another good combo! ha)

  13. cupcake says:

    Yummy! And super cute blog with great recipes!
    Cupcake
    http://www.thefamily-table.blogspot.com

  14. this looks so good! i love your step by step pics:)

  15. Karen says:

    yummo! So many of your recipes are tasty. I’d love for you to come link some of them up over at The Executive Mom. Every Thursday we host an easy recipe linky. We’d sure love to have you!
    http://www.theexecmom.com

  16. Alisa says:

    these rolo cookies look wonderful!

  17. i would jump with joy too after eating these cookies. they sounds delicious. love the chocolate surprise ;)

    Thanks for sharing Dana. sent you a friend request on FoodBuzz, hope you’ll accept it.

    Have a wonderful week,
    Roxana

  18. What a cute post:) I love the cookies, they look so delicious and soft.

  19. […] may seem weird to you, considering that I am clearly no stranger to making yummy sweets and baked goods.  But there is a method to my […]

Leave a Reply

