Chicken and Veggie Corn Chowder

22

December 25, 2010 by Dana

I have been on a pretty big soup kick lately.  Over the past few weeks, I have made Classic Chicken Soup, Ancho Pepper Hominy Soup, Kale and Tiny Meatball Soup, and, most recently, Chicken and Veggie Corn Chowder.

I would love to say that it’s because of the cold weather.  That I was satisfying a craving for something warm and comforting on these chilly days.  Or maybe that it was a coincidence.  I just happened to be in a soup frame of mind.  I’d even prefer to say that it was because I was sick, and needed some good old fashioned comfort food.

But none of those are the reasons for my soup making streak.  They would be too…. normal.

No, the logic behind my soup making tirade is that I had 320 ounces of chicken broth to get rid of.  Because I bought ten 32oz containers at the store last month.  Which were taking up too much of my cabinet space.

And why did I have 10 containers of broth, you ask?  Because I thought they were on sale.  But they weren’t.  And I had already asked the cashier so many questions about it that I thought it would be silly to put them back.

Well, I assure you, it was sillier to keep all of them.

The bright side is that it did result in some pretty tasty soup creations… especially the Chicken and Veggie Corn Chowder.  In fact, it was so good, that I entered it in the New England Country Soup Challenge.  You can find the recipe here… and while you’re there, vote for me!

If you really love me (and why wouldn’t you?) you can vote for me once per day every day until January 9….  That’s 16 chances to vote, so you have no excuse not to!

22 thoughts on “Chicken and Veggie Corn Chowder

  1. I’ve been doing the same thing, making a lot of soup. It reheats great and it’s always better the next day! This looks great, thanks!

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by FastFood Bob. FastFood Bob said: Chicken and Veggie Corn Chowder « Food for Thought http://bit.ly/eF58Wk […]

  3. Victoria says:

    I voted! That’s so funny that you bought all that broth because you thought it was on sale :) I’m glad you’ve been able to make tons of yummy soup with it. I personally love soup, and your soup creation looks delicious!

  4. Judy says:

    This soup sounds wonderful and I am in such a soup mood with this cold weather!

  5. My soup rages are rare but it is hard to turn down a good soup. Wow you pour thing with so many containers lol. How many left?

  6. Welcome back. I love the story of the 10 broth containers. This sounds like something I would totally do. But you turned them into such great soups. I voted!

  7. I really love the idea of this soup..sounds very comforting right now..thank you for sharing this and happy holidays:)

  8. Veronica says:

    Looks great–I voted for you!

  9. The soups sounds delicious! I voted and will continue to vote for you! I believe you can never have too much chicken broth in your cabinet. I use it for so many things that call for water. Hope you win! I will vote again every day!!!

  10. I’m on a huge soup kick too, It’s all I feel like eating lately! This looks delicious!

  11. Joanne says:

    Mmm soup sounds wonderful to me, especially because it is SO incredibly cold out! Off to vote! This soup sounds wonderful!

  12. I want to make soup today but I don’t have any chicken broth in my apartment right now! Wish we were neighbors and I can “borrow” some from you ;)

  13. I end up with that much chicken broth from a trip to costco! Whatever the reason for soup making, it looks like it turned out super tasty!

  14. Faith says:

    Your soup looks fantastic…and I’m a huge soup lover too! :) I’m heading over to vote now!

  15. Haha! I’m laughing just picturing the 10 containers of broth!!!

  16. Roxan says:

    320 oz of chicken broth? Isn’t that 16 pounds? that’s hilarious! I wish you the greatest of luck in using it all up ;] Perhaps you can freeze what you aren’t able to use right away? At least it is letting you get creative with you soups… this chowder looks amazing. And it’s perfect timing because it’s winter!

  17. Reeni says:

    I voted for you! Good luck! Your soup sounds insanely yummy and very comforting! A delicious way to use up all that stock.

  18. Monet says:

    I loved hearing your reason for making so much soup. I have a tendency to overbuy a certain ingredient…and then I have to get creative! This soup sounds delicious. Thank you for sharing this chowder with me. I hope you have a lovely week. I wish you and your family the happiest New Year!

  19. RavieNomNoms says:

    I love soup any time really. I don’t care if it is winter or not..haha. I actually just had corn chowder (chowdah) for lunch today and your addition of chicken would have really been good!

  20. Tes says:

    I’ve been craving only soup now a day. This sounds so simple to make and looks really comforting. I definitely make this :)

  21. Having that much broth in the cupboard would drive me crazy!!! Haha, I’ll vote! :)

  22. Nikki says:

    Great recipe. This is one of my favorite soups. Thanks for sharing. I’m glad you found Tasty Traditions and I hope to see you again!

Leave a Reply

