Spicy Chicken and Rice Crockpot Stew

23

October 14, 2010 by Dana

Variety is the spice of life.

Isn’t that how that saying goes?  You have to mix it up a little bit to keep things interesting.  Doing the same old things, eating the same old meals…. Boring!

Believe me; I am in no danger of getting bored anytime soon.  I have packed my days with so many different projects and activities, that I yearn to be bored.  I had a free weekend last week, so I squeezed in a weekend long garage sale with my mom.  Of course!  It’s not like I had school work to do, or errands to run (food shopping/cleaning/cooking – you name it), or ever need a minute to relax…

But if you’re not as crazy fortunate as me to pack your days so full that there’s no room for boredom, try out this Spicy Chicken and Rice Stew.  Add some spice to your life, both literally and figuratively.  Plus, it’s so super quick and easy, it’ll give you some time to cram something else into your day relax!

Ingredients

1 lb chicken breasts
1 chopped onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
10 ounce package frozen chopped spinach
2 cups chicken broth
¾ cup salsa, medium
1 small jalapeno, finely minced
2 tablespoons chili powder
½ teaspoon cayenne pepper
28 oz can diced tomatoes
1 bay leaf
¾ cup raw brown rice

The original recipe called for some sautéing and other prep before adding the ingredients to the crockpot.  I didn’t.  (What a rebel.)  What’s the point of that?  If I’m making something in the slow cooker, all I want to do is dice some stuff up and throw it in.  So that’s what I did.

Directions

1.  Add all ingredients to the crock pot.  (Frozen chicken and spinach are fine.) Cook on low for 6 hours.

2.  Remove the bay leaf and discard.

3.  Remove the chicken breasts from the mixture, and shred, using two forks to pull the meat in opposite directions.  (Be careful not to burn yourself.)

4.  Return the chicken to the stew, mix well, and enjoy!

That’s it!  Just a few very easy steps, and you have a warm, comforting, and spicy meal.  Try it out today, and add some spice to your life!

23 thoughts on “Spicy Chicken and Rice Crockpot Stew

  1. Faith says:

    This sounds comforting and flavorful…and I love crockpot meals! Coming home to this at the end of a long day would be fantastic!

  2. Veronica says:

    I feel you, honey! I feel like I need an entire month with nothing scheduled just so I can catch up on everything (namely, the house–it’s begging for a proper organizing/cleaning inside and out) that has been put on the back burner while I’m doing more important things. Like you, I schedule things when I have free time and totally bring it on myself! Well, this crockpot stew sounds amazing and really it would be perfect for a busy day since you can leave it to cook in the crockpot while you’re working/at school/running errands. Thanks for the recipe.

  3. RavieNomNoms says:

    ooo the spicy chicken looks awesome! By the way, I selected you for these questions that help others get to know you and your blog better! Hope you can play along with this little game.

    http://ravienomnoms.wordpress.com/2010/10/14/tag-youre-it/

    Raven

  4. Michelle says:

    This looks super easy and super hearty. I will definitely be making a kitchen sink variation of this sometime soon!

  5. I gotta do this this week, I have not used my crockpot in a bit and this is easy but yummy. I know what you mean about scheds! Looks great!

  6. Awesome recipe! I love using my crockpot!

    However, I am unfamiliar with one of the terms you used. Relax? What does that mean? Never heard of it.

  7. I can’t wait to bust out my crockpot!!

  8. this looks so good :) im going to give this a try soon. thank you for sharings

  9. Love the simplicity of crockpot cooking. Wish I had this at home waiting for me tonight after work.

  10. Monet says:

    You and me both! I’m doing WAY too much right now. But I am always looking for more variety in my food. We get stuck in the same boring dinner rut pretty quickly! Thank you for this spicy, flavorful stew. I just wish it would cool down a bit more in Austin…then I would be all over sitting down to a big steaming bowl of soup!

  11. pup says:

    This looks great! The fellow is buying me a crockpot for my birthday!! I will have to try this out!!

  12. Susan says:

    I have it simmering right now :)

  13. Reeni says:

    This looks like a delicious way for me to use my new crock pot! The perfect fall stew – so hearty and comforting. I’m liking the spice too.

  14. Jen Cheung says:

    looks like a delicious meal u got there!! YUUMMS

    have a lovely weekend!
    jen @ http://www.passion4food.ca

  15. Matt Kay says:

    I totally get this >>> cram something else into my day.

    But that’s why we have really comforting, tasty, spicy, one pot meals. I’m going to have some of the leftover easy soup that I made tonight. Seems to be in the air. ;D

  16. Joanne says:

    I try to keep myself busy as much as possible as well (I mean, obviously that’s why I blog!) and variety is always nice. This crockpot meal sounds delicious. Especially for those of us who just want to come home sometimes to an already-cooked meal!

  17. Kocinera says:

    This sounds fantastic! Nothing like a spicy, hearty stew to warm you up as fall rolls around. Yum!

  18. January says:

    i love this recipe dana! spicy chicken and rice blend well together. i’d love to give this a try but can you suggest something to replace rice? i’m a certified rice eater but i’m joining a semi-“biggest loser” contest among my friends so i’m cutting down on it :)

    • hi Jan! if you want to skip rice, I would think couscous or quinoa would be good replacements…. but there’s really not that much rice in this whole recipe. I made 4 servings out of this, so each one had less than a 1/4 cup of rice. Each serving was really hearty and filling, and had less than 400 calories for the whole meal!

  19. sophia says:

    I could always use more crockpot recipes!! I just love coming home or waking up to the lovely aroma of cooked food. I don’t have brown rice, but white rice should do! And…tons of hot sauce! hee hee.

  20. This looks great! So simple but yummy :)

  21. Megan says:

    Thanks for the recipe! I want to use rice in the crockpot but also don’t like prep work beforehand.

    Quick tip– I have read that frozen meat should NOT be used in the crockpot as the meat’s temperature hovers at bacteria-growing levels for too long. I have always thawed mine beforehand just to be safe.

Leave a Reply

