Crockpot Applesauce

18

October 1, 2010 by Dana

Last weekend, Jake and I went to an apple orchard in upstate NY with some friends.  After a fun day of wine tasting and apple picking, we left with a huge bag of apples… and a few bottles of wine.

When we got home, I put the bag of apples on the counter.  As I stared at the bag, my mind started churning with questions.  What am I going to do with all these apples?  There are only two of us!  How can I possibly use all of them??  There have to be over fifty apples in that bag!

Well, I was right.  There were over fifty apples.  Fifty-six, to be exact.  Fifty-six.  I know.  I counted.

Immediately, I began scouring the internet for apple recipes.  From that point on, we would be eating apples creations morning noon and night.  Literally.

For brunch, I made an Apple Cheddar Frittata  (from Martha… delicious as expected… but the photos were not quite blog-worthy).  Dinner was Apple Butternut Squash Soup (which was ok… nothing special… not worth posting).  And, of course, I made the obligatory apple dessert.

I found a great sounding recipe for Apple Confit on Eating Well.  As soon as I saw it, I knew I had to make it.  A healthy apple dessert with a few simple ingredients?  Sounds like the perfect recipe!

Ingredients

3 pounds firm cooking/baking apples
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Now, if you notice, the title of this post is Crockpot Applesauce, not Apple Confit.  If you do want apple confit, follow the directions below, but be sure to cut the apples into larger chunks.  The thin apple slices cooked down so much in only two hours, that as soon as I stirred them, they broke down into a sauce, instead of a chunky dessert.

Directions

1.  Peel the apples and slice 1/4 inch thick. (You should have about 9 cups.)

2.  Place the apples in a 4-quart or larger slow cooker. Add sugar and cinnamon, and toss to coat well.

3.  Cover and cook until the apples are very tender and almost translucent, but not pureed, 2 to 2 1/2 hours on high or 4 to 4 1/2 hours on low. Stir in vanilla. Transfer to a bowl and let cool slightly. Cover and refrigerate until chilled.

While not what I had originally intended to make, this Crockpot Applesauce was delicious!  It made a great snack and dessert.  Make it for your family today, and you won’t be disappointed.  But don’t expect it to last too long… it was so delicious that Jake and I couldn’t stop finding excuses to eat some!  Good thing I have a few more apples left ;)

18 thoughts on “Crockpot Applesauce

  1. Monet says:

    I don’t know if I’ve ever seen applesauce look this appetizing! I love how applesauce tastes, but I must admit that it isn’t always the prettiest thing to look at. You proved me wrong! I can’t wait to give this a try. I just need to find a few bags of apples!

  2. Veronica says:

    Making a crockpot applesauce has long been on my to-do list! A friend at work gave me a bite of hers and I was blown away by the incredible flavor. Applesauce has always been boring and bland to me, but that’s because I’ve never made my own. Thanks for sharing the recipe and story!

  3. Joanne says:

    Haha I love how you dress up the name by calling it apple confit! Sounds delicious either way!

  4. Victoria says:

    Even if it didn’t turn out as expected, sometimes it can be better! I haven’t made applesauce in what seems like a million years. I think you made a good choice for your apple usage :) That will also keep longer, I’d imagine than the fresh apples!

  5. Reeni says:

    Homemade applesauce is the best! Love that it’s made in the crockpot.

  6. I might be heading to the apple orchard this weekend and I have a crockpot! :)

  7. nutmegnanny says:

    Delicious! I also went apple picking last weekend. I guess great minds think alike because I made applesauce too :)

  8. Faith says:

    Apple picking is one of my favorite things to do this time of year! Looks like you totally hit the jackpot with this recipe — delicious!

  9. Making apple sauce has been something I always wanted to do and never got around to doing it! This looks awesome. I know it tastes very good! Great post. I am gonna have to make this and soon! ;) Thanks

  10. This is a great idea. We were given a great load of apples the other day and now I have something to do with them! Thanks for sharing.

  11. I think there is nothing better than homemade applesauce. I love the simplicity of making it in the crockpot! Now I just need to find as many apples as you had… :)

  12. Elisabeth says:

    If I make this delish crockpot applesauce, the scary part about it is…I can never go back to Mott’s, which is a family favorite. Thanks for sharing!

  13. Michelle says:

    I made slow cooker applesauce last year and it was SO easy! I can’t wait to go apple picking this month to make it again!

  14. jana says:

    mmm. i know you didn’t make apple butter, but this post makes me want to do that. :)

  15. I think silly putty was created through a similar accident! Sometimes these things just work out!

    Don’t you just LOVE apple picking???

  16. I always make applesauce in the crockpot! I just made some last week and will make more next week! Thanks!

  17. Sara says:

    My Crockpot is like a friend to me. I rely on it for so many of my favorite dishes. This sounds so good to me that I mentioned this recipe on my latest post…

  18. This looks so good. My kids eat applesauce often. They would love this recipe. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,134 other followers

