Malted Milk Ball Cookies

26

September 10, 2010 by Dana

Like so many little girls, I was obsessed with Disney Princess movies when I was younger.  The Little Mermaid was released just after my fourth birthday, and, of course, I just had to see it.  My cousin Liz, who was seventeen at the time, was nice enough to take me to the movie theater to see Ariel’s story on the big screen.  I thought I was so cool.

I sat through the whole movie, and just two minutes before the end, I turned to Liz.  “I have to pee.”

“Can you hold it for a few minutes more minutes?”

“No.”

And that was that.  You don’t test things like bladder control with other people’s four year olds.

So she ran me out to the bathroom, put me in the stall, and told me she would be standing right outside the bathroom door.  She figured that she could at least see the last few minutes of the move through the window of the theater door, even if she couldn’t actually be in the theater.

Well, apparently I didn’t hear her say she would be right outside.  And apparently I got scared.  Because not even 30 seconds later, I ran out of the bathroom looking for Liz.  Crying.  With my pants around my ankles.

I guess it made quite the impact on Liz, because not one family gathering goes by when this story isn’t retold.  I actually don’t remember it happening, but it’s one of those stories that I’ve heard so many times that I feel like I remember.

What I do remember about that day is that Liz let me get my choice of candy.  And my choice was Whoppers.  I guess I have a selective memory.

Ingredients

¾ cup butter, softened
¾ cup brown sugar, firmly packed
¾ cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 ½ tsp vanilla extract
2 cups all purpose flour
1 cup quick-cooking oats
1 tsp baking soda
¾ tsp salt
2 cups malted milk balls (Whoppers), coarsely chopped

This recipe, from Sprinkled with Flour, immediately appealed to me because of the Whoppers.  I hadn’t had them in years, and the idea of making chewy cookies out of them seemed like the perfect excuse to buy a box.  I measured out two cups, put them in a large plastic bag, and chopped them up using a meat tenderizer.  I may have snacked on the extras while the cookies were baking.

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350F.

2.  In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugars together at medium speed until creamy.  Add the eggs and vanilla, mixing until blended.

3.  In a separate, medium sized bowl, combine the flour, oats, baking soda, and salt.  Gradually add the flour mixture to the butter mixture, mixing well.  Stir in the chopped malted milk balls.

4.  Drop batter by tablespoons onto an ungreased baking sheet. Bake 8-10 minutes, depending on how crisp you like your cookies.  Let cool for 1 minute, then transfer cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

I was really happy with the way these cookies turned out.  Be sure not to over bake them, because they will get crispy.  The ones I baked for only 8 minutes came out the best.  They were very chewy, which, to me, is the most important criteria for determining a good cookie, and had the faintest taste of malted milk and chocolate.  Yum!

26 thoughts on “Malted Milk Ball Cookies

  1. Michelle says:

    I love Whoppers and haven’t eaten one in maybe a decade? These cookies sound fantastic!

  2. Veronica says:

    I think I was 8 or 9 when Little Mermaid came out and I became obsessed with it! It was my favorite Disney movie until I was in my twenties. Not sure what it is now, maybe Emporer’s New Groove. So many good ones, it’s hard to choose. Anyway, I loved Ariel’s hair and started dying mine red in middle school and didn’t stop until I graduated and realized red hair looks kind of funny matched with black eyebrows–LOL!

  3. Veronica says:

    LOve the story about you coming out of the bathroom with your pants down–we all have those stories, don’t we? ha!

  4. RavieNomNoms says:

    oooo yummy cookies!!

  5. Yes, please! Those look so good…I love cookies so much that my brother-in-law’s nickname for me is Cookie, but I rarely ever bake up a batch ;)!

  6. Mmmm. Those look great! Have you tried the Strawberries & Cream Whoppers? Totally awesome. Wonder if they’d be good in a cookie?

    I was also more of an Alice in Wonderland fan in terms of Disney movies…

    Thanks for sharing the recipe and story!

  7. Katerina says:

    I have some stories like this from my childhood some of them hilarious. Your cookies look delicious especially for children.

  8. I agree, you don’t test ANYONE’s bladder, ever.

    I love malted milk balls. Here in Brazil they make the most awesome malted milkshake. I want to try out your recipe as soon as I get back to the U.S.

  9. I haven’t had whoppers in a LONG time!! I love how the middles melt in your mouth! Yum! I’ll bet the cookies are rockin! Thanks!

  10. jana says:

    do you find the melted meringues in the whoppers to become very sticky when baked?

    • The middle of the whopper just sort of melted into the batter, so there wasn’t a crunch like the inside of the candy has, but the flavor was there. They weren’t sticky though. The cookies were just gooey, like they should be.

  11. Faith says:

    What a great story! The Little Mermaid holds a special place for me too, it’s always been my favorite Disney movie. ;) The cookies look amazing!

  12. biz319 says:

    That makes me feel so old – my daughter absolutely LOVED that movie – when it was out on video she would beg to watch it at least once a day – for months! I’d try to suggest other movies, to no avail!

    I am pretty sure I could sing any song from that movie!

    And you cookies look amazing!

  13. gigabiting says:

    Whoppers are one of my secret pleasures. Great recipe.

  14. Those cookies 9love malt balls) is almost as good as that story! OMG, too funny.

  15. Joy says:

    I have stories like that and all my family members loves to retell them. I love whoppers! Great recipe.

  16. Monet says:

    This post went straight to my heart! The Little Mermaid was the first movie I went to in the theater, and my mom had to take me out early because I was too scared of Ursula to sit through the whole thing. And of course, I love malt balls. And who wouldn’t want them in a warm and chewy cookie?

  17. Aaaah I haven’t had whoppers in years!! I want to make some of these cookies ASAP!

  18. These look and sound incredible Dana! I love malted milk balls too! I am going to try these soon for sure! Yummm…

  19. Kristen says:

    Well, I might just as well be getting fit for my false teeth and walker after reading how young you were when Little Mermaid came out. You should probably be thankful you don’t remember that happening…being pantsless in a movie theater lobby is the thing of nightmares!

    Those cookies sound great. I love the flavor of malted milk in added to baked goods. And I agree, chewy cookies are the best!

  20. Too funny! My sister always missed parts of Disney movies for potty breaks :) These cookies sound amazing! Malted milk balls are my favorite candy in my Easter basket, but I rarely eat them at any other time of year!

  21. Joanne says:

    Haha I love how the 17 year old in this story was the one vying to see the end of the little mermaid. Don’t you just love family gatherings and all the fun stories that are told?

    These cookies sound fantastic. I love that malted flavor!

  22. I’m so glad you tried these cookies! They are a favorite of mine, I love the chewiness that the malt balls add:)

  23. Sara says:

    You are a woman after my heart. I seriously do not make enough cookies. What other candy-inspired cookies do you make?

  24. […] few months ago, after a string of posting one delicious baked good after another, I received the following IM from my cousin, […]

Leave a Reply

