Grilled Pizza and Project Food Blog

27

September 3, 2010 by Dana

Today I have an exciting announcement to make!  In addition to balancing full time work, grad school, my family, my boyfriend, some semblance of a social life, and (of course) blogging, I’ve decided to add one more feat to my juggling act…. I am entering as a contestant in the inaugural Project Food Blog contest!

I will be competing against thousands of other Foodbuzz Featured Publishers in a series of culinary blogging challenges for a shot at $10,000 and a special feature on Foodbuzz.com for one year!  The reason I’m letting you all know this is because I’m going to need your help.  In order to move on in each round of the competition, I will need your votes!

Of course, I will always let you know which of my posts are Project Food Blog posts, and how/when to vote.  The challenges will begin in a few weeks, so keep your eyes peeled.  (No need to fret… I will pester remind you to vote when the time comes).

In the meantime, check out my contestant profile by clicking on the Project Food Blog icon to the right –>

Because I am obviously a glutton for punishment will be stretched pretty thin in the coming months, I am going to need a few shortcuts.  And really, who doesn’t need a shortcut every once in a while?

For a homemade tasting, fresh out of the oven (er… grill) pizza, with little-to-no prep time, try this fun grilled pizza “recipe” when you’re short on free time:

Ingredients

1 or 2 balls of pizza dough from local pizza shop
2 cups pizza sauce from local pizza shop
1 package pre-sliced or shredded mozzarella cheese
desired pizza toppings
olive oil

For this grilled pizza, make sure any toppings that you choose are pre-cooked/prepared or can be grilled while you grill your crust.  There is not enough time for anything to really cook once you add it to the pizza.  If you look, you can see my sliced zucchini grilling to the side of the crust in the pics below :)

Directions

1.  On a large baking pan, liberally oil each ball of dough with olive oil using your hands.  You cannot over oil the dough, so be generous.  Stretch the dough out into a crust with even thickness (shape isn’t as important), adding more oil if the dough feels too dry.  Dough should be stretched thin, but not so thin that it tears when you hold it.

2.  Oil the grill very well and set to high heat.  Once preheated, carefully drape the stretched crust onto the grill.  Keep lid open so you can monitor the dough.  When it begins to puff/bubble, flip the dough over (it should be easy to handle at this point).

3.  Once flipped, spoon sauce onto crust and add cheese and any desired toppings.  Lower the heat to medium and close the grill lid.  Let pizza cook for at least 5 minutes.  You’ll know it’s ready when cheese is fully melted and begins to bubble.

This pizza is super tasty and requires such little preparation.  It is the perfect dinner when you’re stretched for time/sanity and want something comforting, easy, and delicious.  You may not use all of the sauce if you are only making one pizza.  We used our extra sauce for dipping, but it can also easily be frozen for the next time you decide to enjoy some grilled pizza!

27 thoughts on “Grilled Pizza and Project Food Blog

  1. Megan says:

    Good luck and I LOVE the pizza!

  2. I need that pizza!!!!
    I’ll vote for you and you can vote for me, ok? :)

  3. The pizza looks great! I haven’t ever grilled a pizza but it sounds awesome!

  4. Chef Dennis says:

    I have never grilled pizza, it is something I must try! Good luck with the food buzz challenge and try to enjoy some of your labor day weekend!

  5. Katerina says:

    Good luck to you. I will be following.

  6. I want to bake some pizza for the weekend!
    Good luck with the contest!

    Angie

  7. RavieNomNoms says:

    Yum Yum Yum!! I love grilled pizza!

  8. alison says:

    so delicious,i must to try this recipe!

  9. I have yet to try to venture out and make a grilled pizza yet, this one does look yummy, though!

  10. Faith says:

    I NEED to try grilled pizza! It looks incredible. Good luck with the contest!

  11. Monet says:

    Good luck on the contest! What a great prize, huh? Is there anything better than grilled pizza? I think not. In fact, your post is making me want to go out and make one for dinner tonight. Just too good to pass up!

  12. I am entering too…also asking for mutual votes he he

  13. Anna says:

    Oh Dear, talking about bite more then we can chew. I have two blogs to tend, and many, many other tasks and also will compete for the foodbuzz challenges. God help us, LOL.
    I also use some short cuts sometimes. And they work just fine. The pickle here is I live in one neighborhood that has no pizza place to get the dough. But I always improvise with some puffy pastry dough and it’s yummy too. Good Luck in the challenges we will need loads of votes. I’ll vote for you too. Have a great weekend.

  14. Reeni says:

    I am going to have some stiff competition! I am in it too and am already so busy…I feel frazzled just thinking about it. I have yet to try grilling pizza – looks delicious!

  15. Grilled pizza is one of my all-time favorites. Yours looks delicious! Good luck in the contest :)

  16. Joanne says:

    I’m in the process of signing up to be a featured publisher just so that I can enter Project Food Blog! As if I need one more thing to occupy my time these days…lol. Hopefully it will all get processed in time so that I can participate. If not, there’s always next year!

    Oh this grilled pizza looks delicious!

  17. Kori says:

    YUM…I LOVE grilled pizza too! We’ve been making homemade dough in the breadmaker (so easy) and just using fresh tomato slices, basil and mozzarella for a margarita pie…so good! Good luck with Project Food Blog :)

  18. Love pizza on the grill! Best of luck to you!!

  19. Melissa says:

    I love grilled pizza! We eat have it at least once a week in the summer, yum!
    Good luck in PFB!

  20. Kristen says:

    Even though that contest hasn’t even started, I have contemplated backing out. It’s going to be nuts….best of luck!!

  21. newlywed says:

    Wish we had a grill…this looks great! Good luck!

  22. Magda says:

    I’ve never had grilled pizza but I’d really love to try. Good luck on project food blog, I’m also taking part but I don’t think I’m gonna treat it seriously since my blog is just 2 months old and I don’t have enough readers to vote on me. But still I’m doing it just for fun.

  23. Magda says:

    Btw I read ur project foodbuz profile and I understand your concern with pictures. I learned to take better pictures in the daylight. I never take my pictures after dark but I know how hard it might be when you work full time and have so much on your head, sometimes it’s just impossible to cook during day. Fortunately there are weekends and I always do half of my cooking on the weekend so I can take pictures during day.

  24. Brilliant idea of making grilled pizza! I never seen like that before. Good luck for the PFB2010

  25. […] you’ve been diligently following this blog, by now you know that my schedule is always packed.  You also know that I make lists… lots of them.  Of course, these lists include all of the […]

  26. Kori says:

    Grilled pizza is one of my favorite foods! Reading your post makes me hungry for it… Better make it again soon I guess ;)

Leave a Reply

