Spicy Two Bean Chili

18

September 1, 2010 by Dana

When I was younger, checking the mail was an exciting event.  There was always the possibility that there was something in there for me.  Whether it was a letter from a family member, an invitation to a party, or a birthday card, if there was something addressed to me, I knew it was something good.

Nowadays, the excitement is pretty much gone from checking the mail.  Bills and junk mail just don’t do it for me.  Sorry Publisher’s Clearing House… you’ll just have to give that million to some other schmuck.

I have to admit, though, I do still love to receive packages.  Not that most of them are a surprise – they’re usually not.  But there is still something fun about cutting open a box and digging through the packaging for my “prize.” It brings me back to feeling like that little girl peering hopefully into the mailbox.

Last night I was lucky enough to come home to two packages!  The first was my very first textbook for my MBA program (which I’m starting tonight!!), and the second was a mandolin slicer, which I bought with the CSN gift certificate that I won from Sprinkled with Flour!

Since I am super impatient was excited about using my new kitchen gadget, I decided to make a dish that needed some slicing/chopping.  I made Spicy Two Bean Chili, based on this recipe from Simply Recipes.

Ingredients

½ pound very lean ground beef
2 onions, sliced
1 jalapeno pepper, seeds removed, sliced
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon olive oil
28 oz can of diced tomatoes
15 oz can low sodium kidney beans, drained and rinsed
15 oz low sodium black beans, drained and rinsed
2 tablespoons tomato paste
¾ cup chicken broth
2 tablespoons chili powder
1 tablespoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon hot red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon oregano
1 tablespoon salt
½ teaspoon ground black pepper

Feel free to substitute the ground beef with ground turkey or chicken, another type of bean of your choosing, or omit altogether.  The chili has enough flavor and substance from the two kinds of beans, that it really is not necessary.

Directions

1.  In a small sauté pan, brown ground beef.  Transfer the cooked beef to a strainer and rinse very well.  Set aside.

2. In a large (8 quart) pot, heat olive oil and cook the onion and jalapeno over medium high heat, stirring, until golden, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic, chili powder, cumin, and red pepper flakes and cook, stirring, for a minute or two more.

3.  Add the diced tomatoes, tomato paste, chicken stock, beans, oregano, salt, pepper, and ground beef. Bring mixture to a simmer and reduce heat to low. Simmer, uncovered, for an hour.

4. Salt to taste and serve with garnishes of your choosing (ideas: shredded cheddar cheese, chopped red onion, sour cream, over rice, corn bread).

Serves 4

This chili recipe is fantastic!  The chili came out so flavorful and delicious that we were thrilled to have leftovers for a second night. Try this out today… I’m sure your family will be wishing for leftovers, too!

Warning:  this is more than a little spicy.  If you are not a fan of a lot of heat, use only ½ of the jalapeno, or reduce the amount of chili powder.

18 thoughts on “Spicy Two Bean Chili

  1. RavieNomNoms says:

    Your chili looks absolutely beautiful and delicious! I love getting packages too! hehe, it is almost like a present…that you paid for haha

  2. Katerina says:

    I love Mexican food. It is always a winner in our home. Great recipe!

  3. I love getting packages too! Mandolins are fabulous too, as long as you keep your fingers intact! Great chili and good luck with day 1 of your MBA.

  4. Faith says:

    Great looking chili! I love getting packages in the mail too! (And I love using new kitchen gadgets even more. ;) )

  5. JodieMo says:

    Nice chili! I love beans, even if they don’t love me. ;)
    I won a CSN prize too! I think what you bought is better than what I bought though.

  6. Veronica says:

    Looks fabulous! Man, I so want a Mandoline–for now it’s just me and the chef’s knife.

  7. Yay! I love packages. Especially kitchen-related ones. Have fun with the slicer!

  8. Danelle says:

    Yum! Now I am really looking forward to chili weather.

  9. I’m so glad you were able to find something cool to use your gift certificate on! I just bought a mandolin and absolutely love it:) I can’t believe all of the things I can do with it!

  10. Joanne says:

    Good luck with starting your MBA! That’s quite an undertaking.

    This chili sounds fantastic…I love a little spice in my life.

  11. I love chili, my husband loves spice. Sounds like a perfect combo for your chili! Congrats on the new gadget and also the new text book. I got part way through my MBA, then got married… that was it for me! Good for you!

  12. Debbie says:

    Yum, fall always makes me crave chili…we definitely don’t have the cold weather here so maybe it just football season that makes me want chili! I love trying out new chili recipes to find out the best combo, thanks!

    And I definitely understand how you feel being impatient to try a new gadget!

  13. Love Chili season and yours look very very delicious.

  14. Michelle says:

    Although it is WAY too hot for me to think about making chili, this will be a great recipe for those cold winter months!

  15. Monet says:

    I also love getting packages…since I’ve moved, I’ve been receiving quite a few from home, which has been lovely! This chili also looks delicious. I can’t wait for colder days and warm bowls of beans!

  16. Anna says:

    Mandolin looks pretty cool, loved your chili. Looks delicious.

  17. I so love chili!! I can’t believe I haven’t made it for a long time, my next one might just be this one. It sounds great!

    I SO want one of those mandolins!!

  18. Looks good! I haven’t made chili in a while and can’t wait to try out new recipes like this.

Leave a Reply

