Honey Garlic Chicken

24

August 25, 2010 by Dana

I’m baaaaaack… I hope you all didn’t miss me too much :)

Thanks to everyone that wished me a fun trip!  I had an awesome time celebrating at my girlfriend’s bachelorette party in Las Vegas.  We had such a blast… I don’t think we stopped dancing for more than five minutes straight!

This silly picture pretty much sums up the weekend’s antics:

But as much fun as the weekend was, it wasn’t exactly a healthy eating weekend.  So for dinner last night I wanted something relatively healthy and easy.  I grabbed some chicken breasts from the fridge and immediately thought of the Honey Garlic Chicken recipe that I had wanted to try ever since I saw it on I Love. Therefore, I Cook.

Ingredients

1-2 lbs chicken pieces
¼ cup honey
¼ cup lemon juice
1/8 cup water
2 tablespoons ketchup
1 ½ teaspoon garlic powder
½ teaspoon garlic salt
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 dash of pepper

This recipe is super easy to make, and the actual prep time is fast other than the time that chicken is marinating.  You can use whatever kind of chicken you prefer: bone in/out, skin on/off, breasts, thighs….. It’s your choice!  Just be sure to adjust the cooking time accordingly.

Directions

1.  Combine all ingredients other than chicken in a medium sized sauce pan.  Bring mixture to a boil and simmer for 5 minutes. Remove sauce pan from heat and let cool.  Pour mixture over the chicken and marinate in the refrigerator for about 2 hours before cooking.

2.  Preheat oven to 350° F.  Transfer chicken pieces to a glass baking dish, and pour remaining marinade over chicken.

3.  If you are using boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cook chicken for 7 minutes then flip over.  Bake for another 6-8 minutes (keep an eye on it to make sure it doesn’t dry out), and remove from heat.  Let chicken rest for about 5 minutes before slicing on the diagonal and serving.  (Other types of chicken will need to cook for longer.  Bake until juices run clear and inside is no longer pink.)

This recipe was so easy to make and very tasty.  The chicken remains moist because of the marinade, and the flavor is delicious!  I paired this chicken with a Warm Bulgur and Asparagus Salad (keep an eye out for this recipe next week) for the simple and healthy meal I was craving!

**PS. Don’t forget that tomorrow is the last day to enter my Pillsbury Sweet Moments Giveaway!!

24 thoughts on “Honey Garlic Chicken

  1. Looks like a fantastic marinade! Thanks!!

  2. Welcome back! Vegas is awesome, I got married there!
    The chicken looks delicious! I may try it tonight, just have to see how much chicken I have!

  3. steff says:

    oooh. i’m gonna have to give this a try. glad you had a good trip! :-D

  4. Welcome back! So glad you had fun in Vegas. We always have fun there and “pig out” at our fave BBQ place.
    Thanks for the great marinade!

  5. Sara says:

    Of course we missed you! I need to work on my meal planning. If I were better at it, then I could do more marinades. I’m guilty of “waiting and seeing what I feel like” before shopping or cooking. Bad habit, I tell ya.

  6. FitMamaEats says:

    I’ll bet this would taste great cold served on a salad. Thanks!!

  7. Faith says:

    I’m glad you had a great trip! This looks like an amazing meal to come back to!

  8. thella says:

    i’m glad you liked the honey garlic chicken recipe :) i never thought of serving it the way you did and just went large-scale with a huge mass of chicken :P and i also used a turbo-broiler. your re-creation is wonderful and this time around, i’ll be the one to try it! :) thanks!

  9. Anne says:

    This marinade has a great flavor combination! Chicken is my go-to after less than healthy eating, since it’s so light. This looks like a perfect healthy meal :)

  10. Katerina says:

    This chicken looks so easy and tender. I am sure it tastes great!

  11. NICE GLASSES! ;-) And nice recipe too, I like fun marinades.

  12. Yum, that sounds so good. I’m so bad about marinating meat! I’m not sure why I don’t do it…?

  13. I am making this tonight! I will let you know how it goes!

  14. pup says:

    This sounds absolutely amazing!!

  15. I made it last night and it was delicious! I used chicken thighs, they were in the freezer awhile so I thought I should use them. I will try with boneless breasts next time! So easy!

  16. Tes says:

    I am going to make this tomorrow. My family is going to love this. But I am thinking of using minced fresh garlic though..

  17. heb2010 says:

    Garlic…check!
    Honey…check!
    Chicken…check!

    I’m making this tonight. It sounds delish!
    Holly

  18. This looks so easy and delicious- thanks!

  19. Kristen says:

    This sounds like a great chicken recipe. I love easy peasy recipes. Your bulgar asparagus salad sounds yummy, too. I will look forward to reading about it!

  20. Reeni says:

    What a delicious chicken recipe! Love the sweet and savory combo. And I’m glad you had fun – you’re so cute!

Leave a Reply

