Nutella Gooey Butter Cookies

39

August 17, 2010 by Dana

I am a list maker.  I make lists for everything in my life: to do lists, places to go lists, things to buy lists, people to see lists, and lists of lists I have to make.  I make mental lists, physical lists, lists in notebooks, lists on post-its, and lists on backs of envelopes.  Seriously, without lists I would get nothing done.  I would probably be jobless. Even homeless.  Or worse, I would be wondering around the supermarket wondering what to make for dinner.  The horror.

As anyone who makes ridiculous amounts of lists knows, the best part about making lists is crossing things off of them.  The sense of accomplishment you get from marking something off of a list is remarkable.  It’s sick, really, the joy that I get from that one little line.

Since I am clearly obsessed with food write a food blog, it should come as no surprise that many of my lists are food related: grocery lists, ingredient lists, weekly meal plan lists, party menu lists, and, of course, the ridiculously long list of recipes to try.  This list is massive, people.  I’m talking hundreds of recipes that I want to try, with constant additions and new items.  Imagine how amazing it feels to cross something off of this monster list!


Here’s the problem:  Every time I make something great, I get requests to make it again.  So when we were going to a friend’s dinner party this weekend, Jake requested that I make those delicious Smores Cookies I had made a while back.  Again.  Again!? I am never going to finish that list to begin with!  How will I even come close if I make Smores Cookies every time I need to make a dessert? How will I cross anything off??

I suggested making cupcakes, or a fruity dessert, or cake, or another kind of cookie.  But he wanted Smores Cookies.  So I went to the store and came back with the ingredients… for Nutella Cookies.

I knew I had to bring out the big guns for this.  I needed to make a cookie that would make him forget about the Smores Cookies, and these Nutella Gooey Butter Cookies fit that bill perfectly.

Ingredients

1 box chocolate cake mix
8 oz cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup Nutella (add more if you like)
sugar, for rolling

When I saw this recipe on Plain Chicken, I knew it would be amazing.  Nutella, cream cheese, chocolate, and butter… what more could a girl ask for from a cookie?

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2.  In a large bowl, cream the cream cheese and butter until smooth with an electric mixer. Add the egg. Then beat in the Nutella and vanilla extract. Mix in the cake mix. Cover and refrigerate for 2 hours to firm up so that you can roll the batter into balls.

3.  Roll the chilled batter into tablespoon sized balls, and then roll each ball in sugar.

4.  Place on a parchment lined cookie sheet. Bake 12-14 minutes. The cookies will remain soft.

Yields 36 cookies.

These cookies came out so amazing!  They are super chocolatey, with just a hint of Nutella flavor.  The texture is very soft and gooey (so soft, that they may break apart a little).  They kept very well in the refrigerator…. not that they were around for long.

Oh, and by the way, even Jake, who only wanted Smores Cookies, said they were very good and that I should make them again.  Another one crossed off the list :)

39 thoughts on “Nutella Gooey Butter Cookies

  1. Woah, This looks easy enough. I was looking for a cake mix cookie yesterday to make. I think I will try this one.

  2. Susan says:

    Oh, that’s funny, my famiy also likes repeats of cookies, but my daughter insists on trying new ones, too :)

  3. Danelle says:

    I saw this recipe on Plain Chicken too, and it’s on my list as well. But now so are the S’mores cookies.

  4. Evan @swEEts says:

    So simple, but so delicious looking! I love making cookies out of cake mix they’re always so lovely.. And I’m with you…I have a list of recipes to try that may take me my whole life to get through! But I’ll keep going until I can’t bake anymore! :)

  5. CC Recipe says:

    A gooey Nutella cookie sounds fab!

  6. I can’t express how much I love nutella, I probably could eat whole jar at one sitting.

  7. Jason Phelps says:

    Dangerous. Might be making these for the work crew for Thursday. Should make some friends…

    Jason

  8. I would put this one on my list!

  9. Claudia says:

    Nobody in their right mind would turn down those Nutella cookies. The only prolem – is people are now going to ask you to make them. Again. And again. Ahh, the life of a flavor food blogger. And now the Nutella cookie is on my list!

  10. Stacy says:

    OMG!!! Those sound sooooo good! I second what Magda said about Nutella. I LOVE it! I can eat it right out of the jar, which is why I don’t usually buy it, but might have to try to make this recipe one day…unless you want to make it for us when you’re here ;)

  11. I make lists for everything too. Adding this to my recipe list :) I love Nutella…it would make an awesome cookie!

  12. I’m a lister too–I learned it from my mom. They’re all over the kitchen (hers) and my dresser (mine). And I definitely have that recipe list that just needs to dwindle.

    Anyway, OMG NUTELLA GOOEY BUTTER COOKIES. I LOVE GOOEY BUTTER COOKIES. The addition of Nutella is…wow. Just wow. Excuse me while I wipe the drool off of my keyboard.

  13. Kristen says:

    These are amazing cookies. I can see why you wanted to make them. I am glad they were good enough to match the s’more cookies!

  14. You are talking my language with these cookies!!

  15. I love nutella, I bet these are great. I like how you went with what you wanted to make. My husband is always trying to get me to make the same chocolate cake, but I like variety :)

  16. Reeni says:

    Nutella makes me swoon! These are positively sinful! I am a list-maker too – have special little notebooks for different lists and post-its and calendars…

  17. O.M.G. I just stumbled upon your blog and I am so happy I did! I am also a compulsive list maker so I am glad to find someone just like me! Second, these nutella cookies look ridiculously good. THANK YOU for sharing the recipe!

  18. Tes says:

    Wow this sounds really yummy! I love peanut butter cookies. Definitely gonna try this recipe soon :)

  19. Monet says:

    I adore nutella…and of course, I adore cookies…so I know that this would be a favorite in my book! Thanks for sharing!

  20. Cookies look so gooey amazing.

    OMG I can sooooo relate to the list thing. You described me to a T. I have 2 lists on my desk at work right now. Same with recipes I have so many to-do recipes I made a page on my blog to list them…publicly ;-)

  21. Oups…2 more comments…
    -no the lists are not even work related lol
    -and yes the yellow flowers are where the tomatoes will come.

  22. I know what you mean both about being a list maker and not getting anything crossed off my to do list. We need more hours in the day, thats all. :) And as far as the Nutella, I am a huge Nutella fan and your cookies make me want Nutella loaded on a spoon, right now. Love the post.

  23. MaryMoh says:

    These cookies look really pretty and delicious. Love those cracked looks. Would make a great tea time for me :D Thanks very much for sharing.

  24. I love the cracked tops! They look fantastic!

  25. Jason Phelps says:

    I just made these last night, so good!

    Thank You

    Jason

  26. Rick says:

    You had me at nutella!

  27. Veronica says:

    I saw your submission to BSI and had to come check the recipe! I have made the gooey butter cookies without Nutella and although they didn’t meet my high standards, everyone that ate them LOVED them. I imagine they would be even better with Nutella! Great idea. Yours was my favorite BSI submission, by the way. :)

  28. Kocinera says:

    I’m so with you on the list-making! From grocery lists, to recipe lists, to just an everyday to-do list, lists keep my life in order (most of the time). :D

  29. […] blog, by now you know that my schedule is always packed.  You also know that I make lists… lots of them.  Of course, these lists include all of the things I have to do each […]

  30. beautyrun says:

    I AM MAKING THIS RECIPE! You should see my recipes pages:
    [I’m still working on this page] http://beautyrun.wordpress.com/my-cookbook/
    AND http://beautyrun.wordpress.com/healthy-recipes-junk-food-makeover/

  31. […] few months ago, after a string of posting one delicious baked good after another, I received the following IM from my cousin, […]

  32. […] So, when Jake called me on my way home from a work dinner on Monday night, and said “That potpie stuff that you left for me was literally the best thing you have ever made, hands down, and that includes the Smores Cookies!  It. is. so. good.” I knew I had found “the one”.  I mean, we all know how Jake feels about those cookies. […]

  33. […] I’ve been inspired to write a list of goals. (I do love my lists.)  And since it’s not the New Year or my Birthday, and I’m certainly not patient […]

  34. […] all of my list making and such, it probably won’t surprise you to know that I am a planner.  Not having a plan makes […]

Leave a Reply

