Curry and Mango Chutney Dip

12

August 10, 2010 by Dana

The first time I tried curry was during my freshman year spring break.   My girlfriends and I were visiting one of the girls’ family in a cute little suburb in Holland.  The first night we were there, my friend’s aunt made us some curry chicken for dinner before we headed to a club Amsterdam with a bunch of her cousins and their friends.

We had a blast at the club, dancing and drinking these blue mystery drinks all night.  Unfortunately, at the end of the night I got sick.  I was sure that I got sick from the curry chicken.  I insisted.  So for a couple of months, whenever anyone suggested getting Indian food, I would decline, saying that I was allergic to curry.

Well, it’s time for me to publicly admit that I may have been wrong (shocking, I know, but it does happen from time to time).  The sugary blue vodka/curaco/god-knows-what-else-was-in-them drinks may have been the culprits that evening.

Now I LOVE Indian food!  And I love this super easy and amazing tasting dip, which features Indian flavors!  Thankfully, I have never had quite the same reaction to “curry” again.


Ingredients

1 cup sour cream
1/3 cup mango chutney
1 tsp. curry powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper

Ready for the directions?… even the “non-cookers” out there can handle this:

Directions

In a small serving bowl, stir together all ingredients until well blended. Chill until ready to serve. Enjoy!

That’s all!  This dip is so ridiculously easy, and it was a total hit with my friends a few weeks ago.  It is super versatile and can be served with just about anything.  I served it with cut up veggies, chips and crackers.  Everyone really enjoyed it, and there was none left over at the end of the day.  Try it today and let me know how you like to serve it!


12 thoughts on “Curry and Mango Chutney Dip

  1. Kristen says:

    That sounds like a great dip. Curry powder is so good in so many things. I am glad you aren’t really allergic to it!!

  2. Reeni says:

    The dip looks delicious! I’m glad you gave it another try!

  3. It looks so simple. I have become more intrigued by Indian flavors and foods as well.

  4. Did someone say dip?? I pretty much love any sort of dip, this looks positively wonderful!! I would be unable to control myself, I’m sure. I’ll keep this recipe for when there are more around! Thanks!

  5. Tes says:

    It looks really simple and yet flavourful. I think it’s gonna be amazing with some chips :)

  6. Yum indeed. I make a curry-chicken-soup that is a favorite in cooler weather. I never would have thought of making a dip with it though! Great idea.

  7. Evan @swEEts says:

    So simple! I actually have some mango chutney left over in my fridge that may have to be incorporated into this..

  8. Wow, this does sound so good. I always say I don’t like Indian food because I don’t like curry. Honestly, I’ve never had curry so I can’t say I don’t like it. I am going to try this recipe for sure! Thanks for the post on my site too!

  9. That sounds wonderful! I just bought some new curry powder too!

  10. Sara says:

    You make me laugh. I have a good friend from college who still claims to be allergic to shrimp, even though we all know it’s not true.

    Your curry and mango chutney dip is screaming my name. I have weak spot for dip AND for curry.

  11. I love Indian food and mango chutney when well dosed. This is a great simple recipe. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

