Tomato and Grilled Zucchini Salad

13

August 6, 2010 by Dana

I have a confession to make:  Before this week, I had never grilled anything on the barbecue by myself.  I know, I know.  It’s pathetic.  But, in my defense, I have always been intimately involved in the grilling process.  I always plan what we’re eating, get everything prepared, marinate and season the meat, cut the veggies, etc.  I just don’t actually do the grilling.

Not to worry; I am also always sure to tell the person grilling the right way to grill.  Raise the flame. Lower the heat.  Check on the meat. Stop opening the lid.  You’re letting all the heat out. Leave it on a little longer.  I think it’s done. I’m like a backseat griller.  It’s endearing.  Just ask Jake.

But Wednesday night, Jake was running late and I was getting impatient hungry.  So I got everything ready, and went down to the grills. I threw on a turkey burger for myself, a regular burger for Jake, and a bunch of zucchini for the Tomato and Grilled Zucchini Salad.  I totally winged it, and when everything looked done, I piled it onto a few paper plates and carried my bounty back to my apartment.

I made it off the rooftop, up the elevator, down the hall, and right to my door before I dropped everything on the floor.  Luckily, everything landed on a plate.  Except Jake’s burger.  Sorry hunny!

Ingredients

2-3 oz feta cheese
4 zucchini
4 tomatoes
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon dried dill
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1 teaspoon fresh parsley, minced

I was inspired to make this salad after seeing this recipe on Kaylin’s Kitchen and also by the beautiful colors of tomatoes I saw at the farmers market.  I didn’t have Kaylin’s recipe in front of me, so this is my version.  The colorful tomatoes make for a fun and vibrant salad.

Directions

1. Cut zucchini in half lengthwise, and then again, making four spears out of each zucchini.  Add the zucchini to a large ziplock bag, along with olive oil, oregano, dill, thyme, and parsley.  Shake well so that each spear is coated evenly with spices.

2.  Cut tomatoes into bite sized pieces and add to medium bowl.  Add balsamic vinegar and toss to coat.  Set aside.

3.  On a very hot grill (mine read about 450°F) cook zucchini 3 minutes on each side.  Remove from heat, and let cool a bit before slicing into 1 inch long pieces. (Be careful not to burn your fingers!)  Add zucchini and feta to tomatoes and toss well.  Enjoy!

This salad is the perfect summer side salad.  It is so light and fresh tasting.  The spices from the zucchini mix with the tomatoes to make a delicious dressing without adding a lot of extra ingredients.  I enjoyed it equally warm right off the grill, and cold the next day.  Let us know how you like it!

PS. Don’t forget to enter my giveaway!  Contest ends Sunday at midnight!!

13 thoughts on “Tomato and Grilled Zucchini Salad

  1. Katherine says:

    This looks yummy! And I’ve never been the griller either, just the food preparer and the “girly cook,” as my friend Emily tells me. She does the manly cooking, I stay in the kitchen. :)

  2. Tes says:

    It looks really fresh and healthy! I love all those herbs in the recipe make it sounds so flavourful and delicious.

  3. Hey, I am a backside griller too! I don’t actually GRILL myself. I don’t even know how to turn it on now that I think about it!! This looks awesome, thanks!! LOVE the zucchini!

  4. Reeni says:

    How delicious with the feta – a nice touch! I wing it when I grill too – and pray a lot!

  5. I LOVE to grill! My husband put in a big, fancy grill when we did the backyard and he used it for about a week. Then I got impatient and did a few myself. Now it is MY grill! Zucchini is a frequent guest on our grates along with asparagus. Love the salad you put together, we will use it next week!

  6. Katerina says:

    I love the flavors and the ingredients. Very summery.

  7. Joanne says:

    I’m not much of a griller either but I have no problem instructing my father. It doesn’t help that he likes all his meat WAY overcooked!

    I love grilled salads like this!

  8. Ha, I have never operated a grill, either. But in my defense it is always being hogged by the men in my family, the women never even get that chance! Someday, I will blow them away though…

  9. Magda says:

    Looks yummy, I’m a salad monster and grilled veggie salad is one of my favorite.

  10. Magda says:

    Btw at my home I’m the major cook and the major griller, even though I don’t eat meat I’m still the one that takes care of the sausages and churrasco. Thanks to that I don’t have to ask anyone to find a place on the grill for my eggplant or zucchini, I’m the master and I put them whenever and wherever I want to :P

  11. Love grilled zucchini..never tried it on salad! Yum!

Leave a Reply

