Corn Chowder

6

July 28, 2010 by Dana

When I was in college, after a night of partying studying, I would always order the same thing from the dining hall: a hummus wrap with tomato and whatever creamy soup they had that day.  To this day, I still crave that meal whenever I’m hungover exhausted from… ahem… studying.

It was always a good day when the soup being offered was corn chowder.  There is just something comforting about a hot creamy corn soup.  Sadly, I actually don’t think that I’ve had corn chowder since I’ve graduated.  Now that I’m older and wiser (obviously from all the studying), I know that eating a big bowl of heavy cream soup whenever I crave it is not the healthiest option.

So when I saw this recipe on Opera Girl Cooks, I knew I had to try it.  A creamy corn soup without the heavy cream and fat?  Yes, please!  I did make a few tweaks to the recipe to make it even more guilt free, but the basic premise is the same.

Ingredients

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium yellow onion, diced
¾ teaspoon kosher salt
3 tablespoons yellow cornmeal
2 cups skim milk
4 tablespoons fat free half and half
1 cup chicken broth
16oz golden new potatoes, diced
One 15oz can of corn kernels

The original recipe called for corn cut off of the cob, but in an effort to save time and pots/utensils to clean, I used canned corn.  I also substituted skim milk for the whole milk, and added some fat free half and half (liquid, not powder) to thicken the broth.

Directions

1.  In a medium saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium flame.  Add the onion, and salt.  Sauté until onion is soft and translucent.

2.  Add the cornmeal, milk, half and half, chicken broth, potatoes, and corn to the saucepan. Simmer for 15 minutes.

3.  Ladle soup into bowls, and enjoy!

Surprisingly, this soup tasted exactly like the corn chowder I remembered from the dining hall!  It was so comforting and delicious.  It was filling enough to eat for dinner, and made about 3 servings.  I think next time I make this (and there definitely WILL be a next time), I will add some shredded chicken for protein to make more of a balanced meal.  Try this corn chowder next time you crave some creamy comforting soup!

6 thoughts on “Corn Chowder

  1. Wow, thanks for trying my recipe! I’m glad you enjoyed it, and it is great to know that skim milk works well, too.

  2. Nicole says:

    I cannot wait to try this one out! I haven’t had creamy corn chowder since lunch at the Union our sophmore year!

  3. Joanne says:

    Guilt free creamy corny deliciousness? Sign me up.

    God the things I ate in college. Why did I think double stuffed oreos were healthy, again?

  4. LOVE corn chowder! This looks scrumptious! I don’t care how warm it is outside, I could totally use some of this! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

