Strawberry, Feta, and Spinach Salad

4

July 27, 2010 by Dana

For some reason, I have a real issue scheduling my weekends.  I try to cram in so much that I don’t have time to finish everything I need/want to do.  I end up forgetting how long things take to do/not taking weekend traffic into account/promising to be in two places at one time/forgetting that I’m human and need to relax every once in a while, etc.

So a few Sunday afternoons ago, when I looked at my “to do” list for that weekend, I realized that there was no way I was going to finish everything on that list.  I decided to pick out two last items to conquer and just concentrate on those.  I chose to exercise and to go to Costco.  And then it came to me:  I would walk to Costco!  Two birds.  One stone… Brilliant!

I laced up my sneakers, grabbed my backpack, set the playlist on my iPod, and ventured out into the wild unknown.  (Ok, maybe Queens isn’t quite the wild unknown, but I’m using some poetic license.  It has a nice ring to it, no?)

The two mile walk to Costco took me about 30 minutes.  When I got there, I felt good.  It was a beautiful day, my endorphins were flowing, and who doesn’t like a trip to Costco?  It’s like a supersized wonderland for adults.  And then it hit me, as quickly as my brilliant idea to walk to Costco, if everything is supersized, how am I going to get it back…?

I decided I needed to be selective.  I scoured the store for the perfect items that would fit into my backpack, but also be practical.  A seemingly lifetime supply of salsa for $4.99 sounds like a great buy… but is it the right choice?  And then I smelled them: fresh strawberries.  I knew that I needed to get them.

And I was right.  They were so sweet and fresh that I used them in just about everything that week., including this simple summer Strawberry, Feta, and Spinach Salad.

Ingredients

One 10 oz. bag of baby spinach leaves
2 heaping cups strawberries
4oz crumbled feta cheese (I used reduced fat, but any type will work)
2 Tablespoons olive oil
2 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar
¼ teaspoon black pepper

Directions

1.  Rinse spinach and remove stems and any wilted pieces from the leaves.  Add spinach to a large serving bowl.

2.  Rinse and remove green stems from strawberries.  Cut strawberries into quarters, and layer strawberry pieces on top of spinach leaves.  Evenly sprinkle feta cheese on top of strawberry pieces.

3.  In a small bowl, whisk together olive oil, balsamic vinegar and black pepper.  Lightly drizzle the dressing on top of feta layer.  Serve additional dressing alongside the salad.

This salad is so simple, pretty and most importantly, delicious!  It’s the perfect addition to bring to any barbecue, and would pair well as a side dish with almost any main course.  Try it this summer while strawberries are still in season for a delicious and healthy treat!

4 thoughts on “Strawberry, Feta, and Spinach Salad

  1. Susan says:

    Sound delicious!! I love salads!!!

  2. the_rob_bot says:

    appetizing photos

  3. Kori says:

    I love making a salad just like this, except I use goat cheese instead of feta. Sounds delicious though!

Leave a Reply

