Sweet Potato Burritos

Leave a comment

July 13, 2010 by Dana

When I saw this recipe for Sweet Potato Burritos on I’m Losing It Here (great blog name, right?), I knew I wanted to try it.  So I added it to my ever-growing, ever-unorganized “Recipes to Try” list, which is filled with more meals than I could possibly make in a year.

To be honest, I thought this would be one of those recipes that I made “someday.” Not to say it didn’t look good, because it definitely did, but I had a feeling that when I mentioned it to Jake he would ask his standard “where’s the meat?” and the idea would be nixed.  Of course I could just make it for myself and leave Jake to fend for himself for dinner, but apparently I’ve inherited the “food = love” philosophy from my grandma…  And I could always make it for myself and make him something more… meaty… but even those that love to cook don’t want to get home from work and have to make two different meals.

So when I casually mentioned that I was thinking of making these for dinner at some point, I fully expected him to make a face or to have to try to convince him that meat is not a requirement for a well rounded dinner (beans are protein, too!).  But, to my surprise, without any hesitation or convincing on my part, he said they sounded…. great! Not even good, great!!

I bought the ingredients right away and made these healthy and tasty Sweet Potato Burritos for dinner the next night, so he wouldn’t have any time to change his mind… and I’m glad I did!

Ingredients

1.5 tsp vegetable oil
.5 medium onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
15 oz can of kidney beans, drained
1 cups water
1.5 TBSP chili powder
1 tsp ground cumin
2 tsp prepared mustard
pinch of cayenne pepper
1.5 TBSP soy sauce
2 small sweet potato
4 10-inch flour tortillas, warmed
½ cup shredded Mexican mix cheese

As you can see above, I halved the recipe and used only 4 tortillas to hold all of the stuffing.  I made four very stuffed burritos (one burrito was one serving) and served some mexicorn on the side.

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2.  To make the bean mixture, heat the oil in a medium skillet, and saute onions and garlic until soft. Add beans and mash well.  Gradually stir in water, and heat until thick and warm. Remove mixture from heat and stir in chili powder, cumin, mustard, cayenne pepper and soy sauce.

3.  Divide bean mixture, mashed sweet potatoes, and cheese evenly between the warm tortillas; place next to the lower edge. Fold bottom edge up, fold in sides and fold/roll over again to close. Bake for 12 minutes in the oven and serve immediately.

These burritos came out really well.  Baking them at the end helps keep them together and keeps the filling from falling out all over the place.  It is so effective, that from now on, I will be using this method for all burritos and other “wrapped” foods.

The burritos are very spicy and flavorful, and are pretty filling.  For those of you that aren’t as willing to try a vegetarian burrito as Jake (admittedly shockingly) was, they would taste great with some shredded chicken or ground meat as well.

Leave a Reply

