Chicken Spinach Strudel

4

July 7, 2010 by Dana

If you’ve been keeping up with my posts, you know that last week’s attempt at working with phyllo dough for the first time did not quite work out as planned.  The fact that I was able to salvage the ingredients and create a yummy new dip did not help ease the feeling that I had been outmaneuvered by a pastry product.

I mean, I’m part Greek, people… I should have been born knowing how to make spanikopita and baklava.  I should be a phyllo pro!  But instead, I kept opening the fridge and seeing the phyllo sheets staring back at me.  I’m pretty sure I could hear them mocking me every time I closed the refrigerator door…  I decided to shut them up once and for all.

I sifted through countless recipes until I came across one recipe that piqued my interest.  Chicken Mushroom Strudel…. sounds interesting, right?  I thought so, but I wanted something a little lighter, and I knew Jake wouldn’t go for the mushrooms.  So I made a few revisions and came up with a lighter version of Chicken Spinach Strudel.

Ingredients

1/2 tablespoon olive oil
5 oz fresh spinach
1 onion
6 cloves garlic
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon dried dill
salt and pepper, to taste
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
1 teaspoon dried parsley
1/2 cups light sour cream
2 eggs
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
6 sheets phyllo pastry

If you don’t have phyllo sheets snickering at you in your fridge, I’m sure this recipe would work just as well with puff pastry dough or biscuit dough for a more calzone-like result.  Just adjust the baking time as necessary.

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 395°F.  Grease baking sheet, or line with parchment paper.

2.  In large skillet, heat 1/2 tablespoon olive oil on medium heat. Sauté onion, garlic, dill, lemon juice, parsley, salt and pepper for about 6 minutes, or until the onion and garlic are translucent. Add spinach and chicken. Cook until spinach is wilted. Let cool to room temperature.

3.  In a medium size bowl, whisk together sour cream and eggs.  Toss with chicken mixture until well coated.

4.  Lightly brush one sheet of phyllo dough with olive oil on both sides. Top with remaining 4 sheets, brushing each sheet with the oil.

5.  Spread the filling across the length of the pastry, leaving a border of 2-inches on each side. Fold in long edges and carefully roll up jelly-roll style.  Place the strudel seam side down on the baking sheet. Brush lightly with the remaining oil.

6. Bake for about 25 minutes or until the pastry is golden brown.

This strudel lasted the two of us two nights (aka this recipe yields 4 servings) and reheated very well in the toaster oven.  Serve with a side salad for a light and tasty dinner.*

*Please note that I did not say light, tasty and quick…. It’s not quick.  Especially if you’ve never worked with phyllo before.  Do not start this recipe at 8:00 and expect to be eating at 9.  You will be very hungry.  I was.   But if you do have the time, it is definitely worth trying.  I wasn’t kidding about the tasty part :)

4 thoughts on “Chicken Spinach Strudel

  1. YerBroder says:

    I want this. Also this is a well written post.

  2. Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice at the same time as you amend your
    web site, how can i subscribe for a blog

    website? The account helped me a appropriate deal. I have been a

    little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered vivid

    transparent idea

  3. Excellent blog you have here but I was curious about if you knew of
    any community forums that cover the same topics discussed here?
    I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get opinions from other experienced individuals that share the
    same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
    Thanks a lot!

  4. Great web site. A lot of helpful information here. I’m sending it to some buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious.

    And obviously, thanks on your effort!

Leave a Reply

