Big Apple BBQ Block Party

3

June 16, 2010 by Dana

This weekend in NYC was the annual Big Apple BBQ Block Party.  Jake and I had gone once before, but  we missed it last time.  Jake was determined to make it there again this year.  Basically, it is a weekend-long charity event that takes place in Madison Square Park, and famous “pitmasters” (aka barbecue chefs) are flown in from all over the country to make their signature dishes and raise money for the park.  Throughout the day there are musical acts, seminars, and pitmaster meet-and-greets.  And, of course, there is food… ribs, pulled pork sandwiches, sausages, and brisket galore!

Unfortunately it was raining on Sunday, so we tried to get out of the rain as quickly as possible, and we missed the activities. But, we did get to try ribs and sides from three different regions of the country before it started pouring.

Now, I’m sure many of you that know me are confused.  As a general rule, I don’t eat red meat.  On the rare occasion that I do eat something made with red meat, it will be something made with ground beef (but not hamburgers) by someone that I know.  I am VERY picky about this.  It’s partially a texture thing (which is why I’ll only eat it ground), partially a taste thing, partially a mental thing, partially a health thing, and partially the fact that my mom never really made it for me when I was growing up.  I don’t like it, and it’s not something I’m too flexible about.

But, every once in a while, (a long while… like once every few years) I do get a craving for ribs. I know… it’s very weird considering all of the reasons above, but it happens.  So, I figure if I’m going to eat ribs, what better time to do it than at a big rib event with famous BBQ pitmasters?

Our first stop was Dallas, Texas’ Baker’s Ribs for some St. Louis Style Ribs and Jalapeno Cole Slaw:

Next, we stopped by the 17th Street Bar and Grill stand for Baby Back Ribs and Baked Mixed Beans:

Finally, we tried Baby Back Ribs and Spicy Baked Beans from Rack & Soul, which is located right here in NY:

Overall, all of the ribs and sides we sampled were very tasty.  My favorites were the ribs from Baker’s Ribs and the Spicy Baked Beans from Rack & Soul.  There were so many that we didn’t get to try because of the rain and because we were so full.  Hopefully, we will be back next year to try some more!

3 thoughts on “Big Apple BBQ Block Party

  1. I just stumbled across your blog today. This sounds like a cool event. I’m a huge fan of BBQ chicken.

    The cookies in your header look so good! How did you make them?

  2. […] know that may sound strange, especially coming from a self proclaimed picky eater when it comes to meat.   But I’m not talking about picky eaters like […]

Leave a Reply

