Sesame Zucchini Bread

1

June 3, 2010 by Dana

A few weeks ago, Steff from Steff Says opened up her Five Ingredient Challenge to her readers.  Always up for a culinary project, I emailed Steff to get involved.  She assigned me five mystery ingredients, and I immediately started thinking about what I would be making for the challenge.  My five mystery ingredients were (drumroll, please……)

  • chicken breast
  • raisins
  • basmati rice
  • sesame seeds
  • canned pumpkin puree

In a few weeks, I will be featured as guest on Steff Says (don’t worry… when the time comes, I’ll remind you), but in the meantime, I wanted to share what I made with all of you!

At first, I thought about doing some sort of sesame crusted chicken dish, accompanied by a basmati rice pilaf and followed by a pumpkin baked dish.  But the more I thought about it, the more I wanted to do something less “obvious.”  I decided to make two dishes that were brand new to me.

The first dish that I settled on is a side dish: Sesame Zucchini Bread, based on this recipe, but with a few changes:

Ingredients

3/4 cup low fat buttermilk
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 egg white
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup raisins
4 teaspoons sesame seeds, divided
1 1/2 cups shredded zucchini

This recipe initially appealed to me because it is low in fat and has a ton of healthy nutrients from the zucchini, seeds, raisins and whole wheat flour.  I omitted the walnuts because I don’t particularly like walnuts in my baked goods, but feel free to toss in any nuts, seeds, dried fruit, or other goodies to suit your tastes.

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350ºF.

2.  In a large mixing bowl, combine buttermilk, sugars, egg, oil, and vanilla.  Beat until smooth.

3.  In a separate bowl, combine the flours, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add raisins, walnuts and 3 teaspoons sesame seeds.

4.  Stir flour mixture into sugar mixture just until moistened. Stir in zucchini.

5.  Pour batter into a greased 9-in. x 5-in. x 3-in. loaf pan. Sprinkle with the remaining sesame seeds.

6.  Bake 55-60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

7.  Cool for 10 minute before removing from pan to a wire rack.

The bread was super moist because of the zucchini, and relatively guilt free.  It was the perfect accompaniment for my DELICIOUS main dish…. Check back tomorrow to see what that was!

One thought on “Sesame Zucchini Bread

  1. […] Ladle soup into bowls and serve with warm sesame zucchini bread, or other fresh […]

Leave a Reply

