Saffron Rice with Golden Raisins and Pine Nuts

4

November 9, 2012 by Dana

food, foodblog, cooking, recipe, recipes

The timing of this post is just perfect.

You see, it’s been just under a month since I last posted.  And I’m leaving on a work trip tomorrow, which means I definitely wont be cooking (or posting) for at least a week.  And let’s be honest.  I probably won’t be posting the week day I get back either.  And the week after that, I have a huge group project due in my Marketing class.

So, if my math is correct (heh), you probably wouldn’t have heard from me in 6 weeks if it wasn’t for this very post.

Luckily, I was forced to post today!  Well, not forced, per se.

In fact, I wouldn’t have missed it for the world!  Today, I am proud to be participating in a virtual book launch party for An Edible Mosaic:  Middle Eastern Fare with Extraordinary Flair by Faith Gorsky.

food, foodblog, recipe, recipes

An Edible Mosaic is Faith’s wonderful blog, which features delicious recipes of all kinds with a focus on Middle Eastern cuisine.  Every recipe she posts incudes easy to follow directions accompanied by beautiful, mouth-watering pictures of her creations.  It also happens to be one of the first blogs I started following when I discovered the food blog world, so I have a special place in my heart for Faith and her recipes.

After getting married, Faith spent six months living in the Middle East where she fell in love with the culture and cuisine. Subsequently, she returned four more times for visits, each time delving deeper into the cuisine and deepening her passion for and appreciation of the region.

An Edible Mosaic:  Middle Eastern Fare with Extraordinary Flair, has over 100 Middle Eastern recipes, with a focus mainly on dishes from the Levant, but also a few recipes from other areas of the Middle East.  It is available to order on Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

The recipe from the book that I’m sharing with you today is for Saffron Rice with Golden Raisins and Pine Nuts.  After you finish checking out her recipe below (and admiring her beautiful photography above), please head over to Faith’s blog to check out her virtual book launch party and to see the other bloggers who are participating. Also, as part of her virtual book launch, Faith is hosting a giveaway of a fabulous set of prizes. Be sure to head over and enter!

Saffron Rice with Golden Raisins and Pine Nuts (ROZ MLOW’WAN) 

Recipe courtesy of An Edible Mosaic:  Middle Eastern Fare with Extraordinary Flair by Faith Gorsky (Tuttle Publishing; Nov. 2012); reprinted with permission.

Serves 4 to 6

Preparation Time: 10 minutes

Cooking Time: 20 minutes, plus 15 minutes to let the rice sit after cooking

1½ cups (325 g) basmati rice, rinsed
2 tablespoons olive oil
3 tablespoons pine nuts
1 onion, finely diced
4 tablespoons sultanas (golden raisins)
1¾ cups (425 ml) boiling water
¾ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon saffron threads (or ½ teaspoon turmeric)

  1. Soak the rice in tepid water for 10 minutes; drain. While the rice is soaking, put half a kettle of water on to boil.
  2. Add the oil to a medium, thick-bottomed lidded saucepan over medium heat. Add the pine nuts and cook until golden brown, about 1 to 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Transfer the pine nuts to a small bowl and set aside.
  3. Add the onion to the saucepan you cooked the pine nuts in, and cook until softened and just starting to brown, about 5 to 7 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the rice and cook 2 minutes, stirring frequently. Stir in the sultanas, boiling water, salt, and saffron (or turmeric), turn the heat up to high, and bring it to a rolling boil.
  4. Give the rice a stir, then cover the saucepan, turn the heat down to very low, and cook until tender, about 10 minutes (do not open the lid during this time). Turn the heat off and let the rice sit (covered) 15 minutes, then fluff with a fork.
  5. Transfer to a serving dish and sprinkle the toasted pine nuts on top; serve.

OPTIONAL Add two pods of cardamom, two whole cloves, and one 2-inch (5 cm) piece of cinnamon stick at the same time that you add the rice.

4 thoughts on “Saffron Rice with Golden Raisins and Pine Nuts

  1. RavieNomNoms says:

    This all looks lovely!! I making me hungry, I would gladly have this for my breakfast today!

  2. Safron ANYTHING is my favourite!! I will definitely have to give this a go – thanks for sharing and thanks for introducing me to An Edible Mosaic, I love middle eastern foond, but apart from making humus im’ slightly intimidated by it!!

  3. biz319 says:

    I really need to make that dish – I’ve seen it on a dozen blogs already. :D

    Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving Dana!

  4. Dana, the rice looks really delicious and I love the color!!
    I also have to tell you that i love, love, LOVE the SNOW!! SO pretty!!!
    Hope you’re doing well!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,136 other followers

