Italian Cheese-Smothered Bruschetta Dogs

8

July 8, 2012 by Dana

food, foodblog, recipe, cooking

When it comes to the topic of delis, I consider myself somewhat of an expert. An aficionado if you will.

What are my deli credentials, you ask?

Well, for one, my mom and my stepdad met when he was working at a deli. (He winked at her and called her “miss” when serving her coffee… the rest was history).

And for two, my brother worked at a deli all through high school (…complete with quite the slicer mishap—I’ll save that story for another time.)

Convinced yet? No?

Well… I’m also from NY… I’m half Jewish… and I love sandwiches!

Enough said.

Anyway, as a self-proclaimed deli expert, it was my honor… no, my duty to participate in Kitchen PLAY’s “30 Days of Outdoor Dining” featuring none other than the new LAND O LAKES® 4 Cheese Italian Blend.

A whole month featuring a DELI cheese! With my background, how could I possibly say no to that??

After tasting a sample of the cheese, I quickly learned that is not your standard deli cheese. The New LAND O LAKES® 4 Cheese Italian Blend combines creamy American deli cheese with the rich, Italian flavors of Asiago, Romano and Parmesan cheeses.

That’s right, folks. FOUR cheese flavors in one!

I knew I needed to make something especially delicious to properly honor this cheesy goodness. And with the summer heat upon us, I knew I had to head straight to the grill.  I decided to bring new life to a cookout staple by topping turkey dogs with classic bruschetta fixings.  By the time I was done, I had created a tasty, Italian-inspired, perfect-for-summer masterpiece! If I do say so myself ;)

food, foodblog, recipe, cooking

Italian Cheese-Smothered Bruschetta Dogs

Ingredients

3 large vine-ripened tomatoes, diced
3 cloves garlic, finely minced
½ cup basil leaves, chopped
¼ cup good quality olive oil
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
salt and pepper to taste
6 turkey hot dogs (or hot dogs of your choice)
6 hot dog buns
12 slices LAND O LAKES® 4 Cheese Italian Blend

Directions

1. To make bruschetta: In a medium sized bowl, combine tomatoes, garlic, chopped basil, olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Add salt and pepper to taste. Mix well and set aside.

2. Meanwhile, grill hot dogs according to package directions until just cooked.

3. To assemble, place one cooked hot dog in one bun and top each dog with two cheese slices. Place on the top rack of the grill, and cook until cheese melts (about 5-7 minutes).

4. Once cheese is melted, carefully remove the hot dog and top with bruschetta mixture. Serve immediately.

food, foodblog, recipe, cooking

Be sure to check Kitchen PLAY every day for the next fabulous recipe featuring new LAND O LAKES® 4 Cheese Italian Blend or LAND O LAKES® Deli American Cheese. Then, get in on the fun by leaving a comment with your own “30 Days of Outdoor Dining” tip for dining al fresco this summer. If you do, you’ll be entered to win a lovely grilling prize pack, including one grilling spatula, one marinade brush, one set of tongs and one grill scraper. Kitchen PLAY will be giving away four prizes total, one each week! Please visit Kitchen PLAY for sweepstakes guidelines.

food, foodblog, cooking, recipe, recipes

*Disclosure: This post was sponsored by Land O’Lakes as part of the Kitchen PLAY SideCar series. All opinions given are my own.

8 thoughts on “Italian Cheese-Smothered Bruschetta Dogs

  1. Monet says:

    I adore a good deli too! Fabulous hot dog. The bruschetta twist is just delicious. Thank you for sharing!

  2. We just had Italian style hot dogs and LOVED them! Love the idea of a bruschetta topping!

  3. You combined two of my favorite things to eat! Awesome idea.

  4. BeeKay says:

    Gaah. In Italian cuisine, “bruschetta” is toasted bread rubbed with garlic. The (admittedly tasty) tomato mixture is just one of dozens of possible toppings.

    It’s probably hopeless to fix now, like “with au jus sauce” and the like so common.

  5. cheapethniceatz says:

    That is one original dog, love the cheese and bruschetta addition.

  6. Danielle says:

    looks like heaven for John :) they are so original…I bet they were delicious!

  7. Nutmeg Nanny says:

    Holy deliciousness! I never thought to combine bruschetta and hotdogs but now I’m craving it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,136 other followers

