Crockpot Mediterranean Chicken Ragù

20

June 26, 2012 by Dana

 

recipe, recipes, foodblog, cooking

You know those days when all you want is a delicious home cooked meal?  But you want nothing to do with making it.  You just want it to be ready.  On the table.  With a glass of wine.

But, at the same time, you don’t want anyone in your kitchen messing it up.  Because you finally just unpacked all of your kitchen stuff and organized it just the way you want it.  Which almost makes up for the fact that you still have approximately 1 million more boxes to unpack.  And you’ve been living in your apartment a whole month. So there’s no excuse to still be living in a sea of boxes.  Unless you really like pretending you live in a box fort.

Yeah.  I know those days, too.  They’re great.

Well.  You’re in luck.  Because I have just the thing to make them a little… less, er, more great.

In fact, you can have a home cooked meal waiting for you at the end of those days.  Taking minimal effort on your part.  Using minimal utensils and appliances.  And, best of all, tasting like you slaved all day.  Because you did.  Just not over that.

For days like these, I present to you this Crockpot Mediterranean Chicken Ragù from Cinnamon Spice and Everything Nice.  It’s just what the doctor ordered.

Reeni used fennel and capers in her version.  I’m not a huge fan of either, but I did have some extra sundried tomatoes lying around, so I tossed those into the mix.  As she points out, this dish is extremely versatile, so feel free to make it your own!

 

recipe, recipes, foodblog, cooking

Crockpot Mediterranean Chicken Ragù
(adapted from Cinnamon Spice and Everything Nice)

Ingredients

14.5 oz chicken broth
14.5 ounce petite diced tomatoes
1.5 cup artichoke hearts, halved
1 large roasted red pepper, diced
1.5 cup sun-dried tomatoes, diced
1 sweet onion, diced
5 cloves garlic, minced
2 teaspoons dried Italian seasoning
1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
2 pounds chicken breasts or cutlets, boneless, skinless
12 oz pasta of your choice
shredded parmesan or mozzarella for topping 

Directions

1.  In a 4-quart crockpot combine broth, diced tomatoes, artichokes, red pepper, sun dried tomatoes, onion, and garlic. Stir in Italian seasoning, parsley, salt and pepper. Nestle in the chicken breasts. Cook on high 4 hours or low 6-8. Remove chicken and shred with two forks, stir back in.

2.  Cook pasta to al dente, drain and stir into sauce, turn crockpot down to warm and allow to set for 10 minutes so the pasta can soak in some of the sauce. Serve topped with cheese.

recipe, recipes, foodblog, cooking

 

20 thoughts on “Crockpot Mediterranean Chicken Ragù

  1. Mmmmm I love a meal that seems ridiculously hard to cook but is actually a cinch to make!

  2. That looks great, what a lovely idea – so simple and very easy. Not time consuming at all!

  3. Monet says:

    We are totally making this tonight. I have almost everything that I need…and my crock pot is ready. Thanks for sharing, sweet friend!

  4. danelle01 says:

    Perfect for the record breaking heat wave we’re having right now. No way do I want to turn on the oven, but the crock pot I can handle!

  5. Nutmeg Nanny says:

    This looks delicious! I’m such a fan of the slow cooker. Nothing is better than having a hot dinner after a long day of not cooking ;)

  6. This is love modern recipe for the crock pot, looks awesome. They are a wonderful invention!

  7. Sasha says:

    Ooh this is nice. I need me a crockpot.
    Congrats on the new apartment!

  8. ashley says:

    I love using the crock pot in the summer – it’s too hot for the oven! Love your blog :)

  9. foodiestuntman says:

    Looks delicious, and congratulations on making the foodbuzz Top 9!

  10. Liz says:

    My hubby would not be thrilled with fennel and capers either, so I heartily approve of your tweaks! What a delicious meal! Hooray for the Top 9!!!

  11. Uh, YUM! With a TON of chicken in the freezer this is definitely on the menu this week! Thanks, Dana!
    You’ll get settled. It will just take a little while and then you’ll start adding more stuff to the mix as we married people do!

  12. This dish sounds fantastic:) I like making meals in the crock pot, especially on hot summer days. I will be making this tasty dish soon. Thanks for the great post:)

  13. Kim says:

    Yum!! Yet another reason I need a crock pot!

  14. Ashlee Clark says:

    This looks SUPER good, and I have all the ingredients :)

  15. Your Crockpot Mediterranean Chicken Ragù looks totally tasty. Congratulations on making the foodbuzz top 9 today!

  16. Thanks for making my ragu! I love that you put your own twist on it with sun-dried tomatoes! I’m definitely throwing some of them in next time I make it.

  17. Joanne says:

    Reeni’s food is always so delicious and I love how quick and easy this is as well! Delicious.

  18. jodiemo says:

    I need more crockpot recipes, I hardly ever use mine. This one looks fantastic and I know the kids would love it. Good luck with the unpacking! You’ll be through it all before you know it.

  19. Thanks for a new crockpot recipe. I use mine often, but seem to make the same thing all the time. This looks delicious and healthy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,136 other followers

