Twice Baked Chipotle Sweet Potatoes

11

June 21, 2012 by Dana

food, foodblog, recipe, recipes

No, this is not an optical illusion. Your mind is not playing tricks on you.  You do not need to check your glasses prescription.  You are, indeed, looking at a real live blog post on Food for Thought!

It’s really me! I’m back, people!

And I can’t even begin to describe how happy I am to be here.  I missed checking out all of your blogs, seeing all of your thoughtful comments, and of course, sharing some tasty creations with you!

So what, you ask, is the reason for my leave of absence?  Well, you may remember back last year I posted a little something about me and Jake getting engaged.

Well, it’s official!  That’s right… I’m back, and I’m a MRS!

Just over a month ago Jake and I hosted 86 people on the beautiful island of Aruba for our wedding.  It’s been a whirlwind of craziness between the planning, the wedding, and coming home and packing up and moving…. but I wouldn’t change a thing!

And now that we are in the process of settling into our new apartment, and I’m settling into my new kitchen (with some fun new kitchen gadgets and goodies!), I can start sharing with all of you again… starting with these tasty Twice Baked Chipotle Sweet Potatoes.

I actually came across an unopened bottle of Saucy Mama Chipotle Mustard during the move, and last week this gem of a recipe for Chipotle BLT Sweet Potato Skins popped up in my newsfeed.  Um, can we say fate!?

I decided to switch it up a little, because I just couldn’t bear the thought of getting rid of the inside of the potatoes (that’s the best part!)… so I mashed up that orange goodness and added it right back into the skins!

food, foodblog, recipe, recipes

Twice Baked Chipotle Sweet Potatoes
(adapted from Little Bitty Bakes’ recipe, found here)

Ingredients:

6 oz plain nonfat Greek yogurt
2 tablespoons + 1/4 cup Saucy Mama Chipotle Mustard
4 small sweet potatoes

4 slices turkey bacon, cooked and crumbled, divided
1/2 cup finely chopped sun-dried tomatoes, divided
1 cup shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese, divided

Directions:

Heat the oven to 400 degrees F. 

In a small bowl, stir the Greek yogurt and 2 tablespoons of mustard until smooth, then set set aside (reserve remaining 1/4 cup mustard).

Pierce the sweet potatoes a few times each with fork tines, then loosely wrap each potato in aluminum foil.  Place on a baking sheet and bake 40 to 50 minutes or until potatoes are tender.  Allow to cool 5 minutes, then slice each potato in half, lengthwise.  Allow to cool 10 minutes (cut side up), then scoop out the inside of potatoes into a small bowl.

Rub the outside (skin) of each potato with the reserved mustard.  Bake the potato skins, skin side up, 5 minutes.  Remove from oven, flip the potato skins over, and bake an additional 5 minutes. 

Meanwhile, mash the sweet potato flesh with a fork or potato masher.  Add 1/2 of the yogurt mixture, 1/2 of the crumbled turkey bacon, 1/4 cup of the sun-dried tomatoes, and 1/2 cup of the cheese to the mashed potato.  Stir to combine.  

Once skins are crisp, evenly divide the mashed potato mixture into the skins.  Sprinkle the remaining turkey bacon, sun-dried tomatoes, and cheese on top; bake 5 or so minutes until cheese is melted and toasty.

Top with remaining yogurt mixture and enjoy!

These potatoes were absolutely fantastic!  I actually don’t usually love the taste of regular mustard, but this Chipotle variety was delicious.  It worked perfectly in this dish, and I happily ate these potatoes for lunch a few days in a row!  They would also make a great side dish for dinner.  Or a tasty game time appetizer! The options are endless!

food, foodblog, recipe, recipes

11 thoughts on “Twice Baked Chipotle Sweet Potatoes

  1. Congratulations!! Welcome back to blogging :)

  2. Congrats! Looks like a beautiful wedding. Welcome back!

  3. cheapethniceatz says:

    Congratulatuions to your geting hitched ;-) and the new place. Missed you.

  4. DANA!!!!! How I’ve MISSED you!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!! What a GORGEOUS picture and you make a truly BEAUTIFUL bride!! I am SO VERY happy for you!! BIG, BIG hugs and kisses!!!!

  5. Faith says:

    A HUGE congrats to you, Dana!!! I am so happy for you, and I’m glad to see you’re back!

  6. Congratulations, and welcome to the married tribe! It’s great; I wish you two a lifetime of exploring the world together, and loving every minute of it.

    Speaking of loving: TWICE BAKED SWEET POTATOES?! You clearly know the key to my heart, too — not just your husband’s.

  7. Congratulations! I’m so happy for you! You look gorgeous! I love these sweet potatoes!

  8. Joanne says:

    AHHH!!! I’m actually jumping up and down with happiness for you! And way to come back with these sweet potatoes. Perfection in double baked form.

  9. Monet says:

    Warmest congratulations! You look beautiful! And these sweet potatoes look delicious. So glad to see you back!

  10. Ooo, I like your twiced baked variation of the recipe! I scooped out the insides so they could be more appetizer-like, but I will have to do another version with the whole potato – yum!

  11. Danielle says:

    so glad you’re back and CONGRATULATIONS! You look like a stunning bride!!!!! I can’t wait what to see you start making as a MRS!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,135 other followers

