Italian-Style Smoky Garlic Bean Dip Recipe and Saucy Mama Giveaway!

24

February 28, 2012 by Dana

foodblog, recipe, cooking, recipes, food

If you see me walking under any ladders, opening any umbrellas indoors, crossing paths with any black cats, or breaking any mirrors, stop me.  Please.

I really don’t care how you do it.  Call out my name.  Yell and scream at me.  Tackle me, even.  Just make sure you stop me.

Because I am having quite the streak of good luck lately… and I could get used it.

What am I talking about, you ask?

Well, first there was the Soup Challenge, for which you all so kindly voted my Chickpea Minestrone into second place, and now I have my chance to compete for the judges in two weeks.

Then there was the interview on Flavorful World, where Anthony had such wonderful, glowing things to say about Food for Thought that I was blushing reading it!

And then yesterday I found out that had I won the internal poll of the Marx Foods East Meets Delicious contest for my Green Bean “Fries” and Asian Veggie Burgers!

I’m on a roll baby!  I think a trip to Vegas another contest entry is in order!

As luck would have it (heh) Saucy Mama is hosting the Skinny Mama Cooking with Mustard contest right now.  And I’m a contestant ;)

For this challenge, bloggers are charged with creating a diet-friendly, quick, easy-to-recreate recipe using at least one of the Saucy Mama Mustards.  They sent us a variety of mustards, including Saucy Mama Tarragon Lemon Mustard, Dijon Mustard, Champagne Honey Mustard, Chipotle Mustard, Smoky Garlic Mustard, and Suzie’s Yellow Mustard.

I decided to make my very own “100 calorie pack” of Italian-Style Smoky Garlic Bean Dip using – you guessed it – the Saucy Mama Smoky Garlic Mustard!

foodblog, recipe, cooking, recipes, food

Italian-Style Smoky Garlic Bean Dip
yields 8 servings

Ingredients

15 oz can of cannelini beans, drained and rinsed well
1.5 tsp Saucy Mama Smoky Garlic Mustard
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp water
2 tomatoes, seeded and diced
12 oz roasted red peppers, diced
2 Tbsp shredded Parmesan cheese
basil, for garnish

Directions 

1.  In a food processor or blender, mix cannelini beans, Saucy Mama Smoky Garlic Mustard, olive oil, and water until well combined.  The resulting product should look like and be the texture of hummus.

2.  Add the bean mixture, tomatoes, and roasted peppers to a small mixing bowl, mix until just combined.  Top with shredded Parmesan and basil.  Serve with vegetables, whole wheat pita wedges, or crackers (not included in nutritional analysis).

foodblog, recipe, recipes, cooking

First and foremost, this dip is DELICIOUS… if I do say so myself.  This recipe is perfect for anyone on a low-cal diet, or for anyone that wants a tasty, healthy, and filling snack!  According to caloriecount.com, one serving of this snack clocks in at just over 100 calories and touts a host of other benefits as well:

  • Very low in cholesterol
  • High in dietary fiber
  • High in manganese
  • High in potassium
  • Very high in vitamin A
  • Very high in vitamin C

foodblog, recipe, cooking, recipes, food

And since I’ve been so lucky lately, it’s only fair that I spread some of that luck around to one of you…. via giveaway!

The winner of this giveaway will receive a Saucy Mama condiment kit (shown below), which will contain one bottle each of Saucy Mama Tarragon Lemon Mustard, Saucy Mama Smoky Garlic Mustard and Suzie’s Yellow Mustard!

food, foodblog, giveaway

Entering this giveaway is easy… just vote for this Italian-Style Smoky Garlic Bean Dip Recipe recipe at this link any time between tomorrow (February 29) and March 7, and leave a comment telling me you did so!  You can vote once per day, and will receive one giveaway entry per vote.  Just leave a new comment each time you vote.

See?  Easy peasy!  So, what are you waiting for??

24 thoughts on “Italian-Style Smoky Garlic Bean Dip Recipe and Saucy Mama Giveaway!

  1. This looks great! i thought about making a dip as well, I LOVE bean dip and i’ll bet that garlic mustard is great in this!

  2. Anastasia says:

    Looks amazing! Thanks for sharing!

  3. This is such an interesting idea! Does the mustard flavor come through?

  4. What fantastic photos and an absolutely delicious sounding dip – awesome.

  5. Monet says:

    Voting! This is a great dip! I’m sitting down with a piece of fresh cornbread…which is helping alleviate the hunger pains after reading this post!

  6. Christine says:

    This is a great dip!

  7. I voted! This looks incredible!

  8. Faith says:

    This sounds incredible! I love the addition of the smoky garlic mustard in this dip…brilliant!!

  9. Nicole says:

    Voted!

  10. Danielle says:

    Great idea!!!! I love this idea for a dip. I love the smoky garlic mustard.

  11. [...] Italian-Style Smoky Garlic Bean Dip (from Food for Thought) [...]

  12. [...] Italian-Style Smoky Garlic Bean Dip Recipe and Saucy Mama Giveaway! [...]

  13. [...] Italian-Style Smoky Garlic Bean Dip Recipe and Saucy Mama … This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged asian, cookies, facebook, giveaway, italian, [...]

  14. Violet says:

    What i do not realize is in reality how you are no longer really a lot more smartly-liked than you might be right now. You are so intelligent. You understand therefore significantly relating to this subject, produced me in my opinion believe it from a lot of numerous angles. Its like men and women are not fascinated except it’s one thing to accomplish with Woman gaga! Your own stuffs outstanding. Always deal with it up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,135 other followers

