Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies [Gluten Free]

19

February 7, 2011 by Dana

A few months ago, after a string of posting one delicious baked good after another, I received the following IM from my cousin, Liz:

Liz: your pitas looked good
Liz
:  i might have to block your blog though

Liz: too much gluten

me: haha sorry… i realized i’ve been doing a lot of baking lately

Liz: yes, I am like f*** you
Liz: and your chocolate chip nutella, just f*** you
Liz: in a nice way

And I know she does mean it.  In a nice way.

You see, Liz is a chef — an amazing one.  Not only does she cook a mean Thanksgiving turkey (I know from experience), she has owned her own (very successful) restaurant, and, most recently, travels to people’s homes to cook, chronicling the wacky diverse experiences on her blog, Stranger Than Kitchen.

Like most chefs, Liz is very passionate about her food.

Since she has recently been diagnosed with celiac disease, she can no longer eat anything containing gluten.  Needless to say, she has some pretty strong feelings on the subject.  To her, me posting a yummy picture of Nutella Cookies is just a cruel joke.

So today, I dedicate this gluten free cookie to you, Liz.  It’s not the most original (in fact, you can find a version of it right on the back of the Hershey’s Kisses bag), but it is yummy, and it is gluten free.  Feel free to drool.

Ingredients

1 cup natural peanut butter
1 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 egg
24 chocolate kisses

I have also seen versions of this recipe that include vanilla extract.  I found conflicting evidence online as to whether or not vanilla extract was gluten free.  In order to be on the safe side, I decided to add cinnamon instead, which turned out great!

Directions

1.  In a large bowl, cream peanut butter and sugar. Add the egg and cinnamon; beat until blended.

2.  Roll into 1-1/4-in. balls. Place 2 in. apart on ungreased baking sheets. Bake at 350° for 10-12 minutes or until tops are slightly cracked.

3.  Immediately press one chocolate kiss into the center of each cookie. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks. (Yields 2 dozen.)

19 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies [Gluten Free]

  1. Original or not, they look delicious and i’m sure she’ll appreciate it!

  2. Roxan says:

    Dana! What a wonderful cookie for a Monday morning. It’s so funny that you post this though, because I’m planning on making something similar to this either tonight or tomorrow night. I even emailed myself “BUY HERSHEYS KISSES” so I don’t forget to pick them up on the way home from work!

  3. I have been trying to include gluten-free stuff as well once in a while on my blog. I am more aware of it too with a close friend who is wheat intolerant. Will send her this link.

    You know it sounds like an updated reeces pieces too hehe, looks so good!

  4. Victoria says:

    There are definitely an old favorite of mine too, and I hope these can satisfy your cousin. I have a friend who is allergic to gluten AND lactose intolerant. She also can’t have anything with oil in it because it upsets her stomach, so yeah, that really limits the type of food she can eat :( It’s not fun to have food allergies/intolerances.

  5. Faith says:

    Mmmm, these look so delicious! I also have a couple of people in my life who are gluten-intolerant so I’m going to pass this on to them!

  6. That is so cute plus it is gluten free!

  7. Joanne says:

    Aww it was so sweet of you to post these! Honestly, I’ve never seen these on the back of any kisses bag, so I’m so glad you brought them to my attention!

  8. Oh I like your version even better than the one on the bag of the bag because you don’t even have any flour in yours!
    It’s like a kiss on top of a peanut butter ball, love those!

  9. These are some cute cookies. Love it!

  10. Monet says:

    This couldn’t be more perfect! My best friend from high school just called me tonight looking for some gluten-free treats. Thanks for always making me smile with your words, photos and recipes. I hope that your Wednesday is full of joy!

  11. That’s so sweet to create this cookie for your friend. And all of us! This looks delish without the gluten. Love the cinnamon instead of vanilla extract.

  12. This is a thoughtful post to all those that are gluten sensitive and for your cousin. These peanut butter kiss cookies look so cute and sinfully delish! ;)

  13. They look so cute and delicious!

  14. [...] may seem weird to you, considering that I am clearly no stranger to making yummy sweets and baked goods.  But there is a method to my [...]

  15. Angie Halten says:

    I made these Peanut Butter kiss cookies for Valentines Day and they turned out fabulous! So fabulous the cookie jar was empty the next day!

    Angie Halten.

  16. [...] several of them. In the end, though, I settled on a sweet treat that presented a challenge to me: Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies. The whole idea of the cookie fascinated me, as the only ingredients are peanut butter, sugar, [...]

  17. [...] these beloved cookies really need an introduction? The perfect pairing of peanut butter and chocolate. And as if they [...]

  18. matt reetz says:

    In your recipe you say “natural peanut butter”, but in the picture you show Jif. The hydrogenated stuff is going to change the outcome a lot. What do you recommend?

    • Dana says:

      Hi Matt! I’ve actually made it both ways, and it comes out pretty much the same either way. Just use whatever you have on hand!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,136 other followers

