Smores Cookies

11

May 24, 2010 by Dana

This weekend, Jake and I were invited to our friends’ BBQ.  I decided to bring a dessert to share and wanted to make something festive and tasty.  While browsing through recipes online, a picture of deliciously gooey looking smores cookies caught my eye on Obsessed with Baking.  I can never resist the mouthwatering trio of chocolate, marshmallow, and graham cracker, and I knew this would be the perfect choice.

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
1 cup graham cracker crumbs
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 sticks butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 cups mini chocolate chips
1 1/2 cups mini marshmallows
2 Hershey bars, chopped into thirds

Now, for those that know me, it should come as no surprise that I waited until the last minute to go to the store and buy the ingredients.  So instead of going to the grocery store in Astoria, I ran across the street to the Duane Reade and the natural foods store (similar to Whole Foods, but smaller).  Needless to say, I did not have quite the same variety to choose from at these stores that I would have had at a regular grocery store.  I ended up finding everything but the graham cracker crumbs, so I bought regular graham crackers and improvised.  I crushed the crackers into crumbs with my magic bullet.  In case anyone tries this method, one sleeve of graham crackers yields just over one cup of crumbs.

Other than that, I followed the recipe below with the following exception:  I don’t have a stand mixer, but my little electric hand mixer worked like a charm to combine the butter and sugars, and then to add in the flour, graham crackers, salt and baking soda.  I used a spatula to fold in the chocolate chips.

Directions:

1.  In a stand mixer, combine the butter and sugars until fluffy.

2.  Mix in egg and vanilla until combined. Add the flour, graham crackers, salt, and baking soda, mix well.  Stir in the chocolate chips.

3.  Refrigerate dough for about an hour.

4.  Preheat oven to 375ºF.

5.  Drop by rounded tablespoon onto cookie sheets. Bake for 8 minutes, and remove from the oven. Push 3 to 4 marshmallows and a few pieces of  the cut up Hershey’s bar into each cookie.  It is helpful to have the chocolate bar cut into pieces in advance.

6.  Return to the oven and bake an additional 2-3 minutes until fully cooked. Cool cookies on a wire rack.

Yields 36 cookies.

The cookies came out exactly as a cookie should be – soft, chewy and absolutely delicious.  They were a huge hit at the BBQ.  I will definitely be making these again!

11 thoughts on “Smores Cookies

  1. Gena says:

    This sounds so good…..I am a little jealous you didn’t bring in any for us to try. LOL

  2. I’m definitely trying this out!

  3. [...] Basmati Rice, etc.), and not-so-healthy baked goods/party food (Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies, Smores Cookies) that I can try a piece of and then pawn off on others.  (“Pawn off” makes it sound [...]

  4. Veronica says:

    Thank you for reminding me! I’ve been wanting to make these all summer. Thank you for your wonderful submission to BSI!

  5. [...]  S’more Cookies from Dana of Food For Thought.  Dana says these are so delicious that her boyfriend requests she make them every time they are invited to a function that requires bringing food, and gets mad at her if she makes anything else!  Think chocolate chip cookies with part of the flour replaced with graham cracker crumbs and topped with marshmallows and Hershey’s milk chocolate and you are pretty much in S’mores heeeeeaaaaven.    [...]

  6. [...] we were going to a friend’s dinner party this weekend, Jake requested that I make those delicious Smores Cookies I had made a while back.  Again.  Again!? I am never going to finish that list to begin with!  [...]

  7. [...] I know you won’t be shocked.  I’ve alluded to it before.   You’ve seen the signs here, here, here, here, and here.  But I need to be direct [...]

  8. [...] may not seem like it judging by all of the cookies, bars, breads, and dips that I feature here, but I actually do practice eating well and living a [...]

  9. [...] you left for me was literally the best thing you have ever made, hands down, and that includes the Smores Cookies!  It. is. so. good.” I knew I had found “the one”.  I mean, we all know how Jake feels [...]

  10. claire says:

    i have made these before too- they are absolutely amazing. They were perfectly chewy and delish!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,134 other followers

